Win a Free Amazon Gift Card

 

 

 

 

 

I’m not going to lie to you. It’s been a tough couple of years for me, because about eighteen months ago, both of the publishing houses I was contracted with dropped my series. Ouch. It was partly the economy, I suppose, partly the changing face of publishing, but it’s hard to avoid taking it personally.

The good news is that I had time to write some things I really love. Time to take some chances and spread my wings. I started a romantic suspense series that I believe is the best thing I’ve ever written. I began a post apocalyptic story that’s different than anything I’ve done in the past, and, at the request of my agent, I sketched out a plot about a modern day woman returning to her roots on a ranch in South Dakota. As I penned this particular piece, I began having an obscene amount of fun. I got to combine my two greatest passions: horses and fiction.

Maybe it was that merging of passions that convinced Kensington Books to make me an offer. I don’t really know what kind of magic came into play here. But suffice it to say I’m pretty thrilled.

The first book will be released in November of 2012, with two books following at six months apart. (Here’s a photograph of myself on my beloved mare that I owned for 28 years. My editor would like to use it for the cover. We’ll know in a few weeks whether that becomes reality or not.)

The stories are about Casie Carmichael, but they’re also about the neglected kids and animals that wind up on the broken down ranch she’s inherited from her estranged father. They’re about caring, taking chances, and believing in yourself.

We originally called the series Cowgirl Academy but that’s already gone by the wayside. Now we’re trying to think of appropriate titles, the kind that induce cozy, contented emotions. So what I’m looking for today are words that evoke that safe, nurtured feeling. Words like home or hearth or…I don’t know exactly what I’m looking for. I’m drawing a blank and I need help. So if you get a chance, please drop me a word or two that captures that secure contentment we all yearn for from time to time. Or if you have any questions or comments about publishing in general, that’s great, too.

There’s an Amazon gift card in it for some clever commenter.

 

 

 

 

Merry Christmas, everyone!

www.loisgreiman.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Win a Free Amazon Gift Card

  1. cyclops8 says:

    Congrats on the book deal. How about sanctuary?

  2. Stephanie says:

    Congrats! What about something like Safe Return? or Back Home Again?

  3. Na S. says:

    I’m happy you get the chance to write about the things you love and when you do that I think it will really show in your writing. I happen to like reading about young children and animals. Their presence can make a story sweeter or inspiring. Wishing you a great writing year in 2012.

  4. Sonya Natalia says:

    Ugh titles are evil things. I used to come up with something five minutes before I had to turn a story in! I am no help whatsoever.

    I went to my trusty friend – the thesaurus – and came up with everything from HAVEN to ROOST.
    Also ASYLUM and BOSOM. Uh, yeah, I’d not recommend using those!

  5. HJ says:

    *Sanctuary* was the first word to cross my mind but that’s already taken!

    *Homestead* always sonds more secure and settled than *home*. *Roots* *Refuge* *Bastion* . *Citadel* – this could quite easily be part of a property name (from a nearby hill/mountain) but it would carry the implaction of a very safe place, an impenetrable inviolable home.

  6. loisgreiman says:

    Cyclops, thanks. Sanctuary is good. Hadn’t thought of that one.

  7. loisgreiman says:

    Stephanie, Back Home Again is nice. I’ll check out how many times that’s been used. Thanks.

  8. Laurie G says:

    Keeping Faith
    Full Circle
    A Merry Chase
    Hard won Dream
    Victory Ranch
    Peace At Last
    Cup’s Full
    Halfway There
    Last Chance
    Home At Last
    Takeoff
    Tranquil Dream
    Leap of Faith
    Wandering
    Thinking About
    Cupful of Dreams
    A Dream Fulfilled
    Runaway Dreams
    Accepting Fate
    Life’s Magic
    Season Of Love
    Change
    Rough yet Tough
    Buckle Up
    Let It Ride
    Fate
    Contentment
    Rainbow’s End
    Ready, Willing and Able
    Dream ON
    Free To Dream
    Return To Joy
    Life’s Journey
    Ready, Set ,Go
    Joyous Return
    Keeping Faith or Keep the Faith
    Hope
    Faith, Hope and Love
    Believe
    Serenity
    Comfortable Fit
    Free Spirit
    In Her Shoes
    Proud To Be
    Strong Willed

    Harmony

  9. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    A Second Chance Cowgirl
    Second Chance Academy
    Roots of a Cowgirl..
    The Ranch of Second Chance Kids

  10. loisgreiman says:

    Holy Cow, Laurie. Thank you!!

  11. Hellion says:

    The words that come to mind for me are “Welcome Home” 🙂

  12. Sorry Lois. I suck at a titles, books and series!
    But congrats on the contract. I’m sure you’ll be happy at Kensington.

  13. Pearl says:

    Best wishes on your new book and happy holidays. Your creativity and determination will be recognized.
    the warmth of home
    Safe and sound

  14. Cathy says:

    So sorry to hear about your publishing houses! I am really happy you have a new one and I really look forward to the new series! How perfect! (Will you have any 4-H shows in there?!)

  15. Leanne Banks says:

    CONGRATULATIONS LOIS! YAAAAYYY! I’m so thrilled for you!:) Last Chance Ranch

  16. Bee says:

    Congratulations! That’s AMAZING news 🙂

    The first word that comes to my mind is ‘Haven’ (maybe that’s cos it’s also one of my favourite words). Also, title suggestions – Spirit of Home, The Foreign Native’s Return, Chance of A Ranch, Home For Chances, Beyond Familiar Grounds, The Road Back Home, Home Free, Haven of Yearning, Ranch Refuge, Destined For Home, Ranch of Fortune, Securing Second Chances, Falling For Home.

    I have no idea if any of them work. Just my two cent 🙂
    G’luck!

  17. loisgreiman says:

    Homestead does have a nice ring to it, HJ. More ranchy than home.

  18. TrishJ says:

    Love to win!!! I’m not too good on titles, but anything with “safe or safety” sounds comforting. Or maybe shelter or sanctuary. Anyway, have a very merry Christmas!!!

    • Mary Louise says:

      Lois. A huge congratulations to you …. and to Kenningston too. At least they are smart enough to know a good thing when they see (or read) it!! I can’t wait to read your new work. I knew you were hard at work over the past year and you came through beautifully. You go girl! As far as names go, well…… my weak suggestion is Heartfelt Home — or Tranquil Meadows. My personal fave, Cozy Flannel Pajamas, is probably not what you are looking for, right? Happy Holidays to you and yours.

  19. loisgreiman says:

    Last Chance Ranch has a nice sound to it. I haven’ t checked how many times that’s been used.

  20. Katherine says:

    I like the Ranch of Patient Stillness, to quote The Bard on horses: “He’s of the colour of the nutmeg. And of the heat of the ginger…. he is pure air and fire; and the dull elements of earth and water never appear in him, but only in patient stillness while his rider mounts him; he is indeed a horse, and all other jades you may call beasts. ~William Shakespeare, Henry V”

  21. loisgreiman says:

    Cahty–Casie is a 4-H horsebowl champion. 🙂 Gotta use what you know, right?

  22. anne says:

    Congratulations! Wonderful news! Keep it up.
    Ranch Haven.
    Serenity Ranch
    Ranch of peaceful dreams.

  23. kylie brant says:

    Woo-hoo, Lois! Am so pumped about the new sale! The reading world is much richer with new stories from you in them!

  24. loisgreiman says:

    Home Free. I like that, Bee. Huh! And it rhymes.

  25. LSUReader says:

    Congratulations, Lois. What wonderful news you have to share.

    For names, the first thing that comes to mind for me is Homestead, perhaps paired with something specific from the book–Dakota Homestead.

    Good luck.

  26. Tasha Clanton says:

    What comes to mind is “peace”, “hope”, and “faith”. Congrats on the book, hope I win!! Would love to use the gift card to buy it when it’s released.

  27. Chelsea B. says:

    How about Haven or Sanctuary? Or just Home 🙂

  28. Maureen says:

    Congratulations on the new series. I hope they use your picture.
    Some words I would think of are:
    Warmth
    Spirit
    Trust
    Home
    Comfort
    Joy
    glow
    hugs
    kisses

  29. loisgreiman says:

    Thanks so much Mary Louise. Your support means a lot to me.

  30. Cindy Gerard says:

    Lois – very big congratulations for landing with your new publisher! I’m so excited for you and they are soooo lucky to have you! and wow, it looks like our wonderful bloggers are coming through big time with title ideas!

  31. Jane says:

    Lois, congratulations… that huge! What a great Christmas present huh

  32. PJ Hansen says:

    Congrats!

    Arcadia, Elysium, Shangri-la, Utopia, Zion, Bliss, Dreamland, Harmony, Haven, Life everlasting, Life to come, Nirvana, Paradise, Promised land, Rapture, Wonderland.

  33. Anne W says:

    Congratulations on both the new publisher and ALL the great sounding new books you’ve written. I’ll definitely be looking forward to reading them. HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!

    SAFE HAVEN
    SHELTER’S GATE
    HOPE’S SANCTUARY

  34. infinitieh says:

    Congrats on your new series!

    Most of what came to my mind has been mentioned already.

  35. Emmi says:

    Lois, I’m really excited for you! Let me know when it’s ready. Has anyone entered “Dakota Heart”? What ever title you choose, I’ll read it!

  36. Theri Grevelis says:

    Great! Congrats on the new series. When bad things happen it makes us grow, good job on the growing part and the having fun part that is what it is all about. Can’t wait to read them.

  37. loisgreiman says:

    I know, right!
    Great ideas, everyone. Please keep ’em coming. Maybe my publisher will think I’m brilliant. 🙂

  38. AlisonP says:

    Congrats on the new series…what about something with refuge, harbor, secure I’m not very good at this kind of thing. Good luck!

  39. Shelley says:

    We put our house on the market at the end of August and sold in 8days! I’m not complaining, but we hadn’t even looked for us yet. We thought the sale would take a while. We decided to build. We’ve been living in a one bedroom apartment now for almost 3 months ( husband, me, oh and our 17 year old son)
    We just found out not closing tomorrow as planned. Next week sometime. Didn’t put up tree or decorate because we thought we would do that in new house. So I’m really longing ir my own home, with my own stuff!

  40. heather k says:

    Second Chance SAnctuary. Good luck on the new series, I cannot wait to read it.

  41. kris says:

    congrats on the new series! looking forward to it. I have no skills in the creativity department and so many commenters before me have already supplied worthy selections. 🙂

  42. CateS says:

    Congrats…. How about Homestead Haven…

  43. Sue says:

    Congratulations on the new series. I’m looking forward to catching up with Chrissy when Uncorked comes out in January. I plan to buy it as soon as it is released.

    You have lots of good suggestions for series titles. Hope there’s something your publisher likes among the entries.

  44. tresa says:

    congrats and here’s to a “keep the good coming” new year !!

  45. chey says:

    Congrats on the new series!
    How about “A Safe Place”?

  46. Quilt Lady says:

    Congrats on your new series, not good with titles but here goes.
    Heartfelt Ranch
    Misfits Home
    Coming Home
    Broken Down Ranch
    Havens Sanctuary
    A Place called home

  47. loisgreiman says:

    Can’t wait to get Uncorked wrapped up so I can continue with the cowgirls. Almost done. Thanks everyone for the support. Chrissy’s almost ready for her next adventure.

    • Mary Louise says:

      Great news!! Can’t wait to read it. Amazon has a book entitled Unfortunate listed under your name. Is that a Chrissie adventure or something else? M.L.

  48. Congratulations, Lois. What great news about the new series. I’m awful at titles (ask my critique partners), but the picture makes me think something with “wind” or “blowing” might be good —
    Follow the Wind Home? Just a thought.

  49. Stacy Taylor says:

    I just stumbled across this blog (love it!), but I had a small thought:
    The Heart’s Way Home
    Redemption’s’ Hearth

    Anyway, good luck and congratulations!

    Happy Holidays to you and yours:)

  50. Big big BIG congratulations, my friend! Your ranch series is just the kind of story I love to write and always look for to read, so I can’t wait to get my hands on yours. The Western is back!

  51. loisgreiman says:

    Nancy, I wouldn’t have thought the word ‘wind’ would work, but I’m liking it. A Strong Wind Home??? Thanks.

  52. Alicia Condon says:

    Wow, what a lot of fabulous title ideas! As Lois’s excited new editor I’m grateful for all the suggestions — I’ve jotted them down in my brainstorming notebook. Some of my personal favorites are THE ROAD HOME, HOME AT LAST and LAST CHANCE RANCH. Can’t wait to see more of the story.

  53. loisgreiman says:

    Thanks Alicia. I can’t wait to work more with you. I haven’t checked into whether Last Chance Ranch has been used much, but it’s got a nice ring to it, doesn’t it?

  54. loisgreiman says:

    Mary Louise, Unfortunate is a Chrissy short story. It was shortly after I had a root canal, so I took it out on her dentist. 😉

  55. Stephanie A. says:

    I can’t tell you how excited I am to hear we have a new Chrissy coming our way. The UN series is in my top 3 favorites, and I have shared that series so much the I need to repleace them all again. I knew something was up when we didn’t hear from you recently, so I’m glad you found a new home to share your stories with. Looking forward to Chrissy and the new series! Had to call my mom so we could both do the happy dance for you. Merry Christmas, all!

  56. loisgreiman says:

    Cannot possibly tell you how much I love you Stephanie!!

  57. Sherrie says:

    What a lovely photo! The horse riding against the wind makes me think of unbridled freedom:
    “The Last Mile Home”
    “Almost Home”
    “Born Free”
    “Running Free”
    “Race to the Finish”
    “Born to Run”
    “Born to Win”
    “The Finish Line”

  58. loisgreiman says:

    The Last Mile Home. Ahhhh. Thanks Sherrie.

  59. Ana Torres says:

    Congradulation! Awesome.. I will be checking out some of theses books. Be a great xmas gift to me if I was to win. Ana

    anaitorres87@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

