Debra – Define “Agreeable.”

A personality test (that I took for fun…ha!) just told me that I am not agreeable.  Really?  Seriously?  For the last six months I’ve been trying to determine how I keep saying, “yes” when I should be saying “no.”  Yes gets me in trouble.  I say “yes” to other people.  Too often.  So, how on earth could some personality test rate me as “not agreeable?”

It’s all in how you define “agreeable.”  Their definition has to do with the ability of an individual to find fault or engage in critical analysis.  Apparently, I find it “easy” to criticize.  (Just ask my contractor.)  Is seeing a problem and pointing it out mean that I’m “not agreeable?”  Does having a job in publishing that has as its daily stock and trade elements of criticism mean that I’m “not agreeable?”

I don’t think so, but by their definition an agreeable person finds it difficult to find fault.

Do I enjoy finding fault?  No.  Am I willing to express fault?  Yes.  But if you’re buying dinner, boy howdy, am I just happy to be included.  I’m not criticizing the restaurant or your wine choice.  If I don’t know you and we’re thrown together, I’m not going to tell you the brown socks and lime green sandals were a bad choice of fashion.

I might notice the brown socks and the lime green sandals, but that doesn’t make me a disagreeable person.  Observant, maybe, but not disagreeable.

All I can say is that I totally disagree with my personality analysis.  Oh wait…doesn’t that prove their point?  I’m not agreeable.

http://www.outofservice.com/bigfive/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Debra – Define “Agreeable.”

  1. kylie brant says:

    I agree, that doesn’t make you disagreeable, Deb. Any person who is analytical by nature will come out on that quiz as disagreeable. Noticing that someone is acting like a moron does not make one disagreeable. Nor does gently pointing it out. Now slamming them upside the head for their behavior…yeah that’s disagreeable. Sheesh. Anyone knows that 🙂

  2. Cindy Gerard says:

    Deb – you’re the most agreeable person I know :o) After all, you volunteered – without ANY prompting and offered up BelleBooks as the print and e-publisher for the Seal Of My Dreams anthology, forgoing ALL profits. If that’s not agreeable, I don’t know what is. You’re also a hero in my book!

  3. michelehauf says:

    Ha! I took the quiz. I guess I didn’t need a quiz to tell me I’m an introvert. Heh. I fell exactly middle for the disagreeable/agreeable part. I guess that means I’m a flip-flopper.

    I think Deb is very agreeable. Nice pic too!

  4. loisgreiman says:

    Turns out I’m open minded, agreeable, and not particularly neurotic. ??
    If the findings of that test weren’t already suspect that last conclusion surely makes it so.
    Annnnd…I find you EXTREMELY agreeable, Deb.

  5. debradixon says:

    Kylie– Yes! Smacking someone upside the head is disagreeable. I do not do that. Ergo…not disagreeable. Thank you! (g)

  6. debradixon says:

    Cindy– We are jazzed to be involved with SEAL! And it’s now available for pre-order on Amazon Kindle! Awesome.

  7. debradixon says:

    Michele– Thanks for noticing the pic. It’s the new publicity still. Deborah Smith made me break down at RWA and get new pics. See? I was agreeable and did it.

  8. debradixon says:

    Lois– I would absolutely say you are open-minded. And I don’t think you are neurotic. Neurotic people don’t get things done. You do. You plan and plunge and things get done.

  9. kylie brant says:

    I took the test and inched over into the disagreeable side, as well. Boo. I think the author of the quiz totally bombed on the term disagreeable. Because God knows agreeing to do stuff that isn’t my job is what gets me in trouble all the time! If I’m disagreeable because hey I’m going to notice that you’re wearing your underwear over your pants, hey sue me. I prefer to call it sharp-eyed 🙂

  10. Just look at that friendly face. So approachable. Not at all disagreeable. Deb, you’re in a position that requires high expectations. You set big goals, you’re well-organized, you have high standards, and you do so many different things extremely well. All that, and you play well with others. I have a feeling the test didn’t know what to do with you.

    I came out 74 on agreeable. Can’t wait to tell Clyde that I’m more agreeable than the average bear. I wonder how all the questions about where you live and what you do affect the test, if at all. For a long time I thought of myself as a teacher who also writes, even after I stopped teaching. No I think of myself as a writer who also teaches. Critiquing is part of the teaching, and I think I know how to do that constructively, but I am nothing if not honest. I know that I’ve mellowed–not nearly as judgmental back in the days when I knew it all. Wonder how much age has to do with it.

    Lois, you’re not nearly as neurotic as you think you are.

    Hey, this was fun!

  11. Hellion says:

    I have a friend who falls into the “not agreeable” category. I’m positive she wouldn’t find herself as “not agreeable” though I’d be the first to say “Yes, you are.” (And the fight would be on. Maybe we’re more frenemies than friends.)

    I think the other word for this is “opinionated” in the out-loud sort of way. Except it might not sound like an opinion, which of course, leads to the whole “not agreeable” thing.

    Though I agree if I got that response, I would be hacked too. Even though I’d know it was true. I’m very not agreeable.

  12. Hellion says:

    Awesome. I think the test told me I was one of the most unagreeable people on the planet!

  13. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    I never take those things at face value… But they are fun to do.

  14. Debra Dixon says:

    Hellion– Yay! Come over here sista! Join the disagreeables. (g)

    Kathleen– Yep, I’m a sucker for those quizzes.

  15. Debra Dixon says:

    Kathleen– I do think that those of us who have opinions and will share them, definitely view “agreeable” in a completely different way than defined by this test.

Leave a Reply

