Would you wear this? Golden Globes Re-Cap

I’m a red-carpet junkie and I love to look at all the dresses the stars wear for the big events.  I don’t care that much about the actual awards.  I just want to see what they are wearing.  Some of them do a great job (probably with the help of stylists).  Others should consult with a good honest friend.  If they don’t have a good honest friend, they should call us, right?

So here are some dresses from the Golden Globes.  I want to know.  Do you think these are winners or clunkers?  If you had to attend an awards ceremony, which of these dresses would you wear?

charlizetheron  Charlize Theron

emmastone  Emma Stone

merylstreep  Meryl Streep (Meryl. Please. Call me!)

sarahmichellegeller Sarah Michelle Gellar

And my two faves of the night below: (these actresses happen to star in my fave show Modern Family!)

gg1  Sarah Hyland

sofiavergera  Sofia Vergara

Dish with me!Smile

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Would you wear this? Golden Globes Re-Cap

  1. Sofia Vergara looked georgeous, but seriously, what wouldn’t she look good in?!
    Meryl Streep…she is so good at what she does she can wear anything she wants…and own it!!!
    I thought Jane Fonda looked absolutely amazing!
    There….that’s my 3 cents worth! :o)

    • Leanne says:

      Dianne, I love Meryl Streep, but I think she needs a new stylist… or needs to listen to her stylist.:) ME TOO on Jane Fonda! FABULOUS!!!!!! Thanks for jumping in Dianne.:) xo, L

  2. Elektra says:

    The girl they had on stage “herding” the presenters had on a gorgeous black and white gown that I was drooling over all night . . .

  3. Leanne says:

    Elektra, I didn’t see this person. Must try to scout her out!:) Cook that you liked one of the behind-the-scenes dresses.:) Thanks for your comment!:) xo, L

  4. kylie brant says:

    Sofia’s dress was fabulous!!! Meryl Streep…apparently one *can’t* have it all because that was awful! You can go online and type in (for example) Sofia Vergara’s Golden Globe dress in the next couple months and you may find a lookalike knock off for a good price. I found one of Demi Moore’s dresses that way.

  5. Leanne says:

    Kylie, I totally agree with you about Meryl’s dress. Love her, not the dress. Alas, even if I found Sofia’s dress, I’m quite certain it wouldn’t look the same on me at all!:) xo, L

  6. CateS says:

    Was not liking Meryl’s dress either and thought Madonna’s looked like she’d have some ugly red marks from the tight neckline…

  7. Leanne says:

    CateS, I had the same problem with a dress once with boning in it. After wearing the dress ONCE, I investigated how the dress was made and learned it had 6 areas where it had boning! I ripped out four of them!:) xo, L

  8. michelehauf says:

    If I had to pick from only the ones above it would be Emma Stone’s pretty frock.

  9. Cindy Gerard says:

    I’ll dish with you girlfriend! Honestly -Meryl Streep but hated that dress on her. Dowdy. And she’s not!
    Sofie – what can I say. The woman is stunning.

  10. I wanted to ask Michelle Wiliams why she stole Betty White’s dress. She’s young and gorgeous with a great body as evidenced by her just playing Marilyn Monroe. While I think modesty is charming, she was dressed like an 85 year old lady. ???

    • Leanne says:

      Grace, I know what you mean about MIchele Williams. She could have worn so many other dresses that would have been more flattering. I think beige can be great on the right person, but for most of us, it just makes us look more beige.lol xo, L

  11. Also…..beige should be banned. It’s just so blaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah.

  12. Alli Johnston-Crosier says:

    I like SMG’s Dress (I’m a ty dy type of peron) and Emma Stone’s as well. Meryl’s dress make her look like a witch.

    • Leanne says:

      Alli, I like tie-dye too, but I think the fullness of the dress combined with the tie-dye took me by surprise, but hey she was NOT boring and that’s good. Agree with you about Emma and poor Meryl. xo, L

  13. My favorite of the ones here is Emma’s, I also liked the 2 Sarah’s and Sofia’s. I would love to see Meryl in something not black and looked like it was a country western shirt with a skirt attached to it in the limo. My favorite of the night was Claire Danes the back was so beautiful. If I had to choose one for my self I like either Octavia Spencer or Amber Riley as I am a big curvy girl as well.

  14. Leanne says:

    Exactly what you said about Meryl’s dress. It really did have a strong western vibe. I didn’t get it at all. I loved Claire Danes’ dress also. Beautiful. I think MANY of us can benefit from dresses for curvy girls!!!:) xo, L

  15. Christie Ridgway says:

    I think the color of Charlize’s dress looks great on her and she must be a million feet tall to pull off that fabric at the hips… Meryl! Why did you let someone dress you like an old lady? I thought Michelle Williams looked pretty, but as others have commented, I would have loved to see her in something more sexy glam. I love looking at the fashion and felt sorry for the men in their all-alike tuxes, though they’re likely relieved to skip all the hoopla.

    • Leanne says:

      Christie, I felt the same way about Charlize, and yes, I believe she’s quite tall. She was once a model, wasn’t she? Whenever I look at dresses with extra material around the hips (or most anywhere), I just think less bulk is better for me… since I’m bulking up on my own!!!!!!!!!:) And Meryl should just give us a call. We can help.:) xo, L

  16. loisgreiman says:

    If I had Theron’s legs, I’d go with her dress. But…if I had Theron’s legs I wouldn’t be me. 😦

  17. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    If I could get away with it, I would where the dress Charlize Theron had on… Sophia V.. well it is a great dress, but I am not a fan of feathers around my feet….lol Hey I am just jealous I could never carry off that dress…

Leave a Reply

