Taking Vanity to an Extreme?

The things we do for the sake of vanity.  Okay, Leanne.  Here it is. Finally.  My post on facial exercises.

Ever notice how women with nice big apple cheeks seem to look younger? And by contrast how a saggy, chicken neck can make the youngest woman look ten years her senior?  Well, think about it.  Doesn’t it make sense that if you tone the muscles of your face, those very muscles will help to hold up sagging skin?

Years ago, a friend convinced me to take a class on facial exercises through community education here in my hometown. How she convinced me, I don’t remember because I’m not normally the type of person to get all tied up over appearances.  But, I’ll tell you, I’m glad I went.  The program was called Saving Face and was taught by a woman who looked at least 10 years younger than her age.  I’ve practiced a couple of those exercises off and on over the years and I think it’s made a difference. I mean, come on, how wrong could Cary Grant have been, right?

Serious, though, I still do 2 different facial exercises on a fairly regular basis.  And I will now attempt to describe them, since I could find no decent on-line site that showcased examples.  Lift your lower lip and bottom teeth up and over your upper lip.  Tip back your head and smile upward, with your cheeks dipping up toward your eyes.  Hold for a count of 6. Release for a count of three and repeat ten times.

The second on starts the same way.  Lower lip up and over your upper lip, tip your head back and now smile as wide as you can toward your ears.  Hold for a count of 6. Release for a count of three and repeat ten times.

There.  Now you know what I know, Leanne, baby!

Can you believe I’ve been fooling all of you all these years, and I’m actually 74?

Hehehe.  Yeah, right.

But wait!  Now there’s FACE YOGA, too!  Yippee, skippee!  Here’s a Youtube video to demonstrate and if you watch it without laughing, you’re a better chick than me!

I dare you to try a few of these and report back.  Easy? Hard?  Can you feel the muscles in your face working or is it all a bunch of hooey?

And in case you missed all the buss here and elsewhere … SEAL of My Dreams celebrates its release day tomorrow, Friday 11-11-11, Veteran’s Day, and I was so fortunate to be invited to be a part of this amazing project.  My first ever short story, GOING DARK, is included.  So join the fun, buy the book and give to the Veterans Research Corporation!

Helen

About Helen Brenna

Helen Brenna is the RITA award winning author of romances for Harlequin's Superromance line. Three more books in her popular Mirabelle Island series will be release in July, August and September of 2011. For more information, check out her website at www.helenbrenna.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Taking Vanity to an Extreme?

  1. Leanne Banks says:

    Oh, goody! Now we can all look like Helen! (hysterical laughing here!) Have you seen how gorgeous this woman is in person? Well, I’m going to start exercising right away. My face. Probably nothing but my face, but I’ll give it a try. That said, I think Helen is just a natural beauty with vampire-like youth genes. THANKS HELEN!:) xo, Leanne

  2. michelehauf says:

    Hmm, I think it’s too late for me. But well, I’ll give anything a try. Thanks, Helen!

  3. christieridgway says:

    Okay, I’m trying. But I don’t get the dif between smiling wide toward my ears or up toward my eyes. Perhaps my face is not coordinated! However, Helen looks so great that I’m going to work on it. Because of all the time I’m spending lying around with the broken leg, you wouldn’t believe what kind of self-improvement gadgets I’ve considered after watching infomercials! This is considerably cheaper!

  4. Cindy Gerard says:

    I’d comment but I’m too busy exercising :o)

    Fun and yes, I’m going to do it!

  5. loisgreiman says:

    The long awaited exercises. Thanks Helen. One would think I would actually do these, right? I mean, they can be done while writing.

  6. Leanne Banks says:

    Great idea Lois! I’m not sure I can hold these for a count of 6 unless it’s a very fast 6!:) xo, Leanne

  7. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    OMG this is too funny… thanks for sharing…

  8. debradixon says:

    Those a suprisingly hard! LOL! But I can tell how they probably work. It’s like pilates for your neck and weight trainiing for your cheeks. I can still feel them. I’ll start trying to do them because like everyone else, I want to look like Helen.

  9. I like this! Is there any chance my face could get stuck?

  10. kylie brant says:

    Many years ago I bought a little handheld device off an informercial that works much the same way. You plug it in and it has three little electrodes on the tip. A video shows you where to place it on the face to stimulate different muscles. You have to use it several times a week for weeks but then after that you only need to do it once every week or two. It really did work…have been thinking I need to dig it out now that I really need it!

Leave a Reply

