I always liked November: Ever heard of these “holidays”?

turkeycupcakesI always liked November.  The great thing about November is our weather isn’t all that bad yet and we have the delicious sense of anticipation for Thanksgiving, Hanukah and Christmas!  In my opinion, one of the best parts of the holidays is the anticipation.

I read recently, however, that there many other “soft”holidays and celebrations in addition to Veterans Day and Thanksgiving during this month.  So, if you’re looking for a reason to a celebrate, I’ll give you a few.

November is:  Aviation History Month, Child Safety Protection Month, International Drum Month, National Adoption Awareness Month, National Epilepsy Month, National Model Railroad Month, National Novel Writing Month, Native American Heritage Month, Peanut Butter Lovers Month, Real Jewelry Month, National Sleep Comfort Month.

I have a friend who adopted a child from Russia, so I’ll have to give her a high-five this month.  My daddy worked for the railroad, so I’ll smile up at him.  He’s up in heaven.nwcar  This is National Novel Writing Month and with my impending deadline, trust me, I’ll be doing a lot of writing.  I often eat peanut butter toast for breakfast, so I won’t have any problem checking that one off my list.  Must work on the “Real Jewelry” celebration.  That could be fun.  And oh, wow, sleep comfort.  IF ONLY!!!!  I want a Tempur-Pedic mattress… like yesterday!Smile

Believe it or not, there are soft holidays every day of the month.  Here are few to get you through:  November 2 – Deviled Eggs Day, November 5 – Very important day for all of us – Book Lovers Day,  November 7 – Bittersweet Chocolate With Almonds Day,  November 9 – Chaos Never Dies Day,  November 13 – You can celebrate two holidays!  Sadie Hawkins Day and World Kindness Day, November 15 – Clean Your Refrigerator Day (gotta get ready for Thanksgiving!),  November 17 – Great American Smokeout,  November 19 – Have A Bad Day Day (I think most of us already have that one covered, don’t we?),  November 25 – Buy Nothing Day,  November 30 –  Stay At Home Because You Are Well Day.

There are others such as National Cashew Day, Square Dance Day and Absurdity Day, but I think I’ve given you a good start.

Which “holidays” would you like to celebrate this month?  Oh, and I guess I should mention that my book, A MAVERICK FOR CHRISTMAS, is available now!Smilemaverickforchristmas

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I always liked November: Ever heard of these “holidays”?

  1. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    Count me in on Nov 7- Bittersweet Chocolate with Almonds Day…..And it goes with out saying The BookLovers Day!!!!

  2. leannebanks says:

    Kathleen, yum! I’ll celebrate both of those days with you girl!:) xo, Leanne

  3. Cindy Gerard says:

    Wow! I’ve got a lot of holiday cards to buy this month, it seems LOL I’ll go for sleep day. OMG could I use a good night’s sleep.
    fun post, Leanne!!

  4. readergirl10 says:

    I wish they had a national chocolate day or Don’t do anything but read romance books day I could really get behind those:)

  5. leannebanks says:

    readergirl, they actually do have National Chocoate Day… I think more than one! The UK has National chocolate WEEK! I like your second idea though. Wouldn’t that be wonderful? Thanks.:) xo, Leanne

  6. loisgreiman says:

    How do you think you get those holidays on the calendar. Could we have a ridingwiththetopdown day?

  7. michelehauf says:

    I am also drawn to the bittersweet chocolate with almonds day. Congrats on the Xmas book! Love that cover. And yes, we need a RidingWithTheTopDown day!

    • leannebanks says:

      I had a feeling you might lean toward the dark chocolate day.:) Thanks for the congrats on the book!;) xo, Leanne

  8. Kylie Brant says:

    I think I’ll stick with celebrating my birthday and Thanksgiving this month. For some reason, November always seems to fly by.

  9. catslady says:

    I see Nov. 29th wasn’t taken so I will add that that’s my birthday lol. And the best thing we ever did was get a Tempur-pedic – I love my bed!

  10. MaryC says:

    National Adoption Month in honor of my niece and nephew.
    Native American Heritage Month – important to keep the cultures alive.

    Happy Birthday in advance to Kylie and catslady!

  11. Charlene says:

    National Chocolate Day should be every day!

  12. Take a look at this great info-graphic celebrating Real Jewelry Month. It has some great facts about diamonds that I’m sure your readers would be interested in: http://thediamondlining.com/the-amazing-diamond/

    Feel free to post it on your website!

Leave a Reply

