It’s Halloween Party Time!

Wow, the title of this post reminded me of all the Happy Hour posts I did way back when we first started this blog.  Maybe it’s time to resurrect those on occasion!

Anyway … I’m dressing up and going to a Halloween party tonight.  Honestly, I haven’t dressed up in a costume since I was a teenager, and that was a looooong time ago. So I went to a Halloween store last week and was disappointed to see that most costumes for women are more about being sexy than having fun.  (Or am I just jealous that, as we’ve already established, I’m too old for mini-skirts and plunging necklines?)

I found myself looking at those skimpy outfits and wondering how women were supposed to stay warm.  Is that a mother for you, or what?  Clearly, costume designers don’t live in Minnesota where most Halloween nights dip down into the 30s and we’ve even had a blizzard or two. So I bought the first costume that looked warm and fit me.

Here’s a picture of it on the left.  It’s called Midnight Bride. When I told a friend that I’d bought black lipstick and nail polish, she said I’ll look more like a bride of death.  All I know is that I’m wearing long underwear and I’ll be warm!

Since buying the costume, I’ve to think it might been fun to have gotten a bit more creative and made something up.  A look alike thing.  I remember one Halloween a couple years ago, dressing up like Sarah Palin was popular.  Last year, I saw a group of women dressed like the Village People.  Lady Gaga might’ve been fun!

What about you?  I’d love to hear some ideas.  Are you dressing up for Halloween?  Have you heard of any creative ideas this year for kids or adults?  What’s the most creative Halloween costume you’ve ever seen?

And just in case you missed it, please check out Anna Campbell’s lovely reviews of my last three Mirabelle Island books at The Romance Dish!

Happy Halloween weekend, folks!

Helen

About Helen Brenna

Helen Brenna is the RITA award winning author of romances for Harlequin's Superromance line. Three more books in her popular Mirabelle Island series will be release in July, August and September of 2011. For more information, check out her website at www.helenbrenna.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to It’s Halloween Party Time!

  1. michelehauf says:

    I am so not a Halloween person. And the thing that made me laugh at your post? I have a dress just like that in my closet, but it’s not a costume. 😉 Analyze that one any way you want.

    Yes, why do the women get the sexy short costumes and men get the heroes with weapons costumes? Something wrong there. And if we get snow next week, no one will see them anyway because they’ll all be under warm coats.

  2. Helen Brenna says:

    What?!?! I so would’ve guessed you were into Halloween, Michele, but it doesn’t surprise me that you have a dress like this. It is pretty, and other than the Velcro closure in back, you wouldn’t know it was a costume!

    Exactly! I want the cool pirate costume and sword!

  3. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    Halloween was never my fav time of the year. Oh I liked trick or treating when i was a kid, and of course mom came up with most of the costumes…One year I remember, she was working for a cosmetic complany Bonne Bell Cosmetics. it was the time of “jumpsuits”…And they had these ones made up in the colours of the comapany, red, white and blue and they were stripped. My mom got a pair for me and my bff at the time and we went out as twins… It was fun. As it was a cold night, they were baggie enough on us, that we could wear our coats under neath the costumes. We get cold October nights up here in Ontario too…
    My fav time now is to see all the little trick or treaters come to the door.. they are all so cute…

    Happy Halloween!!!!

    • Helen Brenna says:

      I love seeing all the little kids coming to the door, Kathleen! So, so cute!

      My fav costume as a kid was when I dressed up as Pippi Longstocking – wires in my braids and all!

  4. I haven’t dressed up for Halloween in years. I think the last time was when I was teaching jr. high. I dressed up as a pregnant witch. The pregnancy was real, and the witch part was….well, in the eye of the beholder, I guess. One of the girls called me Witchy-poo.

  5. Quilt Lady says:

    I haven’t dressed for Halloween since I was a kid and no one around here dresses up any more but I do hand out treats and things, I really enjoy the little ones.

  6. Helen Brenna says:

    The little ones are what it’s all about, aren’t they? I loved Halloween as a kid and loved getting my kids dressed up. So many great memories!

  7. leannebanks says:

    I’m pretty much a Halloween Scrooge EXCEPT I LOVE to see the really little kids. They are so cute. I’m glad you’re going to a party. Have fun for all of us, and with the costume you chose, you could wear Cuddlduds underneath! Party on!;)

  8. Helen Brenna says:

    Okey, dokey, Leanne! I’ll party for you tonight! 🙂

  9. Keri Ford says:

    I’m going to try to pull together a pirate costume to match my kid. on one had that’s scary that I think i have clothes in my closet to make that. on the other–pretty cool!

  10. Cindy Gerard says:

    Love the costume, Helen. Been a long time since I’ve dressed up but it was always fun. These days it’s about the grandkids … how boring does that make me??? :O)

  11. Kylie Brant says:

    We used to go out as a group every Halloween. One year about 15 of us went as Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. We had extra dwarves–Tacky, Gaudy and Tasteless were some of them, as I recall 🙂 Someone even went as the mirror and another as the apple. It was fun! One year (prior to political corrections ) dh and I went as Stevie Wonder and Tina Turner. Ahem. We actually won the best costume 🙂 This year I’m so excited that we’re dressing up–as Betty and Barney Rubble. Already wondering how I’ll stay warm in that sleeveless dress!

  12. Kylie Brant says:

    Argh–I meant political correctness!

  13. readergirl10 says:

    I don’t dress up for Halloween anymore but I stay home watch episodes of “True Blood eat chocolate and drink soda:) Gail

  14. Helen Brenna says:

    Gail, that sounds like a wonderful alternative! Enjoy!

  15. kris says:

    i’m heading off to london later for work, so i’ll miss halloween altogether. i didn’t even buy any candy this year, as my peeps will be out collecting. here’s hoping they save me a milky way.

  16. Kristina Mathews says:

    Best costume was when I dressed my husband as my son’s bedroom floor. A grey sweatsuit with hot wheels tracks, Lego’s and a few stray socks and candy wrappers attached.

    I make my kids costumes every year (except 2001 when my son dressed as a firefighter like every other kid in America). I will only buy fabric and accessories (usually from the dollar store). One of the winners at my younger son’s school carnival was the girl who dressed as a birthday pressent. She wore a gift bag with tissue paper sticking out. Too cute.

Leave a Reply

