The Learning Curve

I’m entering the 21st century kicking and screaming! I don’t like technology. It makes my hands sweat and my brain go wuzzy. I like things I can touch and smell and maybe fondle a little. Okay, that sounds creepy, but you get my drift. Virtual reality isn’t reality at all to me, which is why I’m kind of late with the whole e-book explosion. But I can learn…really I can. And to prove that heretofore unsubstantiated statement, I’d like to present: Beloved Beast.

It’s the first story I’ve put online myself…a little historical adventure that was published in the Mammoth Book of Scottish Romance. I retained the rights to it and haven’t done anything with it so I used it as my learning tool. And holy cow…is there a lot to learn. I formatted and edited and edited again. Then my dearling daughter made me this lovely cover…and we’re off to Smashwords at 99 cents a copy. Yikes.

I’m also planning things for my novel length projects that have reverted back to me, which means that I was searching hither and yon on the internet for various reasons. And here’s the funny thing-honest to God, I didn’t recognize some of my own titles. In fact, when I read a synopsis Amazon had put up I could have sworn it wasn’t even my plot. At which time it was no longer a mystery why I’m having difficulties with the e-book stuff; I’m obviously becoming senile. Or is this simply God’s way of saying, “WOMAN (I think he speaks in caps) THOUGH HAST WRITTEN TOO MANY DAMNED BOOKS (and sometimes he swears–who knew). I’m not sure what it means, but God help me, I can’t seem to stop. I keep sitting down in front of the computer and pounding out weird fiction: A post apocalyptic society featuring a heroine with an armored elephant, an oddly twisted Cinderella tale…I could go on for hours. But I won’t. Suffice it to say writers write. And even though the market seems to be changing with the speed of light, the core of storytelling remains the same; we sit, we think, we make up lies. Though it’s anybody’s guess how these lies might be marketed in the future.

So how about you? Are you a writing who can’t stop writing? Or a reader who can’t stop reading? And what do you feel is currently the best way to reach the fiction-hungry public?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Learning Curve

  1. Kylie Brant says:

    I can’t believe your first Chrissie book has reverted already! Guess I’m used to Harlequin’s hold-’em-forever policies. Good for you for starting the ebook thing rolling. I am still re-editing the first of the five that reverted to me. Had hoped to have them all up by Christmas but that is looking unlikely. You’ve inspired me, though…I will now get cracking at it!

  2. lois greiman says:

    Thanks, Kylie, but actually, no Bantam still holds the Chrissy books…and honestly I’m glad they do…they’re doing pretty well with them as e books. I’ve just written the 7th myself. Yikes. And am putting up my old historicals about 10 which have reverted back to me. And no…the Harlequins I wrote back in the last millenium I still don’t own.

  3. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    Well I am in the relm of readers who can’t stop reading… And really if there is a cure for this I don’t want to hear about it… No 12 STep program.
    . I am grateful that there are so many ways for me to find out what my fav authors are writing and when these books are due to it the shelves in print and in the cyber world. I am getting my first e-reader…I know I may be one of the last hold outs, But there are so many good stories out there that can only be purchsed as an e-book, So when I won a e-reader recently, I was thrilled that I would be able to start on an a new journey of reading…

  4. lois greiman says:

    Good for you, Kathleen. But I think there are a lot of people who haven’t switched over yet and maybe never will.

  5. Cindy Gerard says:

    Yea, you, Lois! So glad you’re on board and getting those fantastic novels of yours back into circulation!! His Bodyguard was one of my favorite of your books. Honestly. I loved it and I’m stunned that H/S gave you back the rights. Good for you!!
    Much luck with UNSCREWED. Chrissie is one of my all time favorite heroines too!

  6. Leanne Banks says:

    HUGE CONGRATS LOIS! Good for you taking some control of your publishing situation! I hope it’s just the beginning of a profitable experience!!!:) GO YOU!!!:) xo, Leanne

    • Mary Louise says:

      So that’s where you’ve been! Congrats on getting the rights back and more power to you. I’m a dinosaur in that I like having a book in my hands but the new Kindle is calling my name…… Even though I just might make the jump to ebooks I can’t resist a actually brick and mortar book store. You know, one you actually walk into. Anyway, I can’t wait to read anything you write — perhaps even more Chrissie. I miss her wisdom and find myself reaching for Unzipped when I need that affirmation that get’s me throught the day. It usually involves food, but I digress. Anyway, Lois It’s been WAY too long. Welcome back!!

  7. lois greiman says:

    I see that I’ve mislead people. Not all those titles are back in my name. They’re just up there cuz it was so fun to see the old covers before some of them become new again. 🙂

  8. lois greiman says:

    Mary Louise, thanks for the kind words. I’m planning to put the next Chrissy book, Uncorked, in print too. So that might be ready in December or January.

    And believe me you’re not a dinosaur. There are lots of us out here who love the feel of a book in our hands.

  9. Christie Ridgway says:

    Love this: “we sit, we think, we make up lies.” 🙂

    Storytelling does remain the same, even though the vehicles and the roads they take may change.And I continue to be a voracious reader and a happy writer of those lies.

  10. lois greiman says:

    Mary Louise, thanks for the smile.

  11. DebraDixon says:

    Lois– You have the best daughter ever! Congrats on the brave new world. And you had us going thinking you’d done some really fancy reversion work.

  12. lois greiman says:

    🙂 I do have a pretty nifty daughter. She’s working on covers for a bunch of my backlist and really enjoying the work. I’m sure it’s not because most of the pics are of shirtless guys with abs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

