Bargains Part II–WHERE do you score your bargains?

Kathleen started it! But I heart a bargain too.:) My question:   if you can’t trade for it, WHERE do you get your bargains?

I was raised to love a bargain. My mother is such a smarty pants. I remember that she took us outlet shopping as children. She had three daughters and she wanted them dressed well. When she was a child, she wore cotton dresses in the winter and shoes with cardboard soles. She was determined her children would not do the same. My father also helped. He worked part-time at Sears so he could get an employee discount for us.

Once a year, we were taken to a shoe outlet in Lynchburg, about a forty-five minute drive from where we lived. I remember going there as a middle schooler and being given free reign to choose THREE pairs of shoes. Squee!

Nowadays, I still go for outlet shopping, but I’m very discriminating because although I can pick up some good deals, outlet pricing may not always be that great. Some of my favorite local haunts for bargains are TJ Maxx for purses, bras, occasional deals on adult clothing, baby clothes, and pots and pans, Ross’s for great deals on dresses, Big Lots for patio furniture, and Tuesday Morning for luggage. At Dollar Tree, where everything truly is $1.00 or less, I like to purchase gift bags and greeting cards.

Whenever I visit New York City, I try to make a trip to Century 21. (It’s not a real estate agency.) You have to get your game on for this multi-story retail bonanza which hugely discounts high end designer shoes and designer clothing. It might actually be a good idea to do yoga before you go to this place, but if you can focus, it’s totally worth it.

My very favorite discount store is Nordstrom Rack. Anywhere. Anyway. Anytime, because the closest one to me is an hour and a half away. So, yep, when I was in California the day after my birthday, we had to stop at ‘the Rack”. I scored a couple fab dresses at discount. My husband worked on a homework assignment for his MBA in the rental car while I shopped. But hey, he snagged a few bargains for himself too!:)

We have online options if we can’t find what we want locally. My favorite online bargain stores are Amazon and Ebay. My sister buys her shampoo from Amazon!

So, here’s my question for you: WHERE do you go for bargains?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Bargains Part II–WHERE do you score your bargains?

  1. infinitieh says:

    I grew up with Century 21. Ah, good memories…

  2. Leanne Banks says:

    Infinitieh, good for you! I hope you got some good bargains too!:)

  3. loisgreimanl says:

    Sometimes I hate to admit it, but I buy most of my clothes second hand. There’s nothing more fun than saying, “I bought this for a quarter.” 🙂

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Lois, so true. Can’t beat saying “I bought this for a quarter.”lol And for those of you who don’t know, Lois has a “model’s” body, which means that even if she’s wearing something that cost a quarter, she looks like a million bucks!

  4. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    I just check out all the sale papers when they come each week and if there is something I need and it is on sale, I get it…
    Of course when I am in the bookstore, I browse the sale tables and find some great buys… Now that is one bargin I love.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      I love the sale tables at the bookstore too, Kathleen. This reminds me of something he often said when he entered a store. “I just want to see what they have on the giveaway table.”:)

  5. michelehauf says:

    I love that you love the Rack! Was just there yesterday, and as you know, I found a fab dress. It’s so long it sweeps the floor, so I might have to take up the straps a bit, but it fits so nice I was jumping up and down in the dressing room. But the best part? The original price was $108, and I got it for $21. How can you NOT buy that? That place is truly dangerous to me.

    I’ve also recently discovered Goodwill (Lois will be so proud of me). You can get skirts there for $4! Whoda thought? And they’re nice and not…ucky. And every day there’s a $1.49 sale on a different color price tag, so if I go in on skirt day, I get it for $1.49!

    Is there nothing more exciting tham getting something for oodles less than the original price? I think not.

  6. Leanne Banks says:

    Michele, congrats on your awesome new dress! I want to see a pic sometime! YOU HEAR ME!!:) I’m building up to Goodwill. I have a friend who frequents Goodwill and often buys BRAND NEW stuff there. How cool is that! I think I’m going to have to give it a try!:)

  7. Helen Brenna says:

    I love the Rack and happen to have one just 10 minutes from my house. TJ Maxx is only 3. I’ve been finding amazing deals at Macy’s, too. Bring in the 20% off coupons and you can’t beat their prices.

  8. Leanne Banks says:

    HELEN! 10 MINUTES FROM A NORDSTROM RACK! You lucky duck!:) xo, Leanne

  9. Oh, Leanne, don’t you just love the smell of bargains in the morning? It smells like…victory.

  10. kylie brant says:

    I have so little shopping spots available to me that it’s a trek to get to a good sized mall. As a result, I don’t even know where the bargains are! But Nordstrom’s outlet sounds marvelous. Wish there was one in driving distance! My hubby loves Kohls (rolling my eyes here). They do have good deals on men’s clothes.

  11. Leanne Banks says:

    Kylie, I have mixed feelings on Kohls. I can rarely find anything to wear there. I like their home goods better!:)

  12. christieridgway says:

    Did anyone mention Loehmann’s? We have one right across from the local Nordstrom Rack. I have to have a lot of energy to go through the Rack. Could take a whole day on shoes alone.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Loehman’s is another wonderful store. I’m with you on the shoes at the Rack (be still my beating heart). The selection almost makes me cry with joy!:)

  13. Stephenia says:

    Ross, TJ Maxx (love their purses and shoes too), the back aisles of Target (they put the bargains there), end of the month sales at Dillards – not advertised but they lower prices closer to the end of the month. I have also signed up for email newsletters from my favorite 2-3 clothing stores and get regular coupons in my email from them.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Oooh, Stephenia, good catch on back aisles of Target and end of month sales at Dillard’s. I will have to check out Dillards more often at the end of the month! Thanks for the rec!:)

Leave a Reply

