Pantyhose Poll

Yes, it’s another P word.  Panty hose.  A few years ago, NYC and European designers declared nude panty hose totally passe.  Nude panty hose became demonized the same way the potato was banned from our diet.  phose3I was a fashion sheep and went along with it, wearing bare legs regardless of the season.  Truth be told, I was glad to ditch the hot things in the summer.  In winter, however, it got a bit chilly.  I was informed that black tights were fine, but black tights don’t go with everything.  Some dresses just look better with the “look” of bare legs. 

Now that my legs bear freckles, age spots and tiny incision scars from squamous cell cancer, and it’s winter, I’m re-thinking panty hose.  Partly just for warmth!  Ever noticed how over-dressed men are compared to women?  Men dress in layers.  Pants, socks, closed-toe shoes, undershirt, long-sleeve dress shirt, tie and jacket.  No wonder my husband wants to turn down the heat in the car.  For a party or formal occasion, women wear a sleeveless dress, underwear, bra and shoes (no hose if she’s being fashionable). 

I remember when I first started wearing panty hose.  I felt so grown-up!  Anyone recall those cute L’eggs.  leggsThey were packaged in egg-like containers.Smile  I also liked No-nonsense panty hose.  Tried Givenchy when I got older and could afford them. 

Someone else who’s giving a boost to panty hose? kate-middleton-8-440 Kate Middleton.  Yes, she wears them!

I’m a big fan of tights in the winter, but I’m starting to think that bare legs in winter are just stupid.  Just as panty hose in hideous, hot summer are stupid.

What do you think?  Panty hose in winter?  Yes or no?  Panty hose in summer?  Yes or no?

xo,

Leanne

A MAVERICK FOR CHRISTMAS  Harlequin Special Edition  Available Now!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Pantyhose Poll

  1. This may be hard to believe but I remember in junior high (is that called Middle School now?) wearing a purple paisley print girdle and stockings. And I remember when pantyhose first came on the market. What a lifesaver! Then we (i.e. women) were told we didn’t need pantyhose to look professional, so we stopped. And now, thanks to Princess Kate, we are supposed to be wearing them again. argh!!!

    I guess I’m getting old and cranky but please don’t make me struggle to pull up pantyhose again. Just love me with my nekked, white legs. 🙂
    But I do agree pantyhose keep your legs warmer.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      haha Cynthia! I’ve tried the self-tanner on my legs in the summer and it just really brings out the freckles!lol I like the way panty hose smooths things over underneath a garment, but sometimes I wonder if a sausage casing might be more effective! Ack! Thanks for sharing your story. Cute.:)

  2. Kylie Brant says:

    Frankly, I’ve always wanted to hunt down the guy who invented panty hose and beat an apology from him 🙂 Something tells me he won’t be that tough No panty hose May through Oct. But then, yeah black or navy hose when possible. I’ll still do nude (didn’t even know they were passe!) But truth be told I don’t bare my legs much in the winter anyway so it’s probably moot.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Kylie, I think you could take Mr. Panty hose! No problem!lol I really have been a big tights and boot lover the last several years, but sometimes a cocktail dress just doesn’t look right with tights and boots.:) Let me know if you ever find Mr. Panty hose.

  3. MJ says:

    I can’t bear to wear close-toed shoes without hose. I bought those little footie things but they don’t stay on my ginormous feet. So…I bought SPANX pantihose and wore them Friday. Ugh. Hate hate hate wearing pantihose, but they are a necessary evil.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      MJ, I’m familiar with SPANX. I have a few of their garments. I also think of them as a necessary evil. Haven’t tried the SPANX panty hose. Are they worse or better than regular SPANX? Hate having to fight to get the blasted things on!

      • MJ says:

        I’ve never worn regular SPANX, but the hose were no different from the Leggs of Hanes body shaping hose. MISERABLE, lol!

  4. DeniseB says:

    Not a huge fan of pantihose, but yet I don’t wear that many dresses so I don’t wear them a whole lot. Wear mostly pants when I need to dress up. But yet, it’s hard to find pantihose too. My mom, who is still a pantihose wearer, had a hard time finding them lately, especially the knee high ones. I found some one day when I was out shopping and bought them for her. But they do help keep the legs warmer in winter (I live in Minnesota). In summer, they definitely get warm! Of course, I do like to cover my bright white legs!

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Denise, you’re a good daughter. It sounds like you’ve found the true solution. Skip the dresses. I love wearing skirts and dresses with boots in winter, so I usually go with tights and boots.:) I have two dressy occasions coming up, however, that may require panty hose. I’ve decided to wear them proudly.:)

  5. loisgreiman says:

    I like pantyhose. My apologizes to the world at large and women in particular. :/ But I can’t go bare-legged without freeeeeezing about 9 months out of the year, they hose just mask all the negatives.

  6. PatriciaW says:

    Absolutely not. Loved it in winter when I lived in NY, not in summer. But down here in central FL, no one, absolutely no one, wears pantyhose. (I wonder what the stores do with all those packages they have on the shelves.) And I like it this way!

  7. Cindy Gerard says:

    Fun post Leanne. I, for one, feel empowered and free now that it’s vogue to NOT wear panty hose. Especially in the summer. And I love this talk about girdles vs spanks. A thorn by any other name? Still a thorn LOL

  8. michelehauf says:

    Those eggs bring back such weird memories. 😉 I like no hose in summer, and generally I do not go out unless completely layered in the winter. But I had an Event to attend just the other day with my daughter and she said it required a short cocktail dress with black nylons. So I had to go shopping. Haven’t bought those in years. I settled on the ‘gentle support’ thinking they’d nicely hug me, but wouldn’t be a trail to put on.
    Oy. That was like pulling up a girdle! Gentle? I had to peel those suckers off.
    But still. I think I worked it. 😉

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Michele, I bet you rocked it. Bet you also rocked it when peeled off those so-called gentle support nylons. Can you imagine what super support must feel like! Ack!

  9. Christina C. says:

    This whole topic reminds me of my wedding. My cousin who is very fashion conscious insisted on wearing white hose (August wedding) because that was the style, when the others were wearing nude. She also singled herself out so that she looked like she was the maid-of-honor since that was the only difference. Now its no hose!

    I agree with no hose in the summer, but I love opaque black tights in the winter. I would NEVER wear bare legs in the winter, in fact I wear think leggings under long skirts if I wear a skirt/dress at all. It gets very cold here in northern Ohio!

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Christina, I think your story provides an important lesson — don’t be a slave to fashion! So funny about the white hose because when was the last time you saw them on an adult? Little girls, yes, but no adults. Thanks for chiming in!:)

  10. Jessie M. says:

    After spending three years in a Catholic high school and required to sport stockings of some sort if I wanted to wear a dress, skirt, or *grimace* even shorts, I swore off pantyhose of any kind. In my early twenties I would have gladly frozen to death not to wear the bothersome, always drooping, snagging, ridiculously confining wardrobe choice. In my early thirties now, I do confess to throwing on a pair of tights from time to time. With the addition of knee-high boots, however, I am more inclined to wear a tall pair of socks (carefully concealed so as not to ruin a formal outfit with rainbow stripes or pink skulls and crossbones *wink*) to keep my toes warm.

    I think the good thing about fashion, however, is a person’s right to be individual. How else do “fads” begin, if not for that rebel who dares to wear a nude stocking? I say if you want to rock them, then by all means, rock the heck out of them! Be fearles in the pursuit of keeping warm, and let the rest of us freeze to death. In survival of the fittest, who will be left standing? ;o)

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Jessie, you made me laugh with your skull and cross bones formalwear!lol I’ve been known to ADD knee socks on top of tights inside boots if it’s super cold outside. No one can see the knee socks. They’re just my invisible warming secret. If I decided to wear those nude stockings, I’ll take your advice and “rock the heck out of them”. Thanks for sharing.:)

  11. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    I always where pantyhose or tights in winter, especially of course when wearing a dress or skirt.. I am not a slave to fashion. I wear what’s warm and comfortable. You want to freeze just to be fashionable, you go right ahead. This gal is going to be warm and smart…
    Hail to Kate for doing her own thing too… “She’s got Legs and she know how to use them”.. Did I get the Leggs commercial on the money.. lol

  12. OK. I am so out of it I didn’t even know pantyhose were ever considered passé! I simply stopped wearing them on a regular basis when I became an author, because nobody cares what I look like as long as I turn in a book at least somewhere near deadline. HOWEVER, I always rely on pantyhose when I have to wear a dress or skirt and it’s cool enough that I won’t be cooking myself in the damn things. This happens rarely. But I have to give a talk at a library fundraiser Friday night, and yesterday I did a dry run with a pair of black control-tops, just to be sure I remembered how to pull them up. I wore them for a total of thirty seconds before I ripped those suckers off. I think I’ll wear pants Friday.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Susan, I know what you’re saying. It’s so traumatic to switch out of my yoga pants, knee socks and sweat shirt to dress for a speaking appearance! More than that, it’s traumatic to get into those control-top panty hose —– and then to get out of them. More than once, I remember snagging stocking with a fingernail just as I was putting them on. THAT can put you in a bad mood! Thanks for popping in and good luck with the library fund raiser!:)

  13. I’m with MJ on needing some sort of sock/hose with close-toed shoes. When I wear a dress with full shoes, pantyhose it is. So you have to wiggle a bit putting them on. It’s good exercise. Nude hose improve the look of the vast majority of real women’s legs.

    I remember being surprised the first time a man–my dear husband of some few years at the time and many more now–said he didn’t like the way pantyhose flattened my butt. I had to find a 3-way mirror so I could check myself out. And I thought, what’s wrong with flat? Hey, it’s not fat. If it ain’t one thing, it’s something else.

    The only reason I don’t like wearing pantyhose is they get in the way of my flip-flops.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Kathleen, so putting on panty hose is now considered exercise? Okay? I’ll remember that!lol I’m with you on the fact that nude hose improves the appearance of most women’s legs. I hate to report this, but if you want a butt enhancer, they have foundation garments for that too. lol on the flip-flops. I’m not even tempted when it’s flip-flop time!:)

  14. Jim says:

    I am a guy and I absolutely believe that in any formal, business setting women should wear hose. It’s classy, professional, and elegant. I get a good laugh that hose is “too hot” in ther summer, try wearing a full suit and tie and call me, men aren’t granted a temperature break.

    Now you all can laugh that I was challenged by a female friend to wear pantyhose on a long term basis so I can go through the cost, care, discomfort, runs, etc. I am on twitter as stuckinhose should you want to hear more about it. Most women who dislike hose seem to love my situation. I will admit using the bathroom at work has been a horror.

  15. CindyDandy says:

    Oh, yes. I remember L’eggs. I used to hope my color (taupe) was in a pretty colored egg. I saved some of them and would use them for Easter treats in the kids’ baskets. Now I’m into medium compression granny-hose for my veins. So, I live in capris, pants or maxi-skirts — I’m sure those went out of style years ago, too! Obviously I’m not a slave to fashion; if it’s comfy, it’s in my wardrobe. 🙂

  16. Valerie says:

    Panty hose are awful! They make my legs itch, I get the chills just thinking about putting them on! And when you buy a pair that is too short in the panty part and won’t pull up to your waist, that’s so uncomfortable. Frankly, there is nothing, absolutely nothing I like about pantyhose! I tried the Spanx hose, it was definitely exercise getting them on. Only upside there was how good it felt to take them OFF !

    • Karen says:

      I WILL NOT WEAR ANY KIND…..every since I was a young girl I detest the feel of knee socks, pantyhose, stockings, etc……the last time I had them on was for about an hour for my wedding ceremony! Took them off for the reception and haven’t had them on since…that was in 1986!!!

  17. Leanne Banks says:

    Haha, I know what you’re saying about how good it feels to take them OFF! Valerie, I hope you live in a warm climate so you don’t have to wear panty hose!

  18. C.J. Miller says:

    I don’t care for pantyhose in summer or winter and skip them when I can. But I’ve wondered if they are a must for business engagements – I’ve heard ‘yes’ and ‘no’. Admittedly, they do provide some warmth in the winter months when the occasion calls for a dress!

  19. Cate says:

    I was thrilled when I finally got a job where I didn’t have to wear those d’mded pantyhose everyday. The money saved was great! But having read the previous comments, I have a couple of questions. 1] How many calories does one burn using Spanx hose? 2] Does anyone still have any crafting projects left from using the L’eggs containers….

  20. Jennifer bell says:

    I like it when my man cums on my pantyhosed legs or if i give him a footjob

Leave a Reply

