Healthy Advice

 

When you reach a certain age in life– and I’m not saying I have, I’m just speculatin’ on what I see these days– it seems a lot of life centers around your own belly button.  Sad, but true.  You become obssessed with your bodily functions and making everything work as though you were still 22.   I became aware of this because a couple of close relatives have developed major chronic conditions (diabetes) and now have decided to remake the world in their personal remedy’s image.

C’mon, everybody has one or two of these in their lives.  Maybe it’s not a relative, maybe it’s a close co-worker.  But odds are, somebody is making you nuts with information and opinions intended to make you healthier.  Like them.

Fiber now haunts by every waking moment.  My sister has decided this is the panacea to life’s problems.  And on the internet, she has discovered a cornucopia of new things to try in order to add more fiber to “our” diets.  Flax seed meal/flour.  Almond flour.  Soy flour.  Coconut flour.   Yes, somebody dries and mills coconuts into a powdery flour for use in. . . well, whatever a body would like to try.   As a result I’m eating sad-looking breads that didn’t quite rise right, cookies that look like something from an evil witch’s private stock, and chewing stuff at breakfast that would make cows turn their nose up.

But I’m getting FIBER.  Which, in my sister’s world, nullifies all carbs and most of the calories.   I should be healthier.  But in fact, I am constipated.  I am also tired of spending an extra five to ten minutes each morning just trying to chew my food.  And since sodium has joined “carbs” on the evil list, most of the stuff that comes my way is bland on top of it.

To combat the blandness, Pool Boy has decided to turn up the heat.  He now puts Cayenne hot sauce on everything.  Do you have any idea what hot sauce on steel cut oaks tastes like first thing in the morning?   Ewwww.   In his defense, he got the idea from a nurse friend who encouraged us to try a special diet to lose weight.  It centered around a soup that was full of peppers, black pepper, and hot sauce.  Try eating that for breakfast for seven days.

So I’m eating more and enjoying it less.  Yes, I do tell them NO, and they keep offering and insisting and eventually I wear down and take a bite.   Once hooked, I am then loaded down with things to take home for snacks and “to have with coffee.”

I am starting to dread my beloved morning coffee.  And it’s not enough that I try these things– I have to ENJOY them.  They are, after all, for my own good.

So I have decided on a fairly unusual and fairly risky strategy.  Honesty.

I will no longer eat stuff I don’t recognize.  And if it tastes like pig slop, I will say I don’t like the way it tastes.  And I won’t be eating it again.  Sorry, all of you who love me and want me to have lower cholesterol and a shinier coat.  I’ve decided to go it on my own.  The good news is, when I find my own miracle cure– I’ll refrain from insisting you use it and love it, too.

Whew.  Thanks for letting me get that off my chest.  Got anything –health adive-wise that makes you nuts?  What’s your favorite “healthy” pet peeve?  Who’s monitoring your intake and pushing you (kicking and screaming) toward better health?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Healthy Advice

  1. kylie brant says:

    Too funny, Betina! I have the palate of a twelve year old, so healthy eating hasn’t been habit. But after losing weight I’m at least trying to add more fruits and vegetables to the diet. My husband has dragged me (unwillingly) to wheat bread/buns and my beloved white bread is no more. Sob. But I’ve finally gotten used to it. I have him hooked on yogurt now and both of us will grab that as a snack. I continue to have a suspicious relationship with fiber 🙂 My eating habits wouldn’t earn me a gold star but they’re better than they used to be. But geez, it’s a full time job juggling the fish oil and calcium and all the other stuff they want us to ingest!

    • bkrahn007 says:

      Kylie, I hear you on all the juggling that we have to do to be “healthy” these days. I’ve been a whole-wheat person for years, but I can still enjoy cloverleaf rolls at Thanksgiving. Ditto the mashed potatoes! But most of the rest of the time I’m a meat, fruit and veggies gal these days. Yogurt for snacks is GREAT!

  2. michelehauf says:

    You gotta do what works for you. That’s the conclusion I’ve come to. I like eating healthy and veggies rock, and white stuff like flour, sugar and pasta now tastes awful to me. It works for me. It makes me happy, and my body is happier for it too. But as well, I’ve become an expert on sleuthing out the sugarfree treats that taste amazing. Did you know Hershey’s makes a caramel filled chocolate bar that’s sugarfree? It tastes good too. 😉
    More power to you, Betina!

    • bkrahn007 says:

      Hear, hear, sister! Do what works for you! The diet I’ve been on for over a month has me eating protein, veggies and fruit. . . little dairy, no complex carbs (sob), and no sugars, except what’s in the fruit. Once I got the four-day-craving for carbs out of my system (withdrawal deluxe!) I don’t even want them now. Interesting, no? Did you go low carb, too?

      Okay, then you had to go and mention the Hershy sugar-free thing. I am such a sucker for caramel. I probably like it more than chocolate!

  3. PatriciaW says:

    I’m retraining my palatte so I totally understand. My husband completely resisted for nearly 20 years, until health concerns forced him to look at losing weight (which is nice but not wasn’t really needed from a visual standpoint). That’s helped a lot because whereas brown rice used to be evil, he now eats it all the time, along with fruits and vegetables. Got him using coconut oil. Not quite there with me on the almond or coconut milk. I haven’t tried many of the flours yet, but I will because I like to bake. But I’ll have to play with them to get the right leavening and taste.

    My big “healthy” pet peeve is soy because the messages are so mixed and convoluted as to whether the stuff is good for you or causes other problems.

    • bkrahn007 says:

      Patricia, the soy thing! I’ve read about it lately and am royally confused. Is it okay or is it the evil of the century? It seems to depend onwho you talk/listen to. And coconut oil! We’reusing that now and it seems really good! I’m not sure what it’s doing to my insides but it’s great to cook with!

  4. Marilyn says:

    Lactose intolerance led me to either lactose-free milk or soy milk, which by the way, lasts FOREVER in the fridge. That helps make up for the higher cost. I too am adding more fruits and veggies. I cook with olive oil. Long ago I gave up salt, and what little I use is sea salt. White stuff left my pantry completely when I moved to my own apartment. The darker the bread, the better. I just have to be careful not to OD on it since I lurve carbs.

    Have you tried quinoa (pronounced keen-wah)? It’s a South American grain that comes in white, red or black. It cooks quickly and makes a great breakfast cereal with a squirt of agave nectar and a dash of milk. Some folks mix it with sauteed onions and garlic and use it as a side dish with meat instead of rice. Red is my fave. I have to buy it at the health food store cause Walmart ain’t never heard of no quinoa. ~grin~

    • bkrahn007 says:

      Marilyn, I have tried quinoa and I really, really like it! Especially when you make it into a pilaf of some kind. I’ve never had it as a hot cereal for breakfast, but I’ll try it. Sounds yummy!

      I’m a dark bread person, too. . . when I get to eat bread. It’s the one thing I miss on my new regimen.

  5. Marilyn says:

    Oh, my healthy pet peeve is high fructose corn syrup. IT IS JUST CORN. It will make you fat and rot your teeth, yes. But it’s just corn. Not poison.

    • bkrahn007 says:

      True, it’s not poison. Isn’t it interesting how the media hops on one thing and makes it into the angel or the demon of the day? Wait– soon the “miracle” Acai berries will be shown to cause something devastating. Remember when they had us all searching boxes and cans for “cholesterol” content on the labels? Ask a doctor about that now and they just shrug.

  6. loisgreiman says:

    I have to admit that alllll the diets make me nuts. Cuz I don’t think they’re a magic remedy. Burn more calories than you consume and we are guaranteed to lose weight. Very simple. Very difficult. 🙂

    • bkrahn007 says:

      I think the reason this new way of eating has succeeded thus far (10 pounds down and holding until I get past my medical procedure!) is that I don’t think of it as a diet. And I don’t eagerly await being able to go off it. This is just the way I eat now and it’s a much healthier attitude. Okay, it makes ME feel better.

  7. leannebanks says:

    Oh, Betina, I’m bitter about this health stuff. Don’t get me wrong. I love vegetables and I enjoy a lot of whole grain stuff. But when did a bagel become public enemy #1? Although I usually buy whole wheat bread w/no sugar, I occasionally cheat and get the white wheat, which is really just white. I think it’s a comfort thing. And yogurt. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve tried to make friends with yogurt. I still hate it. Now Heluvagood french onion dip, that’s totally different!:) Great blog! xo, Leanne

    • bkrahn007 says:

      Heh! Bagels as public enemy #1 !! That’s about the size of it! It’s easy to get carried away with any trend in eating. Except Helluvagood dip. You can never have too much of that stuff. I just eat it on celery and carrot sticks these days instead of chips!

  8. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    I am not one to go on and on about what people should eat. We each know our bodies and I am not really interested in other’s bodily functions.. I dont’ want to know how many bowel movements you have each week.. But I will say that after seeing what my poor mother, god rest her soul, went thorugh with her systme, I try to eat as good as I can…. Espeically since I am one of those Diabetic people, but still you need to be your own “body funtion police” and leave me out of it…

    Okay… enough said, I am going to have dinner and hope that all ends well… LOL

  9. bkrahn007 says:

    Our bodies do change over time and there are times they seem to betray us. Eating well and getting exercise are probably the two most important things we can do for ourselves. And since bodies are all different, so are bodily needs. I’m with you, Kathleen! Have a great dinner!

  10. CateS says:

    Oh yeah…. let me just say that when I first had a McDonald’s in the 1970’s…. The burger, fries & soda… Well — that’s what they market as the ‘kid’s meal’ these days… Everything has been jumboed, super sized, upsized… I dont’ often eat ‘fast food’..but the last time I ordered a small drink — I SWEAR it was the Large size that was served in the 70’s…
    And that translates into almost all the food sold in stores or restaurants… everything is bigger!! Ever try comparing the size of the plates your grandmother had with what is currently on the market? Much larger.!!!!

Leave a Reply

