Dreams …

The Riders are delighted, excited, thrilled and blessed to welcome a new regular member to the crew, Roxanne Rustand.  Roxanne is a veteran author with tons of titles under her belt for Harlequin Superromance, Love Inspired and Steeple Hill.  She’s multi-talented, multi-award winning (in fact, she’s an RT Reviewers Choice nominee this year!!) and just one of the nicest people I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing.  Please join us with a warm welcome for Rox!

……………

IMG_9668_4

I was staring at the header of this blog, debating about what to write in my post, when I realized that each one of the wonderful authors on this blog have influenced my own writing journey so much–whether through friendship, the wonderful books they’ve written, or the writing workshops they’ve given over the years.

My very first writer’s conference was in Minneapolis during the early-to-mid 1990’s, and at the end of the day, the published authors stood at the front of the room and fielded questions. I remember feeling such awe at seeing them–real, live authors! They’d achieved what I hardly dared dream of doing. Kathleen, Lois and Betina were among them that day, and when they each shared a bit about their own road to being published, it made me realize that perhaps it was possible to make dreams become reality.

We live out in the country, and my office windows look out on our wood-fenced corrals and the pastures beyond, where our horses are standing slant-hipped in the cold winter sun. Across the fence, a few beautiful, wildly marked paint yearlings and two-year-olds are romping in the neighbor’s pastures–providing no end of amusement to our border collies, who are safely contained on our deck.

Fluffy old Harold likes to watch, and then he takes a good long nap to rest from his exertion.

! HAROLD    IMG_2069

 

But Elmo is a study in total concentration. Head low, ears pricked, body crouched, he’ll stare at them endlessly, his intensity deepening each time they scatter.

!  Elmo--our pound puppy, a 2007 addition to the family

Our son Brian says we need to buy two sheep, so Elmo can spend his days keeping them together. He’s a dog who thinks he’s on a mission–but one without a job. Which got me thinking. Elmo knows what he is and what he needs to do. He never loses sight of that, even though he can’t ever get close to anything he can herd.

What about the rest of us…were we blessed with direction and determination from childhood? Have we followed through? Or did we discover our true desires later in life? Our daughter is already determined to be a writer. I have no doubt that she has the drive and ability, and that she can reach her goal if she stays on that course. I didn’t start dreaming about becoming a writer until our kids were in grade-school…and wish I’d thought of it much, much sooner.

How about you? What would you love to do? Have you followed your heart? Become what you want to be? Is there something you could do toward that goal now, even if it can’t be achieved any time soon?

P.S from Cindy – Rox wasn’t even going to promo her latest release but I made her send me a cover of her November release, Duty To Protect :o)

DUTY TO PROTECT 9780373674893_LP  

 

You can read more about Rox at her website:

www.roxannerustand.com

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Dreams …

  1. loisgreiman says:

    A thousand welcomes Roxanne. So glad you’re with us cuz you truly are one of the nicest people ever!!
    The view out my window is similar to yours. In fact, yesterday morning, while riding a painted horse I remembered how absolutely lucky I am to be able to do the things I love…train horses and write books. Can’t think of anything I’d rather do.

    • Hi, Lois! Thanks so much! You know, what of my fondest memories of an RT conference are from the year you and I roomed together. Was it in Houston? I’d never been to RT before, and I was sorta overwhelmed. But we tentatively checked out the activities, and soon we were in the midst of everything. It was a hoot! What a party! 🙂

      I feel so blessed, too. Horses in the backyard, a chance to be here at home, writing. What a joy!

  2. Cindy Gerard says:

    Ditto what Lois said! Sooo happy to have Roxanne on board. I’ve been a fan of her work for years and am thrilled she wanted to join us in the ‘vert!
    Rox – tell us what’s up next for you. When is your next release?

    • Hi Cindy!!
      Thanks so much for helping me post this morning! And thanks for asking about my next release. Another Harlequin Heartwarming will be out in April.

      After that, it all depends on what happens with the next proposals! 🙂

  3. GunDiva says:

    Roxanne, I’ve missed you around the blogosphere! I’m so glad you’ve joined up here. Welcome!

  4. debradixon says:

    Roxanne!! Welcome. We’re so happy to have you! We’ve got your name on the masthead now. There’s no getting away.

    As for your question today, I am one of those determined, eyes-on-the-prize types. (g)

    I love the intensity of your cover btw!

    • Debra,
      You surely are one determined, focused woman–as both a publisher, and as a writer. I so admire you for your definitive book on Goals, Motivation & Conflict. It has been on my shelf since the month it was first released, and aspiring authors who don’t own and study it are really missing the boat!

  5. kylie brant says:

    Hi Rox! Welcome to the convertible! I am very much a goal oriented person. I think that’s probably a mantra you’d hear from most writers.

    Wish I had your view from the window 🙂

  6. Linda says:

    Hello Roxanne…. have not had the pleasure of reading any of your books yet but if these ladies recommend them then I will have to put a few on a TBR list. I understand goals and knowing what you want to do with your life. I knew from a very early age what I was going to be when I grew up.. at birthdays we had to list three things we wanted to be when we grew up and starting at age 9 I had to find three ways to say Veterinarian… and yes that is what I am today. Writing is a sort of hobby and way to idle time when I am not reading and have to remove thoughts from my head but would never dream of having anything published… see your job is so much harder then mine. Thanks for sharing your talent.

    • My dream was to be a vet, too! When I applied, there were around 800-900 applicants for the 100 or so slots, and though I almost made the cut, I ended up getting married, moving away, and going to grad school in a different field instead of reapplying. I’ve never quit regretting that I didn’t keep at it, so with all three of our kids I have relentlessly told them to follow their dreams and never, ever give up. You were so wise to follow your dreams!

      I have written quite a few books involving vets, though, so I can experience that life vicariously 🙂 and a proposal I’m working on right now is centered on a vet clinic out west.

      If you enjoy writing, you should pursue it someday. You could be the next James Herriott!
      Thanks so much for your note!

  7. michelehauf says:

    Welcome Roxanne! (and your little dogs, too.)
    😉

  8. Leanne Banks says:

    YAY Roxanne! You are HERE!!!:) Love your dogs! Love your pic!!!! Your new book sounds GREAT!:) xo, Leanne

    • Hi Leanne! So good to see you here! I have fond memories of some wonderful dinners with you and the gang–in New York, and also at a wonderful seafood restaurant, but name of the city escapes me. Such fun!

  9. Sarah Raplee says:

    Ditto what everyone else said! Love your books!

  10. Welcome, Rox! It’s so good to have you, not only riding with us but taking the wheel on a regular basis. I remember being inspired by a presentation of yours at MFW. Pretty sure I took notes and went out and bought some reference books on your recommendation. So you’ve not only inspired me but you’ve moved me to take action.

    Teaching and writing were my goals early on, and I’ve been able to pursue both for a good long time. I had lots of dreams as a kid–become a singer, lawyer, ballerina, psychologist, actress (yes, ress)–but writing and teaching were constant. I love to travel, and while that goal is on hold for now, it’s still very much alive.

    When we can sort out our dreams and follow the ones that mean the most to us, we’re very fortunate. My goal now is to help keep those opportunities alive for our grandchildren.

    • Thanks so much, Kathleen. Your books have inspired me!

      I love MFW. I’ve been a long distance member since around 1993, and so enjoyed the big conferences the chapter used to have–a long weekend, wonderful speakers. I still try to go north for the fall workshops, though. And I still have my “New York Times Best Seller in Training” -shirt from ….the 1994 cnference? 1993? Wow. I have been in training for a very, very looooong time. LOL!

  11. Hi Roxanne 🙂 Your puppies are beautiful. I had the honor of playing on your Romance Jeopardy team at last spring’s WRW retreat. I was a first-timer and felt like I was amongst rockstars sitting at that table with you and the other ladies. It was such a cool experience. I often feel like a drifter and a dreamer. Writing is the first career choice I’ve made that suits me as both a military spouse who moves around a lot and a person who can easily pick up her work and take it wherever she goes. I really enjoyed your post today. I want to read Second Chance Dad first as I picked it out special and then Duty to Protect next. Have a great weekend.

  12. Hi Carlene, How wonderful to hear from you! I remember that well. The WRW (and Denver) conferences were the best regional conferences I have ever attended as a speaker. You picked a great conference to start with!

    The WRW members made the experience so special…and it was so much fun to be a part of the book signing at Turn The Page Bookstore in Maryland that weekend. I wish I could live that weekend all over again!

  13. Lenora says:

    We all love Roxanne. Roxanne, you amaze me. I love working with you at Live Inspiref!!

  14. Christie Ridgway says:

    Hi, Roxanne, and welcome!

    I had coffee with a friend last week who built a very successful business, sold it, and now works part-time for that same company. But she’s itchy and trying to think of what to do next and she looked at me and said, “But you have a vibrant professional life that you love.” And I had to agree. I’m so grateful I followed my dream and get to write books for a living!

    Again, so glad you’re with us here.

  15. Thank you, Christie. It’s great to be here! BTW, I love the handout you had for an RWA workshop last year!

Leave a Reply

