Super Bowl Redux

I love the Super Bowl, but not for the football.  I’m all about the commercials and food. weego-dog

Don’t get me wrong.  I enjoy watching football more than I enjoy watching most other sports, but I’m more of a college football girl.  That said, I make the best of the day.Smile    A fun way to prepare for the game is with The Puppy Bowl on Animal Planet.  Although I love puppies, two hours is a long time for me to watch them grab, or not grab a toy and take it to the end zone.  The half-time with the kitties was fun, though.  And I enjoyed the doggie spectators.  http://animal.discovery.com/tv/puppy-bowl/

Regarding the pre-game, Miranda Lambert and her hubby Blake Shelton did a nice job with their song, and I was very pleased that Kelly Clarkson knew all the words to our National Anthem.  Not to be a whiner, but can we at least get the lyrics right when we’re on international tv?  If you don’t want to memorize the words, then don’t sign up for the job.  http://celebrity-gossip.net/super-bowl-2012/kelly-clarksons-super-bowl-xlvi-national-anthem-583039

The commercials, of course, were the most important. Smile   I enjoyed the vampires and the baby Dorito commercial.  I welcomed seeing Elton John, and just saw the adopted dog Weego for Budweiser.  Cute.Smile   You can see them here.  http://www.superbowl-commercials.org/

What’s your fave part about the Super Bowl?  The actual game?  The food? (be specific)  The commercials?  What did you think of half-time?

Can’t wait to hear your thoughts!!!Smile

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Super Bowl Redux

  1. NL Gassert says:

    Loved the AUDI vampire commercial. Can’t remember any of the others right now … but I wasn’t actively watching either 🙂 Football is not my sport.

    Nadja

    • Leanne says:

      I thought the Audi commercial was funny too. So ironic because the Audi driver was bringing the BLOOD!lol Thanks for popping in!:)

  2. I saw ALL the ads EXCEPT the vampire ad. I must have run to the kitchen. I made it back in time to see the last words and wondered what I missed.

    I LOVE football. I’ll watch any two teams play! And last night’s game had to be everything that a SuperBowl should be. Two great teams battling to the bitter end.

    And then The Voice! Great show last night.

    • Leanne says:

      Cynthia, it WAS a great game! I hate it when its lop-sided. I, too, watched The Voice and really enjoyed it last night!:) Glad you had a great time!:) xo, Leanne

  3. Mary Louise says:

    My fav was the Star Wars commerical with Darth Vader… I think it was for VW, second were the polar bears. The game itself was a heartbreaker………

    • Leanne says:

      Mary Louise, oh, you must be a Patriot fan. I heard someone say they thought whichever team had the ball last would win. Well, it sure was a close one! Cute Darth Vader commercial!:) xo, Leanne

  4. Kylie Brant says:

    I loved the Doritos commercial where the dog buried the cat and was paying off the guy with Doritos not to squeal on him. “You didn’t see nuthin’!” That cracked me up.

    • Leanne says:

      Kylie, that was hysterical, but I must confess I was wondering if cat owners might get riled up over it. Couldn’t help laughing though!!! xo, Leanne

  5. michelehauf says:

    My fav part is that the hubby leaves to go to a friend’s house to watch the game, and I get the afternoon/evening all to myself with NO tv. 🙂

  6. Kathleen O says:

    We don’ get a lot of the good Super Bowl Commercials in Canada.. SO I had to watch them the day afterwards on the above link.. I loved the Chrysler commercial with Clint Eastwood.. Man can he get a point across.. The Pepsi commercial was great. As were the Coke commercials. The Doritos commercials were okay, especially the one with the little kid used as a sling shot.. And of course it would not be the Super Bowl with out those Budweiser Clydesdale’s.
    I thought Miranda and Blake did an okay job, but I was not over impressed, I like both of them, they just didn’t do it for me. And Kelly C did a great job with your national anthem. A heck of better job that Steven Tyler did back a few weeks ago.. She sang it from the heart, Steven just screamed it.. In my humble opinion of course…
    I really didn’t care who won the Super Bowl as my team was not playing. I watched most of the first half, then saw Madonna who some good numbers and the last one was amazing.. Then I turned on a movie and was reading a books while clicking back to the game now and then.. It’s over for another year. I will put my STEELERS Jersey in it’s protective cover and wait for next NFL season when they will KICK BUTT..

    • Leanne says:

      Kathleen O, love your analysis! I gave Miranda and Blake a bit of a pass due to the fact that both of them have recently suffered losses (his father, etc…) I thought Kelly C nailed the National Anthem. Wishing you good luck with your Steelers. You are such a fan girl!:) xo, Leanne

  7. loisgreiman says:

    I missed it all. But I heard Madonna sang. How was she?

    • Leanne says:

      She reminded me of you. Disgustingly fit.:) That said, she did very well. The performance included lots of Roman soldiers. She slipped up once, but recovered quickly. xo, Leanne

  8. I thought Madonna’s show was mah-velous. I guess there was a big flap over one of the singers flipping the bird, but I missed that. I didn’t watch much of the game. If I cared about football, I would’ve been for the Pats, and I did see the very end, which was pretty weird (but what do I know?)

    I liked the Chrysler ad with Clint Eastwood and the one with Betty White, but I didn’t know what that one was for until this morning.

    Watched a bit of the Puppy Bowl with the grands. So cute! But as you say, Leanne, after a while it gets repetitive–grab the ball, run with it until somebody knocks you down. The Puppy Bowl is like that, too.

    • Leanne says:

      Kathleen, I missed the flipping the bird thing too. Had to be told about that this morning. The game was super close. The Puppy Bowl was so cute, but too long for me.:) xo, Leanne

  9. Christie Ridgway says:

    I love the commercials of course! We had a party so I didn’t even see all of them (chatting & eating) but loved the rescue dog one. And the one with the cheetah was fun. Saw the Clint Eastwood ad this morning and it is effective.

    We have whole bunch of $1 bets going and I lost $20. I think my lack of football knowledge was showing, though some are like “How many times will they show Giselle on TV?” (I think it was only once.)

  10. Leanne says:

    Christie, I can just see you being your cute, sociable self and missing a bunch of those commercials and maybe even the game.:) But I’m glad you had a good time. Loved the rescue dog commercial too. Also loved the volkswagon/golden retriever slimming down ad too.:) No money pools for me this year. I NEVER WIN!!!:) xo, Leanne

Leave a Reply

