Hanging in there.

Acccckkk! It’s my day to blog! Who knew…besides all my blogging sisters…sorry blogging sisters. But I have a good excuse…kind of. I just spent five days at my year end Championship Horse Show and totally lost track of the real world.
So here’s my topic of the day: tenacity. You see, my daughter and I have done everything imaginable with this horse. In fact, we’ve been competing in this particular show (the largest all breed horse show in the United States) for more than a decade. It’s frustrating, exhilarating, stressful, and grueling. And for all that frustration, exhilaration, stress, and gruel, we have never come home with a single ribbon…until this year.

This year, after SEVENTEEN years of training (seventeen YEARS), my boy, Sagacious Sage, earned two ninth place ribbons. Now I realize that ninth place doesn’t sound that great, but there are nearly two thousand horses at this show and my horse…well my horse has spent a lot of years being crazy. And a lot of years driving us crazy. And I realize now that if we had, at some point in these seventeen crazy years, sent him out for professional training, the win wouldn’t be the same. It wouldn’t mean as much. It’s the time, the effort, the love, the pain (physical and emotional) that make it so valuable to me.

And while I’m on the topic, I realize that everything in my life is more important if I work for it. Writing, for instance…I had at least a hundred rejections before I sold my first book and I’ll probably have another hundred before I sell my last. But if you love something…hell…you might as well stick with it because if your passion isn’t worth your time what is?

So how about you? What’s worth a couple decades of blood, sweat, and tears?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hanging in there.

  1. The largest of all breed shows in the U.S.? Seventeen years? Any ribbon sounds terrific to me, Lois, and the one in the photo is truly gorgeous!

    Too often we miss the whole point of competing in contests, it seems to me. It shouln’t be win or die. It ought to be do your best and enjoy the ride. Learn stuff, enjoy the friendship, the team spirit, the friendly rivalry, the elation when you win and the lessons learned from not winning (number 1: it’s not the end of the world).

    Poor Charlie Sheen has no idea what Winning! is all about.

  2. Leanne Banks says:

    Congratulations Lois! The pics are beautiful and that win must have been exhilarating! 17 years, whew! THAT’S AMAZING!!!!:) xo, Leanne

  3. lois greiman says:

    🙂
    We have pics of a friend and I totally failing in a class and our grins are enormous!! You’re right, Kathy, it’s all about the ride.

  4. lois greiman says:

    🙂 We have pics of a friend and I in ribbon race where we broke the ribbon before the STARTING line, but our grins are enormous. So you’re right, Kathy. It’s all about the ride.

  5. Cindy Gerard says:

    Woo Woo, Lois. Congratulations on your ribbon. Truly. It’s an amazing feat and you are so right. It means so much more considering YOU did all the training and put in all the blood, sweat and tears yourself.

    And I’m with you on the writing being worth all the effort. It’s a passion – not always rewarding – but always challenging and I can’t imagine my life without it.

  6. Carole Fiore says:

    I love the pictures, I feel if your passion about something then its so great to keep the passion alive. I’m unemployed and for the past 5yrs. I had my own home daycare and I love working with kids, so I’m not ready to throw in the towel.I put up signs and went to places to put up my daycare. I’ve been doing odd jobs to make alittle money, so until them I just keep hoping things will get better. Congrrats on you ribbons, I know alot of people who brrel race and rodeo and they have so much drive, they keep doing all the time, they practice and go to rodeo’s every weekend. I love hanging out with them for the encourage me and keep from keeping my dreams alive.!

  7. lois greiman says:

    Carole, things are tough right now, but they’re getting better. I really feel that if we follow our passions and are true to ourselves we can make things happen. There is nothing quite like spending time with kids. I’ve been giving riding lessons to younguns lately and just loooove their excitement and enthusiasm so I know what you’re saying. Hang in there.

  8. Linda Morgan says:

    He’s gorgeous, and the pictures are wonderful. Just think if he’d won early in his training you’d hyave missed all these years of fun and frustration. Do you ever show in Fort Worth? I’m 3 miles or so from Will Rogers and would love to come cheer you on. There’s a mini horse show there now. Soooo cute!

  9. lois greiman says:

    Linda, thanks. He is pretty wonderful. Nope, never shown in FW. The closest we’ve been is Tulsa at the Pinto World Show. Funnnnnn!!

    Enjoy the minis. They’re adorable.

  10. Congratulations! Love the photos.

    Of course, I’ve had to be tenacious to keep this writing thing going all these years. It does make every accomplishment sweeter.

  11. Keri Ford says:

    Congratulations! and what a beautiful horse! ya’ll should be so proud of that win. that’s amazing.

  12. Stephenia says:

    congratulations on your ribbons! We don’t have to place first in things for it to be a life victory…sometimes just completing a task is enough! I worked long, hard and over ten years to get a college degree (while working full time with a family and being in the service). I was so proud to finish it! I like to think persistence pays off in the long run. Your horse is a handsome one – I like the picture of him running – it looks so exciting and fun.

Leave a Reply

