Irene Bit Me! I’m just one of nearly 5 million

I’ll keep this short and sweet because I have limited time on the internet…. due to IRENE!

The great news is no one in my family was hurt and we experienced no property damage except some shutters blown off my house.  My next door neighbor had three trees blown down, back door neighbor had four. 

The only way I’m suffering is I’ve had no power since 3:00 pm Saturday.  When I call the power company to ask for an update for when my power will be restored, I’m told there is no estimated time.  And that, my dears, is a very sad, sad thing… for a girl who doesn’t want to go anywhere that can’t accommodate her curling iron, a girl who doesn’t like to sit in the dark at night, a girl who doesn’t like to be without her evening television, a girl who doesn’t believe in going without air conditioning and most of all, a girl who believes her internet is almost as necessary as water.  But I’m only one of nearly 5 million people without power.

When we took a drive this afternoon, I began to understand why we were getting the “no promises” line from the power company.  We have lots and lots of trees here in Virginia… right next to power lines.  During a tropical storm, and yes, even though we’re inland, that is what we experienced, trees and power lines are not a good combo.  On one corner leaving my neighborhood a tree had fallen onto a power line.  In the other direction, we saw the same thing along with power lines literally dragging on the ground.  Many traffic lights are not even working.  004

So, I know I’m a lucky duck, but I sure hate this!  Has Mother Nature ever kicked your butt and left you without power?  How did you handle it?

To everyone who had to deal with this Hurricane Wench, BIG HUGS!

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Irene Bit Me! I’m just one of nearly 5 million

  1. EllenToo says:

    Living on coastal Texas I’ve been there many times and it isn’t easy but we survive. We sit outside and visit with the neighbors or sit on the porch and read, go to bed early, and sometimes jump in our car and take off to visit someone who has electricity depending on how wide spread the damage it.
    Hope you get your electricity back soon.

  2. Cindy Gerard says:

    I so sympathize with you, Leanne, and I’m so glad you and yours are okay. Relatively speaking :o(
    We were without electricity for 6 days in June several years ago due to extreme straight line winds that ravished our state. We cooked on the grill and I caught up on a LOT of reading by lamp light at night. An ice storm took out power for 4 days in February a couple of years ago. Luckily we had a wood stove in the basement (one we never used) and were able to keep the house at a toasty (NOT) 55 degrees. At least our water pipes didn’t freeze and we dressed in layers. That was kind of a scary time.
    Many hugs and I hope power is restored soon.

  3. Keri Ford says:

    ((hugs Leanne)) in the Spring we were out for a few days when all the tornados went through. We were lucky, didn’t have any touchdowns, but still strong enough winds to blow branches on the powerlines.

    When Katrina hit (we’re about a 7 HOUR drive north), we got HAMMERED with rain and then no power. Living in the backwoods, we lose it a lot, just have to do the best you can. get a generator if you have one for your refrigerator, or keep buying ice to keep it all cold. it’s a mess, I tell ya. Stay safe! watch out for rivers/streams that might still flood you!

  4. kris says:

    I’m in VA too, but here in Alexandria we didn’t lose power. I have 3 ginormous trees in my backyard, but just the usual tree debris in the yard, nothing major. So very lucky. my heart goes out to all who have been impacted.

  5. Darnell says:

    Leanne, I feel your pain. I live in S. Jersey and we lost power BEFORE that wench showed up. Today is Tuesday and we are still WITHOUT power but our neighbors across the street never lost power. There are no trees down in town nor was there any flooding. Haven’t seen a PSE&G truck anywhere. We are blessed and I will not forget that since there were lost lives and homes swept away. As we have to throw out everything in the two refrigerators and a full freezer, I’ll be praying for those who don’t have a home to go to.

  6. Awwww Leanne! I do know how much you enjoy the main comforts of life……we all do! I went thru the same storms Cindy G. did, but after the second one I went out and bought a generator….haven’t needed it since! The ice storm 4 1/2 years ago occurred 1 day after the birth of my twin grandbabies. I was dogsitting for my son’s beagle. I would sit in my recliner with a blanket…..a dog on each side…… and a good book! What more does a person really need?! Oh yea….a hot meal! I went down the street to a friend’s house and we roasted hot dogs in their fireplace…..problem solved! LOL!! I hope you get your power back soon!!

  7. ((Hugs)) Leanne

    We have been without electricity a couple of times…ice storms, one hurricane that rolls up Arkansas, various other storms. We have a portable generator, however, we have an RV so when we have no power, we can move across the street, fire up the generator in the motorhome, and be right at home.

    Hope you get your power back soon.

  8. MarthaE says:

    I am glad that you and yours are well. I have been through several hurricanes here in Florida so I know the “drill.” It has been interesting to watch this one hit areas that are less accustomed and prepared for the direct and secondary impacts. My prayers have been with all those in the path or Irene.

  9. Leanne, I’m so glad you’re okay. I went down the list of relatives on the east coast this weekend and made calls. Wow. The effects were so widespread. I’m used to getting the calls when something happens in MN and before that ND. 9 times out of 10 I could say, nope, that was on the other side of the state. You know how big this state is? But I have family in places like CT, MD, DE. You hear about disaster in little (acreage-wise) states like that, you know they were probably affected somehow. And, man, Irene really spread herself out. (My fam’s okay.)

    But, yes, over the years I’ve gotten used to being without almost any creature comfort you can name–power, heat, water, functioning toilets, whatever. When you live out in the county in ND and rely on a well, things can get complicated, especially in the spring when the water comes down from the hills. I learned the meaning of “good Lord willin’ and the creek don’t rise.”

    But it’s all grist for the writer’s mill, isn’t it?

  10. LSUReader says:

    So glad you and yours are okay, Leanne.

    I’m a native of south Louisiana who now lives in south Texas. I’ve been through a number of nasty storms and hurricanes. We were without power for several days following Hurricane Ike. We drank bottled water and ate MREs. For me, the reminder of how bad things could have been is always great inspiration for dealing with what is.

    Hope things work out well for you. Those effected by Irene are in my thoughts and prayers.

  11. kylie brant says:

    I’ve been very lucky but I know how helpless I feel when the power goes out for an *hour*! So big hugs to you and the rest of the Irene survivors!

  12. Michele says:

    Hang in there, Leanne! Think of it as time away from electronics to ‘fill the well’. (Yeah, right!)

    I think the longest we’ve gone without power was 3 days. Keep a cooler for the food, and basically learn to enjoy the ‘silence’ of no electronics buzzing in the house. And oddly present sound that we are all so used to that when power does go out it feels strange and sounds deathly. Anyway, the best time for the power to go out here is actually winter, because they you can put the food from the fridge out in the snow! And cuddle more to make heat. 😉

Leave a Reply

