Stamina. Got none. Help.

lady-walking-left_300So, I’ve been trying to move around more this year.  I’m trying not to be a total slug.  No big deeds, just walking about a mile, doing a few machines when I go to the health club with my husband.  My goal is 3x a week.  My hubby and I walked about a mile (in the sleet) yesterday.  I have visited the pool area of the gym twice.

By that, I mean the first time I walked to the pool area and looked at it from the window.  The second time, I actually walked inside the area and looked at it for a half-moment.  Then I exited.  I have it on good authority that people who swim in this pool occasionally pee in it.  Eww.  I can honestly say I do not pee in the pool.  pee in pool  I physically cannot do it.  My Mama taught me to only go in the pot.  I have to struggle to go in the ocean! Knowing that others DO pee in the pool doesn’t make me want to put my face in that pool.  That said, swimming is great for building stamina.  I know this because of the many summers I went swimming as a child at the community pool then came home and needed a nap.

I have purchased a cap (so I don’t have to wash my hair all the time), ear plugs and goggles, but I still kinda feel like I need a condom for my head if I should put my head in the water.swimming-img2

Help me get over my germophobia!   How do I force myself to put my face in pee water!!!!  Or how do YOU build your stamina?!!

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Stamina. Got none. Help.

  1. Debora Dale says:

    lol! Too funny. I feel the same way about pee in pool water. I’m comforted, however, by the choking smell of chlorine. If the water looks clear, I hear the hum of filters, and smell that smell, nothing can keep me out of the pool. Not that I’d swallow any pool water, mind you. But I would definitely swim. 🙂

  2. leannebanks says:

    Thanks Debora! Choking smell of chlorine and humming filters. I’m taking notes!:)

  3. michelehauf says:

    I am the same way with public pools. I love to swim, but won’t do it because they have found worse things than just pee in our closest pool. Urg. Bleech.

    I’ve found that once you get into the habit, the stamina grows, and eventually it becomes a challenge to keep it up. I like challenges, so that works to keep me exercising every day.

  4. loisgreiman says:

    🙂 Oh man, we’re supposed to worry about germs??? I just don’t. I think there’s something wrong in my gene pool…or my female hormones…I just didn’t get that. So ummmm…..hmmmm, well, maybe swimming’s not for you. Maybe running would be better. Hardly anyone pees in the air.

    • kylie brant says:

      Well, gee, now *I’m* getting squeamish about the pool!!! I guess maybe taking sani-wipes to the pool with you and using it on your face and hands when you get out?

      I’m sort of competitive, even if just with myself. So I kind of challenge myself to work harder on the machines each day and to walk further or faster on the tread mill each time. My stamina has really improved, but that’s likely because the thyroid medication is working 🙂

      • Leanne says:

        Good for you on your self-competitiveness, Kylie. I think I must not be very competitive, self or otherwise, because I give myself a pat on the back if I do ANY exercise at all. In fact, the first few minutes, I’m exercising, I almost always say to myself, “I hate this, I hate this, I hate this.” I don’t hate it by the end, but I’m okay with being done.lol

  5. Leanne says:

    Lois, lol! I’m a bit of a germaphobe. I even take a mini-spray disinfectant to clean the most germy hotel room surfaces. Hey, it’ll be cleaner when you arrive!:)

  6. Alli Johnston-Crosier says:

    I have to say, I would not stop laughing at Lois’ post! To funny and true. I just started using the Just Dance for the wii and I’m finding that after I’m done ( and caught my breath) that I have a lot of stamina to do what has to be done around and out of the house.

  7. You do know that sweat is dilute urine, right? (I remember being grossed out when I learned that in 8th grade science and have since taken great pleasure in sharing the gross-out.) So you’re putting your face in pee if you sweat when you exercise. Probably more concentrated than pool water pee. Granted, it’s your own pee, but pee is pee, right? So keep your mouth closed when you sweat or swim. Good luck with that.

    Maybe you’re not a sweater, but the fact is sweating is healthier than not sweating. So maybe the answer is, avoid exercise. Hang with the slugs. We may not be pretty, but we don’t pee in the pool.

    • Did that help at all with the germophobia, Leanne?

      • Leanne says:

        lol! You are such a sneaky evil girl! Sweat is dilute urine? I can honestly say I had never heard that! Thanks so much for the info. And yes I do sweat, and yes, I hate to sweat. The one good thing about the treadmills at the gym is that they have fans… that can cool the diluted urine ON MY FACE!:) Thanks for the laugh!:)

  8. catslady says:

    lol Studies do say that the earlier you are introduced to germs, the healthier you are. You need to build up immunities. It’s just one of those things you shouldn’t think about lol.

  9. Leanne says:

    catslady, I may be a lost cause. I’m a big fan of hand sanitizer.:)

  10. Kristine says:

    Hilarious! A condom for your head! 🙂 Best advice I can give you… if kids swim in that pool, make your swimming time before theirs starts. LOL! Other than, don’t think about it. Or recite the good ol’ “God made dirt, dirt don’t hurt” over and over again– maybe inserting germs, for dirt instead. As for stamina, walking is exactly where I’d say to begin; and you’re already doing that! LUCK! And thanks, again, for the laugh! xo

  11. Leanne says:

    Haha Kristine, great motivation for getting to the pool early! I love the God made dirt, dirt don’t hurt! BLESS YOU!!!:)

Leave a Reply

