Is Free Jewelry Romantic?

We’ve talked about the whole love language thing. But what about romance? Is that an entirely different animal?

I think it just might be. That is to say, there are a lot of ways to show love. For instance, cooking a low-fat meal of tofu and Brussels sprouts is loving if your significant other happens to be fighting a BMI in the triple digits. In the same vein, insisting that he get a colonoscopy can be extremely loving. But perhaps not particularly romantic…or appreciated.

So what is romantic?

The classic Valentines Day gifts are flowers, candy, and candle-light dinners. But do women still like those? Well, okay, everyone likes to eat, but sometimes fine dining necessitates the wearing of pantyhose and pretty shoes. The comfort level of shoes, I’ve discovered, decreases proportionately with their degree of physical attractiveness. Is that worth the effort (and pain) required? I just read an article about romance written by a gentleman named Samuel Stoddard. He suggests that anything that is cool is not romantic. Such as…rifles and football. Which brings me to another subject. Is romance entirely different for men and women? Does romance even exist for the masculine gender? Or is it synonymous with sex?

And are there any classic Valentines gifts for men? I can’t think of a single thing. Ummm….except sex.

So how about you? Any fantastic ideas for Valentine’s gifts for hubbies and boyfriends?

Or how about this one? What is the most romantic thing you’ve ever experienced in your life. Be explicit please. Some of us live vicariously.

Leave a comment and I’ll toss your name into the drawing for this necklace and earring set. (Drawing to be held here on V-Day. So please check back.)

Hmmm, jewelry…I think I may have forgotten that in the list of V-day necessities. Maybe I’ll buy my husband a nice pair of diamond earrings. Oops, he doesn’t have pierced ears. Guess I’ll just have to wear them myself. 🙂

Uncorked (not particularily romantic, but it is kind of funny) now available in print at:

http://www.amazon.com/Uncorked-7-Lois-Greiman/dp/1468145347/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1327776689&sr=1-2

and ebook at: http://www.amazon.com/Uncorked-Chrissy-McMullen-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B006QXOAB0/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1326404170&sr=1-1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Is Free Jewelry Romantic?

  1. Betina says:

    Ummmm. . . yeah. . . where men are concerned, I think most of them equate romance with sexy. Not necessarily sex itself, but with the idea of sexy. But I’ve noticed as men get older they get more sentimental. . . which they also equate with romance. If it makes you weepy, it’s romantic. That’s why a lot of romancy chick flicks make you cry. In a good way, of course.

    Just give me some flowers to sink my face into and I’m a happy girl. Flowers and romance are somehow connected for me. Jewelry, not so much. Unless it’s carbon-based and sparkles like crazy.

    Most romantic thing? Okay– I get tea in bed, first thing every morning. He gets up first and makes my tea and wakes me up with it. Thoughtful. Loving. Sweet. Can’t ask for much more than that!

  2. laurieg72 says:

    How about tickets to a concert or a play that your husband would like. Over the years, I’ve taken my husband to see Phantom of the Opera, Camelot and ReNT. He enjoyed all of them. I also got him boxed CD sets of Simon & Garfunkel, John Denver, The Beatles and Queen. Also the sound tracks to Phantom, Camelot and West Side Story.

    I’m thinking about nice sunglasses this year. Practical, yet he’ll think of me every time he puts them on. He also needs a new bike. After almost 35 years of marriage, it’s hard to come up with unique ideas.

    Love, affection and romance can be shown in little ways: telling him that you love him, that he did a good job on some chore , make his favorite meal, hug him …..

    Most romantic thing for me: After35 years, he still tells me that he loves me and likes the way I look (after 4 children). He tells me that marring me was the best thing he ever did!

    Happy Valentine’s Day! It’s really the thought that counts!

  3. loisgreiman says:

    Tea in bed. Betina, I am overawed!

  4. loisgreiman says:

    Laurie, all excellent thoughts. Wow! I think you have found what everyone is looking for. Congratulations!

  5. CateS says:

    Well, I could split a pair of diamond earrings with my sweetie.. It’s not terribly romantic, but having his car detailed if he’s a fanatic about washing it…?

  6. Annie says:

    Cooking my sweetheart a gourmet meal after a hard day at work makes him appreciative. Showing him care and concern daily.

  7. Letters. Clyde was in the Army when we got married, and he was shipped to Korea (it could have been Vietnam) a month after our wedding. He wrote often, and those letters were sooo romantic, enormously important in our relationship. It was an act of love. Letter writing was something he hadn’t done much in his life until then. I think the most romantic gestures involve a bit of risk, putting yourself out there in some way.

    I hope paper letters–especially between friends and lovers–never vanish completely from our lives. Hmmm. Letters. Maybe I’ll blog about that.

  8. michelehauf says:

    Wow, Betina’s got a great guy. Tea in bed? Nice.

    I’m wracking my brain for romantic gestures from my guy, but the closest I can get is when he brings me home a rock. Not just any rock, mind you. He knows I like them smooth and symmetrical. I have a collection that he’s given me over the years. I do adore that guy.

  9. michelehauf says:

    Ha! Just thought it funny how some of us like ‘rocks’ as gifts, but sometimes they sparkle and sometimes they don’t. 🙂

  10. loisgreiman says:

    Cate S, I think romance changes through the years. We probably get more practical…but maybe no less needy.

  11. loisgreiman says:

    Ummm, fraid I don’t know HOW to cook a gourmet meal, Annie, but nice idea.

  12. loisgreiman says:

    Kathy, would you ever consider publishing your letters to each other?

  13. kylie brant says:

    My husband is easy, too 🙂 But he does like it when I get all dressed up before we go out. And of course his taste runs to the skanky, ahem, revealing clothing 🙂 I am the absolute least romantic person in the world. He is far more thoughtful than I am. I would be romantic…if I thought about it. But I don’t so by definition I am not romantic 🙂

    Most romantic gesture? 2 1/2 years ago I was under deadline and he started pestering me to drive to Cedar Rapids (2 hrs.) with him. I was not real patient…then he reminded me it was our anniversary and he wanted to take me out to eat. Well, sure, make me feel bad 🙂 But I brought the laptop and wrote the entire way. Looked up to find us in a car lot. Driving with my husband, that is a usual thing. He wanted me to get out and look at the new Camaros. Heaving a sigh, I did so, trotted across the lot to look at cars we will never buy…and when I turned around the salesman is standing next to a black BMW convertible with a huge bow on the hood. Left me speechless, I can tell you!!! And yes, feeling more than a little small and petty. Lucky he’s easy!

  14. loisgreiman says:

    Yikes!! Kylie, you might win this little contest with that one.

  15. NL Gassert says:

    I used to send my husband flowers. He used to travel a few times a year and I’d always make sure there were flowers in his room waiting for him. The first time he thought it was weird, but he did get compliments apparently and was won over! While I haven’t done this myself, I think making a playlist for his music player of choice can be a very romantic gesture. He did this for me. Filled with songs he said reminded him of me or us or just plain made him wish he was home.

    Nadja

  16. catslady says:

    I can think of two romantics thing off the top of my head – complete opposites. After 25 years of marriage I lost the stone out of my wedding ring while outside raking leaves. I was devasted. Our next anniversary he presented me with a beautiful diamond ring (much larger than the original) but the best part was that he went to a jeweler and had it specially made (extra strong setting lol). He also brought me my very first stray kitten (with many more to follow). I’m not sure which melted my heart more!

  17. loisgreiman says:

    I’ve always wondered about flowers for men. My husband will bring me wildflowers sometimes which I find much more romantic than flowers purchased from a store.

  18. JT Brown says:

    My husband always put a lot of thought into all the gifts he gave me, including jewelry (though I admit I kinda picked out my engagement and wedding ring ahead of us going to the jewelry store to pick them out…good thing we had similar tastes). I asked him once how he always seemed to pick out thoughtful and great gifts, including jewelry (I was not a hinter) and he told me he always payed attention to what I said or did all the time and would make notes. That was just so like him, he was a list and note maker and to me the fact that he paid attention to things like that and took time to write it all down was the most romantic thing and more important to me than the actual gifts. Well, okay, sometimes the gifts were important, too. The first gift he ever gave me was a radio/cd player (I needed one for my apartment) and even though it’s well over 20 years old with paint splatters all over it and a tuner dial that’s a little sticky, it sits in my garage and when I’m working outside it’s always on with music or a baseball game…and when I turn it on I always think of him, always, not because it was a great gift (it was) but because every time I turn it on it reminds me of my husband and of the kind, thoughtful and wonderful person he was…I will never get rid of that radio. It was more than a gift it was all the thoughts, kindness and love that went into the considering of that gift that counted. It’s funny sometimes to think that something as nondescript and inanimate as a silly old radio can become so sentimental.

  19. Cindy Gerard says:

    loving all these suggestions!!!

  20. loisgreiman says:

    JT, very sweet.

    It’s really refreshing hearing from so many women who are really happy with their husbands.

  21. Leanne says:

    I’m okay with jewelry. But I’m happy with a flower arrangement too.:) Not all roses, and I usually beg my husband to get them early to avoid Valentines Day prices! I gave my husband the gift of a Barbershop quartet singing sweetheart songs to him at work. Probably embarrassed him, but he’s a singer, so he kinda liked it.:) xo, Leanne

  22. loisgreiman says:

    That’s an adorable idea, Leanne.

  23. Kathleen O says:

    Jewelery would be a nice gift to get, maybe something that is significant about the person. For instance I like anything with angels and hearts.. And of course the jewelery should have emeralds in them, cause I just adore them. And hey if the person really new me they would know that a GC from my favourite store would do it for me too. i think that it’s not what you get, but the thought that is put in the gift. Knowing what my favorite flowers are, now most people like roses, which I do but they are not my all time favs.. Carnations or even a Hibiscus plant would be most appreciated.

Leave a Reply

