Cindy’s movie review: Our Idiot Brother

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a movie review.  Frankly, it’s been a while since I’ve seen a movie in a theater.  I’m not going to count Cowboys and Aliens because I was so disappointed with that movie I could cry.  But that’s another story.

Wednesday, however, I saw Our Idiot Brother.

ouridiotbrother_smallposter2

I LOVED it.  It was stupid and sweet and heartwarming and funny.  But it was not at all what I thought it would be. I was sort of expecting something along the lines of an old Steve Martin comedy – like The Jerk or something.

Instead it was about this sweet but naive guy who belonged in the Woodstock era, not 2011 and his relationship with his sisters and how all of his little screw ups affected their lives and his. Oh – and about his dog, named Willie Nelson.

Here’s the official line on the movie: Every family has one: the sibling who is always just a little bit behind the curve when it comes to getting his life together. For sisters Liz, Miranda and Natalie, that person is their perennially upbeat brother Ned, an erstwhile organic farmer whose willingness to rely on the honesty of mankind is a less-than-optimum strategy for a tidy, trouble-free existence. Ned may be utterly lacking in common sense, but he is their brother and so, after his girlfriend dumps him and boots him off the farm, his sisters once again come to his rescue. As Liz, Miranda and Natalie each take a turn at housing Ned, their brother’s unfailing commitment to honesty creates more than a few messes in their comfortable routines. But as each of their lives begins to unravel, Ned’s family comes to realize that maybe, in believing and trusting the people around him; Ned isn’t such an idiot after all.

I couldn’t have summed it up better.  I will add that Paul Rudd as Ned, was so wonderful and believable.  The supporting cast – including his dog, Willie Nelson – was top notch as well.  If you haven’t seen it, I strongly recommend giving it a try.  Do not expect an hour and a half of laugh-out-loud, knee slapping antics, but expect instead, a lot of smiles, a few head shakes, plenty of warmth and yes – a few moments when you will laugh out loud.

So – have any of you seen it?  If so, what did you think?  If you were among those who loved Cowboys and Aliens – help me out.  I thought it was a total bomb.  And if you haven’t seen either of these movies, have you seen anything good lately?  I want to see the HELP.

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cindy’s movie review: Our Idiot Brother

  1. Helen Brenna says:

    Haven’t seen this movie, but I love Paul Rudd. Don’t always like every movie he’s been in (Anchorman, for example) but I always love his performance. Thanks for the review, Cindy!

  2. Leanne Banks says:

    I’m behind the curve on movies right now since I’m on deadline! But this one sounds great. We will probably watch it when it goes to video. I really love to watch movies in the comfort of my own home. I’ve heard great things about The Help — both the book and the movie.:) The last movie I saw the animated Rango (yes, a cartoon). Husband wanted to watch this the night before we got hit by Tropical Storm Irene. I would have been happier with a Burn Notice repeat.:) xo, Leanne

  3. lois greiman says:

    🙂 Cowboys and Aliens!! Weird huh?? I will say one thing for it: I never knew what to expect. Oh, and Daniel Craig is built. Guess that’s two things.

    Thanks for the review Cindy. I wasnt planning on seeing Brother but now I will.

  4. michelehauf says:

    I had expected this movie would be as you described it. Sounds like fun. I SO want to see The Help. Might try to fit it in this weekend. If the movie trailer makes you feel good, the movie has really got to be good.

    I’m looking forward to The Three Musketeers next month!

  5. CMrok93 says:

    Nice Review! Paul Rudd is terrific as the loveable, good-hearted, naive Ned. His warmth makes this a feel good film, but the annoying sisters take their toll and nearly ruin my Rudd buzz. Check out my review when you get a chance!

  6. kylie brant says:

    Paul Rudd is my new fave comedic actor 🙂 I’ve loved him since Forty Year Old Virgin, and somehow last summer we rented three movies in a row that had him in them! I think he’s hilarious.

  7. Thanks for this one, Cindy. I love Paul Rudd. Have you seen him on The Daily Show? He’s a fun interview. I think I’ll make this our next date night movie. It’s bound to be a hit with Clyde. They’ll have him at “a dog name Willie Nelson.”

Leave a Reply

