Maggie Shayne, Vampire Writer on Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter

Welcome my fellow Story Garden author, RITA winner and NYT bestseller, Maggie Shayne!

AbeLincoln-VerA-Poster-rgb-jpg_001934 Writer Seth Grahame-Smith is a freaking genius.  First he comes up with PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES, and then he tops it with ABRAHAM LINCOLN, VAMPIRE HUNTER.  I’m just on my knees worshiping the guy while uttering the phrase every writer knows is the highest compliment we are capable of giving to our competition-er-collegues; “I wish to hell I’d thought of it first.”

And I do.

I was just a little thing when I first began my love affair with vampires and monsters of all things that go bump in the night, mostly those made famous in the 30’s, 40’s and 50’s by Universal Studios. (No, I am not that old, but film never dies.)  My siblings read Archie comics, and I read Horror.  My love of the macabre showed up when, in third grade, my teacher let us each choose which story she would read aloud to the class that week, and when it was my turn, I picked Poe’s The Tell-Tale Heart. And then recited the opening lines along with her.  From memory.  I was ten.  Yeah.  Mom got a note home.

Anyway, my only complaint about those classic horror flicks I loved was that the monster clearly deserved to get the girl.  (No, not GET the girl as in eviscerate her, but get the girl in the romantic sense.) I mean, who would want Jonathon Harker when she could have had the mysterious Count Dracula?  The Wolfman was doomed to murder the woman he loved, unless he died first. The Mummy returned from the crypt to reunite with the reincarnation of his soulmate.  Even the Gill-Monster was smitten, at heart.  These guys weren’t bad, they were just twitterpated.  And every one of those early films we called horror, were no more than thinly disguised love stories with tragic endings.  Clearly their writers didn’t understand the rules of romance.  Love always wins out, even over death.  I’ve made my career setting that right.  In my books, the monsters always get the girl.  In the good way.

But now I’m thinking I need to jump onto this new notion with all due haste, so I need your help.  We must think up more of these premises like Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter.  Because it looks like Seth Grahame-Smith and Tim Burton, who is turning his novel into a major motion picture, are about to do for our 16th president, what Robert Downey Jr. has done for Sherlock Holmes.  (And I love what Robert Downey Jr. has done for Sherlock Holmes!)

I’ve been racking my brain, and here’s what I’ve come up with so far.  Read this in your head, in the voice of everyone’s favorite movie trailer voice-over guy.  I know you know who I mean.  You don’t, okay, wait, read this phrase…  “In a world….”
Got it now?  Good.  Here goes.

Idea 1.  In a world with too little compassion, she fed the starving, clothed the naked, sheltered the homeless–but when they tried to eat her flesh all bets were off.  Mother Theresa as you’ve never seen her before, in ZOMBIE-KILLER, THE HOLY TERROR

Idea 2.Judy Garland reprises her role as Dorothy Gale in this blockbuster sequel. When a pack of lycanthropes set their sites on innocent little Toto, only one girl can take them down: (Cue close up on sparkly red shoes and the butt of a rifle.  See Dorothy cock the rifle with that extra loud CLACK CLACK sound effect of the gun’s action working.) THE WEREWOLVES OF OZ.  This time, it’s personal.

Idea 3.You knew her as the First Lady who staunchly supported her husband’s “New Deal,” but you never knew the secret life she led for her country.  In a world where sometimes, you have to go rogue to get things done, Eleanor Roosevelt is, UNDERCOVER NINJA ASSASIN.  The CIA got nothing on this kick-ass chick.

That’s all I got.  😉  And lest you think I was kidding about the vampire hunter movie, here’s a link to the trailer. It’s definitely on my Must-See list.

mom-blog If you’re curious about me and my monsters, you can find more info on my web site, on Facebook, blogging solo at Shayne’s Shenanigans, and blogging with a group at Story Broads.  On Twitter @Maggieshayne, I mostly post writing news and positive thinking/Law of attraction stuff.

Thanks bunches to the Riding with the Top Down gang for having me over today.  I love it here.

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in Maggie Shayne, movies, vampire movies, vampire romance, vampires and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Maggie Shayne, Vampire Writer on Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter

  1. Patti Mann says:

    Maggie, now you’ve got me anticipating those stories you were contemplating. Go with ’em. You always write terrific stories!

  2. Emma Cane says:

    Wow, Maggie, I LOVE your brilliant ideas! And that Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter movie trailer? Uh…I’ve gotta admit, no idea how he came up with that idea.

    • I have no idea either, Emma, but I loved that closing shot, where hunky, beardless Abe is swinging the axe and demolishing that giant tree. That’s the part that sold me. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Leanne says:

    I’d really like to see something paranormal done with Eleanor Roosevelt. I love the way your mind works!!! Welcome to the convertible!!:)

    • Thanks Leanne. My guest spot here is very timely, as I’ve recently fallen in love with a certain convertible. I’ve got Ebay sending me notices every time one goes on sale, and I’m quoting Wayne and Garth. “It will be mine. Oh, yes. It will be mine.” 🙂

  4. ALee Drake says:

    Maggie, Your genius shines, once again. I really look forward to seeing which of these ideas takes off.
    I had a fleeting vision of werewolves being attacked by flying monkeys…. gives me the shivers.

  5. Michele hauf says:

    Love it, Maggie! and knowing Burton and Bekmembatov are behind the movie makes it a must see for me!

  6. OK, Eleanor Roosevelt, Ninja Assassin is my idea of a heroine. That woman could be a great heroine. Fabulous, feeling plain, loving a handsome man who never loved her and then was stuck in a wheelchair, all the while having an affair with his secretary? She needed to go kung-fu on his ass.
    If ever I write something time-travel-y speculative-fiction-y I’d make Eleanor my kick-ass heroine.

  7. I loved them all, Maggie… and I can’t wait to meet you in person at the Fantasy On The Bayou conference in a few weeks in New Orleans! Woot!

  8. Maggie–these are brilliant ideas. (Not surprised.) If you do the Eleanor Roosevelt one (my favorite), maybe Alice Roosevelt can be her sidekick. I’d love to see the lines you’d write for Alice.

    • Alice was a rebel ahead of her time. Another woman that would not be tamed. You know, I’m beginning to think we’ve overlooked a goldmine of romance heroines in our great women of history! This could be a whole new trend! Thanks for stopping by, Ellen!

  9. I loved this blog, and I vote for number 2. Bless both Eleanor and Mother T, but they don’t have that “star” quality for this kind of movie. Switch out Eleanor for Michelle Obama, and there you go, I could totally see her as a Ninja assasin.
    However, I could totally see Thomas Jefferson go were. I suppose Seth and Tim already have that one on contract?

    Thanks for entertaining me with my morning coffee!

    • Those all GREAT! I do think Michelle Obama will go down as one of the truly great First Ladies. And I envy her arms. Gosh, do I ever envy her arms. Okay, I suppose I should fit in that workout today, then. Sigh. 😉

  10. Good morning, Maggie–
    Girl, you surely have the creative juices flowing here in the ‘vert. As someone whose imagination generally doesn’t skip down the paranormal path, I could really get into it if one of my favorite historical personages is involved somehow. But it has to fit. It has to BE Eleanor, beginning to end. Then add the twist. Otherwise she’s not the right conduit for me.

    I’ve never liked vampires. I’m more of a werewolf kind of girl. The girl in the Twilight saga picked the wrong creature if you ask me.

    So glad you’re riding with us today!

  11. I’m glad too, Kathy! Thanks so much for having me. Oh, and about Twilight: you’ll kill me for this (and I didn’t repost, cause it wasn’t nice) but George Takei posted a pic on FB of a t-shirt that read: “TEAM guy in the van who almost ran over Bella.” Okay, it’s a little bit funny. 🙂

  12. Jessica says:

    I’d like to see something with Scarlett O’Hara as a black widow. “Let’s see if you give a damn, now, my dear.”

  13. kylie brant says:

    Welcome Maggie! When I was a kid, I loved the Vincent Price and Betty Davis movies. To this day, Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte and Whatever Happened to Baby Jane give me the creeps!

  14. chris says:

    Maggie,
    What great ideas! Some day Hollywood will make a movie out of one of your books! I’ll pick your witch series! And, I heard through the grapevine that your newest is delicious! Can’t wait!

    Chris

Leave a Reply

