Of Witches and their Familiars

I have a new book out today! It’s the launch book in Harlequin’s new Nocturne Cravings line. It’s a digital-only line of novellas that are available at all online retailers.  It will replace the Nocturne Bites line (which runs through December) with stories that are a bit longer and a little sexier, but still paranormal.

I love when I have the opportunity to explore a character that I don’t always feel I can write a whole story for, but maybe just a small segment of his life. That’s how it worked for my hero, Thoroughly Jones.  Yes, his name is Thoroughly.  Just think about that for a minute, let it sink in.

I know.  🙂

So Thoroughly is desperate to rescue his brother, Certainly, who is lost in Daemonia, the place of all demons, and needs to conjure a demon to the mortal realm.  Witches conjure demons all the time, but with the help of a familiar. A familiar is a cat-shifter who serves as a conductor or bridge for the demon to the mortal realm. How does that work? Well, the familiar must be relaxed and sexually sated, then the witch steps in and summons the demon through the familiar. Usually the familiar uses an assistant to get to that—ahem—relaxed state, but Thoroughly wants to cut out the middleman and work directly with the familiar (because he needs to create powerful dark magic).  He’s quite sure he’s capable of satisfying the familiar, while also being capable of concentrating on summoning the demon.

Uh-huh.  We’ll see how that one turns out.  Probably love might have different plans for my hero and heroine.

It’s a short, fun little read that I hope you’ll check out!  More information at my website, and also you can read the first chapter there.

So tell me, what’s your favorite name for a hero?  I like Thoroughly a lot, but his brother Certainly is probably one of my all-time fav hero names.

Michele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Of Witches and their Familiars

  1. Kylie Brant says:

    Fun names, Michele! I think with a novella or shorter story it’d be fun to try out character names that might get tiresome in a full length story but are fun and different and interesting in the more intense shorter version. Maybe I’ll try that for the novella I have due…oh, next month!

  2. michelehauf says:

    Luck with the novella, Kylie! I have one due Oct 1st, too. Must work on that today!

  3. Helen Brenna says:

    Awesome names, Michele, and it sounds like a fun read! Tough to come up with odd names like that for straight contemporaries, but I just might have to come up with a plot revolving around a fun name!

  4. Cindy Gerard says:

    Woo Woo, Michele! Love your names! And I love the looks of the novella. I FINALLY ordered a Kindle. it will arrive tomorrow. Guess what I’m going to order first??? You’d Certainly be right if you guessed This Glamorous Evil just as I’m utterly convinced that I’ll be Thoroughly satisfied … like the familiar :o)

  5. michelehauf says:

    Enjoy your kindle, Cindy! I’m jealous. I have the first edition Kindle, and it looks so big and clumsy compared to the new streamlined versions.

  6. Leanne Banks says:

    Michele! This sounds so cool! And your characters are so gorgeous! It’s gotta be fun being able to play around with different hero and heroine names in your paranormals!:) Ha ha love that he will make her ‘THOROUGHLY’ satisfied!:) xo, Leanne

  7. I love names and the stories behind them. One of my favorites is Sage Parker (he goes way back) because he had such a fun story to tell about how he got his name. The hero in in ONE BRAVE COWBOY goes by last name only–Cougar–and that plays a part in the story.

    I’m thoroughly in love with the way you worked this one out, Michele. It’s inviting. It tickles my imagination and tells me I’m going to have fun reading this story.

Leave a Reply

