For your listening pleasure…

I know I’ve mentioned this band before as one of my favs, but today I’m going to sell you on their diversity and range, and maybe you’ll check them out.  If you’re a writer, they’ve got great ‘background’ songs with no lyrics, that range from classical to hard-core heavy metal.  As well, evocative stuff that’ll put you in the right mood for your stories.  If you’re a listener, I think they have something for everyone, from easy, to pop, to rock, to extreme shredding.

APOCALYPTICA is a Finnish band of three cellists and one drummer who were all classically trained.  They started by putting out covers of Metallica songs and other heavy metal groups. They’ve graduated to performing their own compositions, ranging from purely classical, to moody, to hard-grinding heavy metal. They’ve composed music for video games, musicals, and other assorted stuff. All songs are entirely cello and drums, no electric guitar, nothing else. Just amazing to listen and hear the sounds they can emulate with their cellos.

To get you started, here’s a nice piece called BEAUTIFUL. I saw them play at First Avenue last fall and it was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.  In the middle of their concerts, after major headbanging, they pull out some chairs and quiet things down a bit.  If this song doesn’t win you over, nothing will.

Now something rock n’ roll-y, featuring guest singer Gavin Rossdale.  The imagery is gorgeous.

And now something a little harder to show their range.

And because I am fascinated by what the cello can emulate, here is a video of Perttu challenging an electric guitar player, or vice versa.

Let me know what you think! Would you listen to this band if you use music as background when writing?  Or how about cranking them up when cruising down the highway?

Michele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to For your listening pleasure…

  1. kris says:

    That is pretty amazing! I love the cello. There’s a song by OneRepublic called Secrets that features the cello. Love that song!

  2. cindygerard says:

    They truly are amazing Michele. As with most music, if I really want to get into it, I need a block of time so I can just sit and listen and analyze. I hope to take that time with this group soon.

  3. Terri Osburn says:

    The Gavin Rossdale one sold me. I have to look these guys up. If you like the cello, you’ll love 2Cellos. They have some interesting covers and do incredible things with those instruments. They cover groups like U2, Guns-n-Roses, and even Michael Jackson. All instrumental.

  4. michelehauf says:

    Kris, I picked up that Secrets song specifically for the cello opening. 😉

    Cindy, I suggest picking their most recent, Seventh Symphony, or even sitting on YouTube watching some of their videos.
    Terri, hadn’t heard of 2Cellos, but am going to check out now!

  5. Leanne Banks says:

    Michele, I really enjoyed the Gavin Rossdale one. What a talented group and their range is amazing! Thanks for sharing!:)

  6. Jody says:

    Love these guys! I would definitely listen to there music for working out, writing or while in the car. Of course, the different styles of music would be played for the different activies of choice. The classical more for romance, heavy for rage scenes and the all of the above for workout and car. I loved the last clip where they faced off. Amazing what the cello can do! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Kylie Brant says:

    Thanks for the tip, Michele! I don’t listen to music when I’m writing because I’m so distracted by the lyrics. But this would be great to help enhance the mood of the story!

  8. debradixon says:

    Ha! I loved seeing the cello duel. I didn’t realize it could do that.

    II listen to instrumental music quite a bit. Especially accoustic guitar. And I love those weather CD’s where there is rain pattering through the music.

  9. Sonya says:

    So, so late with my comment, but I’m glad to see Apocalyptica getting some mention in the US! I spend quite a bit of time in Finland and saw them perform at Eurovision in 2007. I love them so much.
    Great country, great people, and some of the best music you’ll ever find.

  10. bkrahn007 says:

    Wow, Michelle– you’re my new music guru! I LOVE listening to music while writing– it causes all kinds of connections to be made in the brain. Can’t wait to add them to my collection of writing music!

    Grazie, mi bella!

Leave a Reply

