Cindy’s CD review – Pistol Annies HELL ON HEELS

I don’t buy a lot of CD’s. Don’t have an IPOD. I mostly listen to radio on line. But occasionally an artist resonates with me and I’ll fork over for his or her album. I like to buy the entire album. Sometimes I find those cuts that didn’t make it as a single release are every bit as appealing as those that did. This is the case with the Pistol Annie’s CD.

Who are the Pistol Annies? Well, I didn’t know. But I did know that Miranda Lambert (one of my favorite country artists) is a part of the group and the title cut “Hell On Heels” struck all the right chords the first time I listened to it.

thumbnail.aspx

Check out the video performance here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOKtbJfNLFk

I was intrigued enough that I wanted to know who else was in the group with Miranda so I checked it out. Their names are Ashley Monroe and Angaleena Presley and let me tell you these three women are forces to be reckoned with. Even if you aren’t a huge country music fan, I think you’ll appreciate the messages on the cuts on this CD. They’re gritty, brutally honest, funny, quirky and poignant all at the same time.

These women have written some amazing lyrics – all of them filled with attitude. And musically, their voices blend like Bailey’s Irish cream and hot chocolate. It’s just plain yummy. A little bluesy, a little rock, a lot of traditional country sounds (not the cross-over country/pop that mostly fills the airways these days) and very reminiscent of one of my all time favorites, TRIO, featuring Dolly Parton, Emmy Lou Harris and Linda Ronstadt. Yes, I’m dating myself a bit but that CD is classic!

Hell on Heels is authentic and refreshing and I love every cut on the CD. I mean, really – what’s not to love about these lyrics – sort of a Thelma and Louise anthem of the new millennium.

“I’m hell on heels, Say what you will, I just made the devil a deal.

He made me pretty, he made me smart …Now I’m gonna break me a million hearts.

I’m hell on heels … and baby I’m coming for you.”

Ballsy, no? LOL  Ballsy enough, apparently, that the group has been nominated for New Artist of the Year at the 2011 American Country Awards.  

How about you? Have you heard these women? If so, what do you think? Or do you have a fav group or artist that’s a must buy for you?

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Cindy’s CD review – Pistol Annies HELL ON HEELS

  1. TrishJ says:

    Oooo, love the Pistol Annies (and I actuallyhave a copy of the Trio CD — loved them too). Something about the blend of 3 great strong female voices together.

  2. Cindy, I’m a classic Rock girl, but I married into Country, and I get so many story ideas from Country music. It’s replete with story and characters. Garth Brooks was my go-to Country guy for characters for a while. I love the Dixie Chicks. I’m setting aside some time today to check out these Pistol Annies. What a gret name for a group! Thanks for the link.

  3. michelehauf says:

    So not a country girl here, but with your rec, I’m going to give it a listen. Love great girl groups!

  4. Helen Brenna says:

    Never heard of them, Cindy, but I love the title of their CD and plan on giving a listen right now …

  5. Christie Ridgway says:

    They’re cool! I think I caught something about them on the CMT channel. I love ballsy girl songs. Kelly Clarkson and Pink often have good ones. Love Carrie Underwood’s “Before He Cheats.” Don’t know why, but that song always puts me in a good mood!

  6. leannebanks says:

    Cindy, I really enjoy Miranda Lambert and I’ve been curious about this CD. You’ve made me curious. I will have to look into it. I recently read an interview with Miranda Lambert talking about both her individual CD and her work with Pistol Annies. It all sounds cool to me!;)

  7. Debra Dixon says:

    Cindy– This is an awesome. I don’t get to listen to music much and I tend to be a country listener when I do (so I can butcher the songs by singing along). I really like Miranda Lambert. Hadn’t heard of the other two. But this song has a vintage country vibe while also being current. I really like it.

  8. catslady says:

    I was very sad when Garth Brooks stopped singing. My newest favorite singer is Adele. She is having major voice problems at the moment and I sure hope she comes back well soon.

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      I loved Garth too. But I LOVE Blake Sheldon – Miranda’s hubby. He’s so cute and funny and I love his songs. I heard about Adele. sounds serious. Hope it all turns out well.

  9. MaryC says:

    I caught the Pistol Annies performing on a show a while back. Glad to hear the CD is finally out. Became a fan of Miranda’s since she appeared on the Nashville Star show . Love Adele!

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Me too, Mary. I’ve been following her ever since. She has a very unique quality to her voice and her song writing. I got to see her in concert last year. Love that she’s not a glamor girl – although she’s very beautiful

  10. Pingback: Hell On Heels- Pistol Annies (+lyrics)

Leave a Reply

