Debra: Click

This week is about things “clicking” into place.  Heaven help me, I’m leaving on an extended trip Saturday morning.  I’ll be outside the country without cell service.  My cell company does not offer cell phone service in Tanzania.  I’ll have wireless in the evenings…probably.  But only on the laptop.

Our Operations Manager is gearing up to cover the essentials on my desk as well as her work.  Our Marketing Assistant will try and pick up the slack as will some of the other folks in the office.  But this all seemed so much more “doable” last year.  And even two days ago.

But tonight, about 36 hours away from the airport run…I’m thinking, “What were you thinking?!”  (The exclamation point was for Kathy who has a thing about exclamation points.  In this case, the point was deserved!)

Obviously I’m in no good shape to write a cogent blog.  So I thought I’d amuse you with some of my epiphany moments of the week as information clicked into place as my top level brain worked my daily life and the subconscious worked my vacation life.

1)  ::click::  62″ is the largest dim (Length/height/width added together) without an excess size charge.  The charge is $175.  I got a longer duffle at the last minute when deciding between the two online.  (Rolling duffles are supposed to be better in the Land Rovers.)  Better measure the rolling duffle I bought… just in case.  The size?  67″  Needless to say my “new” new rolling duffle (High Sierra) which came overnight today is now within the size restriction. 

2)  ::click::  What shoes is my sister wearing on the plane?  If she’s wearing clown shoes (Crocs) then I can, too, and just pack the tennis shoes.  Crocs are easier to kick off and on, plus I have the specialty support ones.  “Hey, Lori.  What shoes are you wearing on the plane?”

3)  ::click::  We do have two professional photographers in our group, but I could be bored to death watching them get shots, which they’ll share with us.  I’d better get a new camera with big zoom and wide angle so I’ll have something to do.  It might be rude to knit and read while in the savannah.  (Nikon Coolpix 500)

4)  ::click::  You really have to read the manual on the camera and figure out how to use all the fancy buttons and modes.

5)  ::click::  If my sister is having second thoughts on the small plane back from the savannah to the big airport, that means you’ll be the only one flying back from the wild.  Isn’t that just prima donna behavior?  Better cancel that flight and ride back in the rumbly, dust filled truck when you could have been at the hotel in the shower.  ::sigh::

6)  ::click::  Hey!  If I’m not riding in the truck, then I don’t have a 32 lb weight limit on luggage.  Huzzah!  I can pack another Harry Potter audio book.

7)  ::click::  Field guides are really heavy.  Even not-big ones. Why did you buy two?  How hard is it to figure out, “Giraffe, lion, hippo, bird….”

8)  ::click::  A perfectly adorable hat is not going to magically arrive.  You will have to make a decision:  ball cap or go-to-hell hat.

9)  ::click::  You must stop.  You have a blog to write and you have to begin the packing process. Turn off the computer.  Call it a day.  If it’s not done now it’s not getting done until you get back.

10)  ::click::  Is everything washed?

11)  ::click::  Strap in.  This is going to be a bumpy ride!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Debra: Click

  1. Susan Shay says:

    Oooh, dibs on the cool camera and the go-to-hell hat (if it’s the hat in the picture) when you get back. Have a great time in Africa. With all those shots you’ve had, you’ll be safe for another trip to Oklahoma one of these days. 😉
    BTW: I didn’t remember you were a knitter. No wonder I like you. 😉
    Be safe and have a great time~
    Susan

    • debradixon says:

      Susan– LOL! Knitters unite! (g) Thanks for the good wishes. My go-to-hell is exactly like that but a little lighter. 🙂

  2. Cindy Gerard says:

    Oh, Deb. have a wonderful, wonderful trip! And relax for goodness sake. The business WILL SURVIVE without you. Honest it will. Just be in the moment every moment of your trip and DO NOT THINK about work!
    Hugs and kiss a giraffe for me, okay?

    • debradixon says:

      Cindy– I’m really going to try not to think about business. I am in the office today but really only for last minute meetings with staff and to load things on my laptop. I have two long plane rides and it’s a perfect place to edit. No distractions.

  3. Wow, Deb, what an adventure you’ll have! (That’s a heartfelt exclamation, m’dear.)

    Pre-trip panic. I hear you. I always get hit with that, and you’ve covered the list thoroughly. You’ve been looking forward to the trip for ages, but suddenly home looks really good to you. This, too, shall pass. Not that home won’t still look good, but you’ll put that out of your mind, put one foot in front of the other and get through security. Then you’ll be on your way.

    Tami Hoag got after me once for wearing slip-on shoes on a plane. No rubber soles, either. In case of emergency, you don’t want to lose your shoes, and you don’t want your soles to melt. Tami does her research.

    • debradixon says:

      Kathy– Yeah, I’m rethinking shoes. The crocs do have straps around the back of the heel, but they are a material that could conceivably melt. Must think.

      Yes, home does look very good right now. I travel all the time but I’m one of those people who really does like home over pretty much anything else. Or having hubby with me. ‘Cause he’s really home more than anything else and he couldn’t make the trip due to his work commitments. (A global implementation of their new operating systems. No vacations. No time off. Nose to the grindstone until they’ve implemented in 62 countries.)

  4. Knowing you, this will be a FUN and FABULOUS trip. Oh the stories you will tell when you get back.

    Have fun! and LOTS AND LOTS of pictures, okay? Then all of RWTTD bloggers and readers can all meet in Memphis and you can do a show and tell. Wouldn’t that be fun?

    • debradixon says:

      C– Sorry I missed your blog yesterday. Forgive me. I’ve just been putting that one foot in front of the other for a while because the industry is so crazy!

      Thanks for the good thoughts. We made my uncle do a presentation on his trip to Everest Base Camp a couple of years ago and it was awesome.

  5. loisgreiman says:

    Deb, they’re all wrong!! Neither your business nor our blog can survive without you!

    But have a wonderful time anyway. How long are you gone for?

  6. michelehauf says:

    Have a super time, Deb! And bring back lots of pics to show and tell at the blog.

  7. debradixon says:

    Michele– Yes, I’m going to be sure to give you guys a look see at the trip !

  8. Tom Honea says:

    get yourself a good go-to-hell hat, and hae a great trip! …
    we are excited to hear all the details.
    .
    ……………… tom

  9. debradixon says:

    Tom– Yep. The go-to-hell hat is winning in the polling around here, too. I have a journal with me, so hopefully I’ll have something to say when I get back.

  10. Deb, I know you’re on your way now. Sorry I missed this yesterday, Above all else, safe journey. Enjoy every wonderful experience.

    Loralee

  11. bkrahn007 says:

    Hoo-ya! Go get ’em girl! And get some pictures that will blow our minds on the blog!

    But more than anything, be safe and come back to us refreshed and energized– even if you’re exhausted! Soak it all in and let it free your spirit!

Leave a Reply

