Debra Webb to face Black Friday – NOT!!! She’s giving away a book instead!

debra

Black Friday

As my family and I sat back, stuffed and feeling lazy, after Thanksgiving dinner, the conversation turned to Black Friday. I’m not sure how long the day after Thanksgiving has been used as the launching pad for holiday shopping and I don’t have a clue how the term Black Friday was chosen. I only know that I ventured out on that day once and once was enough. The crowds were insane. Parking was a nightmare. I’m sorry but there is absolutely nothing in any store that I would risk life and limb to get at any price. My daughters, on the other hand, see it as a challenge. In fact, they sat around the coffee table during dessert and plotted their battle strategy. All I can say is, “Drive safe and play fair.”

Obsession

Last month I released the debut, OBSESSION, in my new Faces of Evil series. It is currently in the top 100 Thrillers in Amazon’s Kindle store (it’s also in the top 100 of Romance). The reviews and responses from readers have been awesome! I am just so happy. This series is very close to my heart and the wonderful reception from readers has made me cry (tears of joy!) more than once. Book two, IMPULSE is almost ready! I will be working Black Friday on the final polish. I had hoped to release the book this week but life got in the way. Unexpected calls (work and personal), my birthday, Thanksgiving preparations, yada yada yada. The book was written but it needed just a little more polish, a little more attention. So, for me, this weekend has been set aside to focus totally on making sure IMPULSE shines.

As a writer, each story deserves my very best. The quickest and surest way to screw up a good story is to have your focus divided. Distraction is lethal. The characters will suffer the most. That simply is not acceptable and I realized that I needed a little more time to ensure I got it right. I loved writing OBSESSION and I adore the characters. I simply could not let down Jess and Dan and all the others by rushing to release the book just because I had marked a date on the calendar. I scratched out that date and wrote in another. No big deal. (Okay, so I whined a little bit and felt like a big failure). In the end, I made the right decision. Take your time, do it right.

Impulse

IMPULSE will be released to Amazon and Barnes & Noble next week. I’m shooting for Wednesday, November 30th. As my own special Black Friday sale, anyone who buys a copy of OBSESSION (still .99) this weekend and sends me their order confirmation number and their preference, kindle or nook, (email me at debraewebb@aol.com) will receive a copy of IMPULSE, a $2.99 value, the day before it goes on sale!

Happy Thanksgiving weekend!

DEBRA WEBB, born in Alabama, wrote her first story at age nine and her first romance at thirteen. It wasn’t until she spent three years working for the military behind the Iron Curtain—and a five-year stint with NASA—that she realized her true calling. A collision course between suspense and romance was set. Since then she has penned nearly 100 novels. The Faces of Evil is her debut thriller series. Visit Debra at www.debrawebb.com.

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Debra Webb to face Black Friday – NOT!!! She’s giving away a book instead!

  1. Sonya says:

    I don’t have the faintest idea about anything to do with Thanksgiving (being from the other end of the world!), but I’m off to Amazon to do some shopping! So happy I can actually buy them – there’s so little available for non-American Kindle-owners to purchase!

  2. Deb Webb says:

    Good morning, Sonya! Have fun shopping on Amazon!

  3. michelehauf says:

    Good luck with the books, Debra! The covers are AWESOME.
    I am not a Black Friday shopper. Although…I do have plans to wander into Nordstrom’s Rack today, but only in the afternoon after the rush has settled a bit. I like to pick through the aftermath. 😉 And I do have a coupon!

  4. Terry Odell says:

    You’ve got the right idea. That’s what I’m doing as well…giving away a book. No way would you get me near a store today.

    Terry
    Terry’s Place

  5. Quilt Lady says:

    Hi Debra I have not read any of this series but it sounds really good. I also want fight the crouds on black Friday, just want go out at all. Looks like I am going to have to make a trip to the doctor today because I am sick, which mean I will probably have to go to Wal mart to get prescriptions filled and I am not looking forward to that. I guess you gotta do what you gotta do.

  6. Laurie G says:

    Loved your COLBY series!

  7. I love a bargain but my kids are old enough now that I’ve convinced them the after Christmas sales are the BEST:) Congrats on the new releases!

  8. Kylie Brant says:

    Congrats on the books, Deb 🙂 I am not a Black Friday shopper, since it combines my two least favorite things in the world…shopping and crowds. Blech. Internet shopping is my friend!

  9. Kathleen O says:

    We don’t really have Black Friday shopping hear in Canada, Althought some of the retailers have started this sale frenzie here now.. But like you Debra there is nothing I want that badly that I would line up the night before to get. NOw if the boostore was having a Black Friday sale, that just might change my attitude. There is nothing I would;t do for a good booksale….Well almost anything, i refuse to loose any limbs or the like for a book… But thank goodness for e-book readers and on-line shopping …A great way to shop….No injuries incured with these method..

  10. LindaC says:

    I can’t wait to read this book and your first one in the series. I love books set in the present day deep South. Santa is bringing me a Nook for Christmas and your books will definitely be one of my first buys.

    LindaC

Leave a Reply

