Sway With Me

We’ve chatted about the various ways we get our ideas for stories.  I’m a very visual person.  I can get a story idea from a great picture.  I think a lot of us can, whether it’s a picture of a face, scenery, or even a lone tree with a deflated red balloon hanging from a branch.

I have an audible muse as well.  Sometimes, a song will nestle into my brain and it will either define an entire story, or a character, or even just a scene.  That’s what happened with Monsters Don’t Do Christmas, my novella in the just released, A VAMPIRE FOR CHRISTMAS anthology.  It’s not even a Christmas song, though certainly I did have to mention my fav Xmas song in the story, A Little Drummer Boy.

This song is a classic, redone by Michael Buble—Sway. I wasn’t even familiar with Buble’s work until I heard it on the radio while skidding through a freak snow storm last April on highway 94 in ND (that dreaded stretch of highway mentioned earlier this week in the comments).  I heard the song and immediately saw my hero dancing with the heroine in her bedroom, a slow sway of two bodies getting to know one another, learning one another.  Swaying into trust and connection and even danger (you gotta have danger when your hero is a vampire).  The lyrics ask to ‘sway with me’, and that can be interpreted in so many ways.  😉

So here it is, the song that inspired a scene from this story.  Every time I hear it now, I see Daniel and Olivia swaying together.

The cover above is from the UK version, and I love it so much better than the US—though the US is nothing to sneeze at.  For more info and buy links, stop by my website.

Here’s my question: Is it interesting to you when an author posts a ‘playlist’ for their book? Do you ever listen to music while reading?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sway With Me

  1. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    Well there is that expression ” A picture tells a thousand words”. Music does that for me too… Love Micheal’s version of Sway…

    • michelehauf says:

      I do love this version, but I think Dean Martin did it best. Maybe? Yes, music definitely has that ‘thousand words’ factor.

      • I’m with you on the Dean Martin version. He had a unique voice–unmistakable. This one is good, but the arrangement isn’t any different, and you don’t get that Deano thing–that smooth bass (?) with a bit of a warble.

  2. loisgreiman says:

    I like absolute silence to read and write in. But visuals. Visuals are important. Congrats on your new vamp, M.

  3. Cindy Gerard says:

    I’m one of those rare authors who use neither visual or audio aids to get my muse going. I find both distracting. Go figure. But I do LOVE this Buble version. Wow! And I LOVE the book cover Michele. Smokin’ hot!

  4. michelehauf says:

    Cindy, I can’t have noise when I’m writing; gotta be totally silent. But no pics? Do you ever even see a pic in a magazine and wonder what that guy’s life might be like? 😉

    • Cindy Gerard says:

      Sometimes, yes, but I also find that if I get over involved with what he looks like, I focus on that instead of getting inside his head. I’m easily swayed by a pretty face ;o)

  5. readergirl10 says:

    I love quiet when I read it helps me treat the book I am reading like a movie I am watching in my head. Gail

    • michelehauf says:

      Yes, a movie in your head! That’s always the way I’ve looked at books. But then, I do cast the characters I’m reading about. 😉

  6. When I’m writing I like background music with absolutely no lyrics. When I’m reading I generally prefer silence, but I can read a good book anywhere. Everything else fades and I’m in another world.

  7. Joyce Lamb says:

    Thought you might be interested in seeing this, Michele: http://books.usatoday.com/happyeverafter/post/2011-10-27/love-this-post-at-riding-with-the-top-down/558665/1
    I saw your post and wanted to share with HEA readers!
    Joyce

    • michelehauf says:

      Thanks for posting that, Joyce! I commented about the enhance ebooks with sound. Would be an interesting concept if they can actually make it work.

  8. catslady says:

    I do most of my reading at night when everyone is asleep. I don’t mind background music but usually nothing with words or at least nothing that I like too much or I start singing along lol.

    • michelehauf says:

      I’m a night reader, too, Catslady! And I could never listen to music when I’m reading, but to know that a certain song inspired a specific scene in a book is interesting to me, and the few times I’ve seen an author list her soundtrack for the book, I often check out the tunes and find that ‘yes, this is perfect!’

  9. kylie brant says:

    Love Michael Buble! No, a playllst doesn’t help me. I can’t listen to music as I write or read because I get distracted listening to the lyrics. Which is odd, because when I began writing it was in the midst of chaos, with a pack of kids in the next room at all times. Their noise didn’t distract me; music does. Weird.

    • Michele says:

      That is weird because kids’ noise is the one that totally takes me out of the story when I’m writing. If there’s even anyone in the house, I just can’t concentrate.

  10. Barbara Elness says:

    I think it’s interesting to read author’s playlists. It kind of gives me a feel for the mood of the book. I listen to music occasionally when I read, but not all the time. Sometimes I just want to get lost in the book and block out everything else anyway, so I don’t need music.

  11. Stephenia says:

    Nah, I don’t do playlists and I don’t listen to music while reading. I sometimes like to know if there was a particular picture, actor/actress or news event that inspired characters/plot lines in books. Love that book cover – very holiday looking and a delicious looking hero!

Leave a Reply

