Back by Popular demand – the one, the only Kristan Higgins!

2011khsmall (160x200)

Hello, and thanks to Cindy Gerard for once again letting me have a stint at driving the convertible here at Ridin’! I always feel like one of the cool girls when I come here. Cindy, I will never burn those pictures of you and the stripper. Honestly, they’re worth their weight in gold! (Note from Cindy: Kristan’s sweet but she embellishes sometimes.  Yes, she lies.  Just sayin’)

I’m very excited to tell you about my new book, UNTIL THERE WAS YOU.

UTWY2

Smokin’ hot bad boy. Oh, yeah. He’s that good. He knows it, we know it, the world knows it. Posey, our heroine, knows it better than just about anyone…she watched him for years back in high school, and now that he’s back—a widower, the father of a teenage girl—she’s watching him again, this time as he tries to protect his angel-baby from boys who remind him too much of himself.

maleperfection

Hypocrisy. Liam calls it the essence of parenthood. And as a parent, I’d have to agree. I live to keep my kids from making the same mistakes I did. Falling for the wrong person, for example, just off the top of my head. In fact, I’ve already arranged my son’s marriage and am working on my daughter’s. I mean, I was engaged to McIrish, my sainted husband, six weeks after we went on our first date! If my kids do that to me, I plan to clutch my heart and fall to the floor (or lock them in the basement for ten or twelve years).

My poor mother almost spit blood when I told her that the cute boy and I were getting married. Her comment: “Which one?” She’s still waiting for us to break up, even though our 20th anniversary is just around the corner. And here’s the thing. She went shopping for her wedding dress the day after she met my father. See? Hypocrisy. Every parent whips it out when needed.

Here’s a little scene from UNTIL THERE WAS YOU when poor Liam is trying to ensure his daughter’s safety vis-à-vis a certain boy…

“Is the cute boy going to the party?” Liam asked, bracing for the answer.

Nicole shrugged, but her cheeks turned pink. “He was invited.”

“And does he have a name?”

“Tanner. Tanner Talcott.”

What a stupid name. A pretty-boy name, a boy-band name, the name of a boy who knew how to get a girl to do things that would give her father cardiac arrest. “Tanner Talcott. Well, listen, sweetheart. Boys only want one thing, of course, and guess that means for you? Heartbreak. Pregnancy. Chlamydia, herpes, syphilis, crabs.”

“That’s beautiful, Dad. You should set it to music.”

“I was a teenage boy once,” he said. “One thing. Sex.”

“Again. So gross.”

Poor Liam! Will he enlist our heroine’s help in spying on his daughter? Yep. Does he need more to think about other than his angel baby? Yep. Was it fun to write about a hero who’s a neurotic father/Hottie McSin, Widower? Oh, my goodness, it was!

I hope you’ll give UNTIL THERE WAS YOU a try. And if you’ve ever experienced parental hypocrisy, either on the giving or receiving end, leave a comment, and I’ll pick one of you to get a signed copy of the book.

Thanks so much to the gang for for having me today!

Kristan

www.kristanhiggins.com

www.Facebook.com/KristanHigginsBooks

To buy UNTIL THERE WAS YOU from Amazon, click here

To buy from Barnes & Noble, click here

To by from a local, indie bookstore, click here

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Back by Popular demand – the one, the only Kristan Higgins!

  1. Sue B says:

    The oldest and dearest hypocrisy – “do as I say, not as I do”. I yell – it’s what I do, my kids yell – they get in trouble for yelling. As soon as you become a parent, it begins…and hopefully never ends. Love your books and love sharing them with others!!

  2. Jamie says:

    This makes me very glad I have boys. 🙂 I’m so sad I haven’t had time to read Until There Was You yet. I think it’s going to be my Christmas present to myself.

  3. kris says:

    I absolutely loved Until There Was You. Most excellent story! The part of your blog that made me nod my head in unison is when you said your mom is still waiting for you and McIrish to break up. I moved in with my husband after 3 months of dating. We lived together for 3 years before getting married…almost 21 years ago now. I think it was about 3 years ago when my mother finally admitted that my husband is a “good guy”. That goodness I finally have her stamp of approval! 🙂

  4. Linda Morgan says:

    I love your stories, Kristan, and I think you need to share the stripper picture and embellish more! I just finished UNTIL THERE WAS YOU and enjoyed it so much. My copy is enroute to another of your faithful readers. I’m reading THE NEXT BEST THING now, and I’m enjoying the fact that you’re relatively new to me so I have more to read. My dad said the same things as Liam, and I
    think it’s a common attitude because our father’s were young and had testosterone-driven fantasies and don’t want their little girls to be “taken advantage” in the youthful horny hormone stage. I think God gives us mothers to help keep daughters out of the convents dads would place us in.

    Thanks for all the light, fun, happy hours with your books!

  5. Catherine says:

    I really have to read this book. What fun from that snippet.

    We all want something better for our kids – it’s only natural. An hour of TV/computer time for them, when I blow that before lunch; healthy, enriching foods for them, when I sneak sugary snacks when I think I have a shot at not being noticed (yeah, right). The list goes on. It’s probably just easier to manage other people’s lives than to do the same for our own.

  6. Leanne Banks says:

    lol THIS IS FABULOUS! Welcome to the vert! Congrats on another winner!:) Do we really have to confess our hypocrisy?:O

  7. monica m says:

    Hi Kristin and Cindy,

    I love both of your books. I haven’t read Kristin’s latest, but it is on my books to buy list.

  8. TrishJ says:

    I remember my mom telling me when I was feeling bad to just go to sleep and I would feel better in the morning ….. But I wanted to feel better NOW.

  9. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    Kristan your books just keep getting better and better. I am reading it right now.. Hottie McSin… I just love that name for Liam… I am at the part of the “first date”.. But I must tell you the part about the cooking/singles night, well let’s just say I was LOL at some of what went on..I can’t wait to find out what happens with each turn of the page. Keep’em coming, I am always eager for your books to hit the stands..
    Thanks for alwasy keeping it real and entertaining…

  10. The interactions and relationship between Liam and his daughter are some of my favorite scenes in this book. So funny and touching.
    Really enjoyed the book.

  11. michelehauf says:

    Ah, high school crushes…. 🙂
    Story sounds awesome! Welcome, Kristan!

  12. Welcome, Kristan!
    I can identify with that falling for the wrong person syndrome. Just celebrated 41 years in the marriage that couldn’t last. I love a good bad boy!

  13. Thank you, guys! It’s lovely to be here! Lately, my own hypocrisy has been directed toward Dearest Son.
    Me: Did you sneak candy from the pantry?
    Him: Um…uh, no? I mean, yes.
    Me (gasping in horror): You can only have that for dessert, and only if I say so.
    Him: I’m sorry.

    Then I wait for him to leave so I can eat all the Kit-Kats.

  14. Kylie Brant says:

    Welcome back, Kristan! I for one totally believe the story about Cindy and the stripper 🙂 I’ve seen that woman in action

    Dad’s and daughter dating advice–too funny! My two oldest sons have new daughters and I sent them a pic on Facebook for T-shirts that read: “DADD–Dad’s Against Daughter’s Dating: Shoot the first one and the word will spread!” My sons said that sounded about right.

  15. heather k says:

    Hi Kristan! I have enjoyed your previous books and look forward to your new release. Thanks for the giveaway. heather K

  16. Hi Kristan! Oh my goodness, the poor daughter. Yes, I hope Liam enlists Miss Heroine’s help…if not with spying at least with some female tact when talking about boys and the bees! I love it when parents dish out stuff to kids because their parents did it to them. My mom used to tell me all the time “If you’re thirsty, swallow your spit.” Apparently I used to wait until we were in the car to start begging for something to drink. Recently we were talking about that and she said “Well, your grandmother used to tell me that all the time.” I was like, “But mom, you grew up in Washington State–where moisture coats the air. I grew up in Las Vegas.” Oh my gosh, this is way too long of a responset! Sorry! I really just wanted to say you had me at “Too Good To Be True” and I can’t wait to read “Until There Was You.” 🙂

  17. Na says:

    I have read almost all of your books and can’t wait for this one. I love the idea of a bad boy turned father. Plus, for anyone who hasn’t ever had a crush in high school, it’s nice to imagine the crush becoming the one. Congratulations on your latest release…and making the NYT list! Woot!

  18. lois greiman says:

    Kristan, great post. I read it out loud it was so fun. Thanks for joining us again.

  19. Cathy P says:

    Hi Kristan! I love your books. Until There Was You sounds like another winner. I am afraid that Posey and Liam’s daughter have their work cut out for them. Loved the excerpt!

  20. Thanks for the love, gang! I have to say, Liam is maybe my favorite of all my heroes. It was so much to write the male POV (a first for me!), especially for a neurotic father of a 15 year old girl. The fact that I am married to a neurotic father of a 15 year old girl…coincidence, I’m sure.

    Must get one of those t-shirts, Kylie!

  21. Cindy Gerard says:

    okay – between Kylie and Kristan, I think I’m being ganged up on. Whatever happened to :What happens at RWA conference STAYS at RWA conference???”

    In the meantime, I’m sticking to my story. There were no photos. and Kristan lies :o)

  22. Tasha Clanton says:

    The book sounds great! Unfortunately I have noticed that I scold my kids for things I used to do as a child. Then there’s things like “No you can’t eat that, it’s too close to dinner” and then I sneak a bite of whatever I’m cooking. Can’t wait to read the book!

  23. cheryl c. says:

    It’s perfectly understandable that we want our kids to avoid the mistakes we made and the ones we didn’t make. I remember very clearly how stupid I was, so I want my kids to be smarter. They won’t though. :/

    BTW, your new book sounds like another winner for you!!!

  24. Quilt Lady says:

    I am so glad I had a boy, no girls just one boy. I can’t wait to read your new book. I looked for it today at Walmart but as usuallly their shelves were kind of empty, its always that way in that store, since we don’t have a book store it just seems to me it would be in there best interest to stock more book.

  25. Carlene Love Flores, congratulations! You’re the winner of a copy of UNTIL THERE WAS YOU! Send me your snail mail addy at k.higgins@snet.net.

    Thanks to everyone who left a comment, and thanks so much to my darling Cindy for having me here at her fabulous group blog!

Leave a Reply

