There’s No “I” in Team

EDITED TO ADD: I heard from the book buyer at B&N who is a great supporter of our project (thank you, Jules!). Mea culpa for not including it originally. Here’s the B&N link:

It’s the “official” release week for our SEAL anthology! You can order the print version right now http://www.amazon.com/SEAL-My-Dreams-Cindy-Gerard/dp/1611940516/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1320620898&sr=1-1 or you can pre-order the e-edition: http://www.amazon.com/SEAL-of-My-Dreams-ebook/dp/B005VQVF9S/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2&qid=1320620898&sr=1-1 which will release on 11-11-11.

And yes, this was a team effort! Several of our Riders are involved and what seemed daunting at first (an idea I threw out in a tweet!) turned into a project to be proud of and which took many people to make happen. You can read our whole story at http://www.sealofmydreams.com–and I have to admit that I might be just a little more excited because I loooove the title, and I came up with it!  All the proceeds from the book go to funding veterans’ medical research. Our charity is dedicated to helping servicemen and servicewomen of all branches of the military. So if you want to read eighteen great romance stories starring Navy SEALs (and feel extra good about it!) please rush out and get your copy. Not to mention our foreword…Robyn Carr will make you tear up, I promise!

On the theme of team (hey, I’m a poet), I want to inspire you to turn to the people on your “team” today and tell them thank you. I’m particularly aware of all those who helped SEAL of My Dreams become a reality, but also the home team here at chez Ridgway. As you may or may not know, I broke my leg and had to have surgery. I can’t put any weight on it for 2 more months (yay, a month has passed!) and I need help with almost everything. So thanks to Surfer Guy who comes home every day and fixes me lunch (as well as bringing me breakfast and dinner), my kids who fill water bottles and make me laugh, my girlfriends who have stopped by with magazines and treats, my extended family and long distance friends who commiserate from far away, and my dog and cat who would just like things to get back to normal, please!

Who is part of your team and why? Give them a shout out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to There’s No “I” in Team

  1. kris says:

    so looking forward to this book. an amazing cause and a slew of awesome authors! hope the next couple of months go by fast for you!!

  2. loisgreiman says:

    Gorgeous cover, Christie. That alone is worth the price. 🙂
    And yes, I agree, we all need a team. I very much appreciate everyone at Top Down. And my agent is right up there toward the top of my team list. So thanks, N.

  3. EllenToo says:

    What a great idea this book was. When I first read about it I knew I had to have it !!! I ordered it from Amazon immediately and it was really worth it. Came in three days which is amazing. I thought it was a wonderful idea and the stories are fantastic and heart warming. All of you did a fantastic job.

  4. christieridgway says:

    Thanks, Kris!

    Lois; Oh yes, agents & editor part of my team too. They were so supportive when I told them about the broken leg.

    EllenToo: You have it in your hot little hands? Yay! Thank you for contributing to such a worthy cause.

  5. leannebanks says:

    Christie, CONGRATS ON THE SEALS!:) And I’m still so sorry about your injury. I’m glad your “team” is pulling together for you!:) xo, Leanne

  6. Cindy Gerard says:

    Christie – thanks so much for inviting me to be a part of SEAL of My Dreams! It truly was a labor of love and would never have happened if not for you.
    And I’m fortunate to have many team members … I feel blessed … whether it comes to my writing, my family or just for fun. Thanks for making me realize how fortunate I am!

  7. christieridgway says:

    Cindy: The SEAL project got wind beneath its wings when you told Bell Bridge Books about it and consequently they became our publisher! Thank you.

    Thanks, Leanne, for the good wishes. I’m hanging in there.

  8. What a fantastic cause, and an amazing group of authors contributing to this anthology. This will make for a very special read. Can’t wait!

  9. kylie brant says:

    I feel honored to have been part of the project. Christie you had a fabulous idea and made it become a reality…YAY you!

    My team is probably my family. My dh gets a big shout out because he’s such a good guy to have around 🙂 and very helpful. Although I could do with a little *less* laundry help

  10. christieridgway says:

    Yay, Carey, hope you enjoy!

    Kyle: I hear a laundry disaster story in your comment. Shrinkage…all the whites now the wrong color? Surfer Guy has been doing the laundry (I’ve been folding). I’m trying to be zen about possible disasters.

  11. MaryC says:

    Christie, hope the remaining months to recovery speed by.

    Once I stopped staring at the cover, I finally read and loved all the stories in SEAL OF MY DREAMS. Encouraging friends to purchase the book. Thank you!

  12. christieridgway says:

    Yay, MaryC! And just found out that SEAL of My Dreams cracked the top 20 on Amazon Kindle…and that’s just with pre-orders!

  13. Stephenia says:

    Love the concept, love the cover, love those SEALS!

  14. christieridgway says:

    Thanks, Stephenia! Just talking with Surfer Guy (my dh) and saying that it’s the effort of not only the SEAL, but all who love him, that we honor.

  15. Cindy Gerard says:

    Well said, Christie!
    Was just in my local grocery store – New publication from TIME, Special Ops, The hidden world of America’s toughest warriors. Of COURSE I had to buy it … and low and behold, there on page 18 is our SEAL!!! Same photo – only larger – an iconic photograph of an American hero getting set for a heroic mission.

  16. Cindy Gerard says:

    PS and Yowser: Just checked Amazon and SEAL of My Dreams is #118 on the over all Kindle list!! SWEET~~~ Thanks, all of you for supporting this book

Leave a Reply

