2011 is the Year that I…

I was telling Surfer Guy I would always remember 2011 as the Year of the Broken Leg and I decided I didn’t want to root my memories in that. So I’m reflecting on other things I have accomplished and that revolve around my passion for reading and writing.

2011 is the year that I recommended over thirty-six books via my Romance column for the publication BookPage. It is available at libraries and at retailers and you can also read it online at bookpage.com. I love this gig! Imagine, every month a box of advance copies of my favorite genre are delivered to my doorstep. I can only highlight three books a month (in February, I do more) but I read more than that each month and count myself so lucky. I cross sub-genres, so there is something for everyone in the column. You might want to keep an eye out for the publication–they have recommendations for all kinds of books.

2011 is also the year that I helped organize a charity anthology that is raising money for veterans medical research. What started as a casual tweet became an actual cause and I feel extraordinarily pleased by what we nineteen authors accomplished with the excellent help of Bell Bridge Books.

If you haven’t already, please consider purchasing it in digital or paper form! It would be a great way to end 2011 or begin 20012. The stories of SEAL of My Dreams are short, so perfect for enjoying between bouts of baking or eggnog-imbibing! At Barnes & Noble:   http://bit.ly/u5ugzx and at Amazon: http://amzn.to/rZXVBO

2011 is the year that I ended one trilogy and began another. My Three Kisses trilogy, set in the wine country of California, came to an end. It’s always sad to say goodbye, but I was gratified that in 2011 the first book, Crush on You, was named Contemporary Romance of the Year (for 2010) by RT BookReviews. The second book in the trilogy, Then He Kissed Me, is nominated for the 2011 award! I’m working on a new trilogy for HQN Books, set at a beach house in SoCal…am loving the sand and surf! The romances will come out back-to-back-to-back in 2013, so in the meantime, a Christie Ridgway writing fix will be found in a novella for Kensington Books that I wrote this year.

The anthology is titled Kiss the Bride, and my story came from an idea I had knocking around for years. It’s titled “Weddings, Ink,” and the heroine writes wedding vows for a living. I ended up loving this story and hope you will too…it comes out in May.

Finally, 2011 is the year that three of my holiday-themed books came back on the market digitally. My holiday duet, Must Love Mistletoe and Not Another New Year’s are available as well as my novella, Out on a Limb, now a steal at 99 cents! Hope you have a chance to enjoy. For Nook: http://bit.ly/tFq8Uq and for the Kindle: http://amzn.to/t4qfPy

Tell me about your 2011! Did you slip getting in the shower and break a leg like me? (Hope not!). Did you start a new hobby, get into a new TV show (me: The Good Wife and Revenge), find a new food you can’t live without? Or go ahead and say the first thing that comes to mind when you finish this sentence: “2011 is the year that I…”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2011 is the Year that I…

  1. Kylie Brant says:

    2011 highlights: two new baby grand daughters :); the end of my six book series The Mindhunters; the most gorgeous fall and Christmas season weather Iowa has surely ever seen ;a new writing venture and different direction for me career-wise; and the first time I’ve ever received the district’s letter offering early retirement, LOL. Looking forward to some breaking great news in our family later this week (more on that later!) But overall 2011 was full of blessings for me and mine. Wishing everyone a marvelous 2012!

  2. Leanne Banks says:

    Great blog, Christie! Congrats on all your fabulous achievements this year. You have such a wonderful attitude and I hope your leg is healing well for you. I’m just going to pick one thing. For me, 2011 is the year I took a bucket list trip to New Zealand and Australia with a wonderful group of women. Merry Christmas!:) xo, Leanne

  3. Christie Ridgway says:

    Kylie: You are such a tease! Can’t wait to hear your news and so glad to know you had a fab 2011.

    Leanne: Oh, wow. Such a great bucket list trip. It’s one I want to make some day. Merry Christmas one and all!

  4. Cindy Gerard says:

    Congrats on your great year, Christie – well, all except for the broken leg.
    A highlight for me, also was the SEAL of My Dreams Anthology. such a labor of love.
    The New Zealand, Australia trip was a dream come true for me. Still pinching myself that I was actually invited to speak at the Australian Romance Readers Conference in Sydney and that invitation turned into the trip of a lifetime.
    Gratifying and sad for me is that January 31, 2012 brings the end to the Black Ops Inc series with Last Man Standing BUT a new series is already in the works and I’m excited to be moving on to new territory.
    2011 was a rough year in some ways but the blessings far outweighed the tough spots and for that I am so very, very, thankful!

  5. jeanniek63 says:

    2011 was the year I decided that fibromyalgia would not be who I am. 2011 is also the year I decided to write the book/books I have had in my head for the last 30 years. To heck with being old!!!!!

  6. TrishJ says:

    This was the year I decided to quit work. Yay. Today was the very last day is employment. Gulp. Hope I made the right decision.

  7. 2011 was the year I got a contract with Bell Bridge Books, too! First up in January: THE LAST GOOD MAN. I’m so thrilled I’m fit to bust.

    Mmm, breaking news from Kylie & family coming soon. Bet it’s the really really good kind.

  8. Christie Ridgway says:

    Yay, Jeannie! I’m with you, I didn’t want my physical body being everything there was about me. Good luck on the book writing!

    TrishJ: Congrats on retirement! I hope you enjoy this new stage in your life.

    Congrats to Kathleen on the new contract & to Cindy on a new series. I’ll be sorry about no more Black Ops, Inc, books–I’m a big fan of them–but I can always re-read. Can’t wait to hear what’s coming up next.

  9. Stephenia says:

    Cindy – I’m also going to miss the Black Ops, looking forward to the final book and whatever your new series holds for us readers – hope it is still military/suspense themed!

    2011 brought me a scholarship to return to school, this old cat still has a few tricks up her sleeve, lol. I can smile now, classes don’t start until next month!

Leave a Reply

