Merry Christmas–my fave chocolate cake recipe

Merry Christmas!  I hope you are having a wonderful holiday season. 

You know how people give you those little loaves of banana or zucchini bread for Christmas?  Well, that’s a little too nutritious for me. lol

So I take my fave-from-scratch chocolate cake recipe, put it in those little loaf pans and gift them.  If you bake this in smaller pans, you must adjust the time. (BTW, my husband requests this cake every year for his birthday.<g>)

Chocolate Applesauce Cake

Preheat oven to 350.

1/2 cup butter softened

1 1/2 cup sugar

Cream the above.

Add 2 eggs.

Add 2 teaspoons vanilla.

Add 2 cups unsweetened applesauce.

Mix well.

Combine the following:

Just under 2 cups flour

2 Tablespoons Cocoa Powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Add dry ingredients to moist and mix 2 minutes.

Pour into greased and floured 9×13 pan.

Sprinkle with:

3 Tablespoons sugar

1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Bake for 35 minutes.

Enjoy!  Do you have a fave chocolate recipe?

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in chocolate applesauce cake recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Merry Christmas–my fave chocolate cake recipe

  1. loisgreiman says:

    Sounds so great, Leanne. I want some for breakfast please.

  2. Cindy Gerard says:

    Umm, Sounds yummy, Leanne. I’m not a huge baker because it seems like I always enjoy what I bake a little too much but I do have a chocolate candy recipe that I love that uses soda crackers as a base for Heath Bars
    56 saltine crackers
    1 c. butter
    1 c. brown sugar
    1/4 tsp. baking soda
    12 oz. Hershey’s milk chocolate bits
    1 c. chopped nuts

    Line a large cookie sheet with foil; spray with Pam. Lay saltine crackers to cover cookie sheet. Melt butter over medium heat; add brown sugar. Bring to boil; boil for 1 minute only.

    Remove from heat and add baking soda. Pour mixture over crackers and spread with a spatula so all crackers are covered. Bake for no longer than 10 minutes at 375 degrees. Remove from oven and sprinkle with chocolate bits. As they melt, spread to cover crackers. Sprinkle with chopped nuts while still warm. Let cool overnight or until set.

    Trust me on this – they are delicious. you just break them up in cracker sized pieces and enjoy.
    Thanks for sharing your cake! I’m going to try it.

  3. Leanne Banks says:

    Cindy, that sounds delish! I will make those as a celebration when I finish this book!:)

  4. Jocelyn says:

    This sounds yummy! Leanne, do you use all-purpose flour or cake flour? I want to give this a try this holiday season.

  5. Alex says:

    Leanne, your recipe sounds delicious. I will definitely try to make it once I’m done with all my Christmas cookies orders! For pictures of the cookies, please check out my facebook pics!

  6. My stomach growled just reading the recipe! YUMMMMM

  7. Looks ymmy! I’ll bet the applesauce makes it moist. Must try. My favorite choclate cake recipe is Mama’s Sour Cream Cake. She made it in a bundt pan (very popular back in the day) and it’s so moist and chocolatey. I’ll go loo for the recipe.

  8. Kylie Brant says:

    I’ll bet people love to see you coming bearing goodies! My favorite chocolate recipe is chocolate caramel brownies. Addictive!

    • Leanne Banks says:

      I usually bring some kind of chocolate thing to a potluck.:) Your chocolate caramel brownies sounds YUMMY!:) xo, Leanne

  9. Pingback: Chocolate Cake Roll « Beautiful Disasters

Leave a Reply

