That Fall Chill

Yesterday, Fall slapped we Minnesotans in the face with temps that barely climbed out of the fifties.  Yes, I know, in February and March, fifty degrees sounds like a dream.  But to go from the high 80s to 50s?  Brrrr…   I actually dug out some socks.  And I’m always incredibly disturbed that I forget about the cold toilet seat come Fall.  The icy porcelain shocks me awake with a bitter slap to the senses every time.

But Fall also means soup!  I love a good, thick soup with veggies and steeped on the stove for hours.  I’m not a big soup maker (preferring when someone else makes it for me), but I’m determined to collect some recipes this year and try them during the breezy days of Fall.  So if I start you all out with my favorite recipe, will you reciprocate with yours?  I found this recipe a few months ago for ‘nearly like Panera’s’ Black Bean Soup and I make it about once or twice a month.  It’s so nummy, and super easy to make (takes about half an hour total) and if you top it with onions, grated cheese, and crushed tortilla chips, it is the perfect fill-your-belly-with-awesomeness meal.

It serves 4 – 6:

Directions:

  1. In a pot, combine the first six ingredients; simmer for 10 minutes.
  2. Add half a can of beans, salt and cumin; cook for 5 minutes.
  3. Puree soup (use an immersion blender which makes it easy to do it right in the pot).
  4. Add the rest of the beans to the soup.
  5. Combine the cornstarch with 1 1/2 tablespoons of water.
  6. Add the lemon and the cornstarch to the soup; cook until thickened.
Michele
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to That Fall Chill

  1. Leanne Banks says:

    Michele, this looks like a DELISH recipe! A must try!:) I LOVE homemade soups! xo, Leanne

  2. lois greiman says:

    Hate cold. Love soup!

    Here’s my favorite corn chowder recipe:
    Corn Chowder
    1/4 cup butter
    1 small onion
    1 stalk celery, chopped
    3 T flour
    3 cups milk
    1 tsp salt
    1/8 tsp pepper
    2 cups drained canned corn
    bacon if desired

    In medium saucepan, cook onion. Stir in flour. Add milk and corn; heat mixture until it thickens and boils, stirring constantly. Season with salt and pepper.

  3. Helen Brenna says:

    That sounds like a great soup, Michele, and beans are so good for you. I love soups. My favorite, believe it or not, is split pea and I never make it because no one else in the fam likes it. Guess I should just make a big batch and freeze it in single servings!

    My son loves my homemade chicken noodle soup, but it’s time consuming. I might just make some soup tonight!

  4. michelehauf says:

    Thanks, Lois! Going on my list of ‘to make’ soups.
    Helen, my hubby hates the black bean soup, so when I make it, I end up eating it three days in a row. 🙂 But it’s that good, so I don’t mind.

    I think it froze here last night. Took the sheets off the plants just a bit ago. Feels like a soup day to me!

  5. Cindy Gerard says:

    love the thought of soup Michele. and this one looks yummy. Chili’s my fav and I suppose I make mine the traditional way with one little twist. to the chili beans i add a can of pork and beans and a touch of brown sugar. I just gives it a more, I don’t know, inviting flavor? anyway, we love it with cheddar cheese and sour cream on top.

  6. Donna says:

    Italian Wedding Soup

    Meatballs:
    1 pound Ground meat – mix of beef/veal/pork
    1/4 cup Bread Crumbs
    2 tablespoons Parmesan Cheese
    1 egg, beaten
    2 cloves garlic, minced
    fresh chopped basil 2T?
    fresh chopped parsley 2T?
    1/2 teaspoon Sea or Kosher salt
    1/8 teaspoon Fresh Black Pepper
    Soup:
    3 Carrots, diced
    1 large yellow onion, diced
    3-4 ribs celery, diced
    2-3 tablespoons Olive Oil
    Sea or Kosher salt and Fresh Black Pepper
    4 cloves garlic, smushed and minced
    1 teaspoon Basil
    6 cups Chicken Broth
    1/2 – 2/3 cup Ditalini
    1 pkg chopped frozen spinach/bunch deveined chopped Kale, both, either, escarole, whatever you have
    1/4 cup Fresh Parsley, chopped
    1/4 cup Parmesan Cheese, grated, plus more for serving

    1. Mix all the meatball ingredients together in a large bowl using a fork. Form into small meatballs about the size of a quarter using your hands. Set aside.

    2. In a large soup pot saute onion/celery/carrot in 2-3 tablespoons of Olive oil over medium-low heat until soft and tender, season well with salt and pepper. Add garlic and basil; saute until fragrant.

    3. Add chicken broth and turn up heat and bring to a slow boil. When it begins to boil add meatballs carefully one at a time. Add macaroni and spinach. Season with salt and pepper. Simmer for 25 minutes.

    4. Stir in parsley and Parmesan cheese. Taste and re-season with salt and pepper if desired. Serve with additional Parmesan and crusty bread.

    *For a heartier soup with less broth add 2/3 cup pasta, for more broth add 1/2 cup.

  7. I love soup and chilli…one of the best things about fall. I’ll share one of our favorites soups

    Chicken Velvet Soup (tastes the the inside of a chicken pot pie)
    6 TBSP butter or margarine
    6 TBSP Flour
    1/2 cup milk
    3 cups chicken broth (I use the water from the cans of chicken below + 1 bullion cube)
    1 cup fine chopped cooked chicken (I cheat and use three cans of chicken breast meat)
    pepper
    2 cans mixed vegetables (Drained)

    In saucepan, melt butter or margarine. Blend in flour, then stir in milk, light cream and chicken broth. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until mixture thickens and comes to a boil reduce heat. Stir in finely chopped chicken and mixed vegetables and dash of pepper. Return soup to boiling and serve immediately. Makes about 5 cups of soup.

    Sometimes I’ll cook a pie shell and break it into pieces on top of the soup.

    In addition to this soup, I make chilli, Chicken Tortilla Soup and beef vegetable soup often. Easy and hubby loves them. Plus these are better the second day. The exception being the soup above. I have no idea what it would be like on the second day. It never lasts that long.

    Let me know if you make it and what you think.

  8. Jan Hudson says:

    As a Texan, I shudder at the thought of beans in my chili. It’s hard to imagine cold weather when we’re still having some 100 degree days here in Austin, but I can hardly wait to make my favorite vegetable-beef soup on the first nippy day. The mention of chili does remind me of a delicious dip that is super easy for your winter get-togethers. People rave about it.
    2 reg. cans of Hormel chili (no beans)
    1 8 oz. pkg. Philadelphia Cream Cheese (cubed)
    Heat together until cheese is melted and incorporated. Serve warm w/tortilla chips

  9. kylie brant says:

    Wow have to get home and write down these recipes! My only home made soup is chili or chicken n’ noodles. But I get credit for the chicken tortilla (cheese based) soup I make even though they know it comes out of a bag. It’s that good!

  10. michelehauf says:

    Thanks, Donna! Sounds hearty!
    Cynthia, with velvet in the title, I simply must try it.
    Jan, I like easy stuff like that. No beans though. Urg. 🙂

Leave a Reply

