Welcome our guest: Roxanne Rustand!

Today we have prolific author and friend Roxanne Rustand with us.  With nearly thirty novels to her credit, Rox’s specialty is heart warming romance with a sprinkling of suspense, as well as inspirational novels.  And she’s spent the last several weeks immersed in a very personal romance–the wedding of her son and the girl he fell in love with!

I love romance novels of all types.  I love the struggles, the conflicts, the challenging character arcs that eventually bring two unlikely people together and lead them to a life of happiness.  As much criticism as the genre attracts from time to time, isn’t that what we all hope for–finding the right person, the one with whom we can share our lives through good times and bad?  What person doesn’t want that for themselves?

This weekend–the reason why this blog post is late–our second son and his lovely fiancée were married.  We are all so thrilled for him!  Our backpacking, flyfishing, kayaking, mountain climbing outdoorsman found a wonderful woman with his same spirit of adventure and love of travel, and his same family values.  After a proposal out west in the shadows of the Grand Tetons, they were married in a beautiful lodge decorated with pine branches and a thousand candles.

I’ve had romance and romantic suspense novels published since 1999–my most recent this past December, the next one in April. But now, as I still bask in the glow of this perfect wedding weekend, I’ve thinking about real life romance.  Chance meetings–where one might never have met the love of their life if not for a twist of fate.  A few seconds difference, a random meeting missed–who knows where each of us might be now?

I met my future husband at a veterinary fraternity party during  college–where I was trying to ignore my boyfriend after a sudden tiff.   Feeling awkward, debating about leaving, I talked to some random guy next to me…who has now been my husband for thirty-five years!

So how about you?  I would love to hear the stories about how you all met the significant other in your life!

http://www.roxannerustand.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Welcome our guest: Roxanne Rustand!

  1. Kylie Brant says:

    I can personally vouch for the fact that the reception was incredibly lovely. And I’ve never seen a couple so happy!

    My hubby of 34 years and I met in high school, although we didn’t date until he was in college. It gets scary when you hit the point that you’ve been been married to a person longer than you were alive before meeting them 🙂 And we hit that point 2 decades ago!

  2. christieridgway says:

    Love the serious but expectant expressions on the face of the bride and groom!

    I met my husband at the Halloween dance freshman year in college. We chatted a bit at the dance and then I talked more with him later in the dorm…he lived next door to some boys I’d met before and with whom I’d become friends. We were just friends for that year and then corresponded over the summer. My sophomore year, I just had to have him and we’ve been together ever since. Halloween continues to be special at our house.

    Best wishes for the newly married couple!

  3. Love the wedding photo! Many wonderful years for them.

    I met my husband in 89, when he became one of my commanders. His wife passed unexpectedly in 1995 and a year later he asked me out. We were married 2 1/2 years later, in 1997. We combined families although, thankfully, the only kid left at home was mine, who was 12 at the time. We had our rough patches but more good times than not. It’s not always easy, but at least my oldest step-daughter will attest to the fact that had we not married, he would have died years ago. I just can’t decide if he didn’t because I take such good care of him, or because he’s afraid I will go through with my threat that if he dies on me, I am bringing him back and making his life miserable! :). I keep telling him I am too young to be a widow and too damn old to ever have to go through the dating scene again. FYI- There is a 26 year age difference between us, although that only seems to bother others, not us. I couldn’t have asked for a better husband,partner and friend.

  4. What lovely stories of real-life romances, that are lasting a lifetime! Evelyn, I love your own story–and how that age difference has never been a problem. It sounds like having a sense of humor has been a wonderful facet of your relationship! 🙂

  5. I met my husband on the Internet 20 years ago! No, not one of those dating sites, but back in the early days of America Online where there were ‘lobbies’ and ‘chat rooms’ to sign onto. I found him in a Star Trek chat room first, then saw his username in a couple of other rooms and asked if he was following me. He said no, he didn’t know me, why would he follow me? Maybe we just had common interests — and so we did! Those were the pay-for-AOL days, so I’d already requested my account be closed at the end of the month, but was having so much fun talking to him, that I gave him my phone number and he called immediately. We talked on the phone every single evening for 15 months straight! Figured we should meet, but I was in TX and he in CA, so it was a bit risky, especially when I was late getting to the airport to pick him up and he thought I’d chickened out! But we hit it off in person, too, and continued a long distance relationship for 3 years before I moved to CA. We’ve been married for nearly 15 years and can’t imagine being apart.

  6. Liz Flaherty says:

    I met mine while I was dating his best friend. He–the one I married–couldn’t stand me, but he seems to have gotten over it. It’ll be 41 years in May.

  7. CateS says:

    Met him when we both had a paper route… — small town.. Dated in high school… Dumped him in college & married someone else… 3 years later I’m divorced & just out of college and moved back home…. 5 years later, working in state capital… older sister gets married and he sent wedding gift.. She told him to call me for wedding details.. Married 2 yuears later & still happily married after 31 years..

  8. Cindy Gerard says:

    I second what Kylie said. The wedding reception was lovely, Rox. And what a beautiful bride and handsome groom. They booth look so happy. And I think it was so fantastic that they wend sledding on the grounds near the lodge where they were married before the ceremony. What fun!
    My hubby and I met on a blind date. One of the first things he said to me was, “Want some candy, little girl?” I’ve been taking candy from Tom ever since :o)

  9. I just love these romantic stories! Some with rocky starts and some smoother sailing–as varied as the wonderful books the authors on this blog write.

    Thank you for the kind words on the wedding reception, Cindy and Kylie. It was a magical night for them both, and we felt so blessed that you traveled as far as you did in this iffy wintery weather to join us!

  10. loisgreiman says:

    Thanks for joining us, Roxanne. So fun to be reminded what’s at the core of the stories we write. Two of my kids just got married in 2011. Trying but fun.

  11. Hi, Lois, so nice to see you here! We have two weddings in one year also– 1/21 and 6/23. It’s a busy year!

  12. Met my future hubby when I was working as a bank teller. It was love at first sight–for me–and since he had just come from the eye doctor and couldn’t see anything, I like to say he was blinded by love:) Two weeks later my family moved to the house across the street from his family. I spent three more months doing yard work in my form-fitting spandex and waving at him across the street. Still, no dice. The day I decided to give up on him he showed up at the door and asked me out. In July, we’ll be married 24 years!

  13. Katy Lee says:

    I’ve known my husband since I was 16 and we worked together at a local clothing store, but he’s five years older than me, and wouldn’t give me the time of day until I was no longer jailbait. 😉 We started dating when I turned 18 and got married six years later. We’ve been married now for 15 years.

Leave a Reply

