Ooops!

My day today.  Sorry.  Spaced it out and am therefore writing about the first thing that comes to my mind …

So do you ever get sick of being human?  All the responsibility and planning. The wearing of clothes.  The thinking.  Ever wonder how great it would be to live day by day, moment by moment operating on instinct?  Like an animal?

I’ve thought about this a lot and if I could choose to be an animal, there are many I’d dismiss out of hand.  Dog? No. Don’t want to rely on some human to feed me or remember to let me outside to pee.  Cat?  Mmm.  Maybe, but litter boxes? Then, too, so many of them get stuck inside and we’re back to the human feeding me.

Monkey?  Sounds good, except for that zoo thing. Elephant?  Too big and slow.  Gazelle? Tiger bait. Deer? Hello, guns, cars, wolves. I think I’d like to be some kind of bird.  But what kind?

Small birds are out.  My cat has left gifted me too many dead sparrows and finches. Crows and jays seem mean.  Besides, can’t see myself cawing and squawking for the rest of my life.

A hawk?  Yeah, cool.  Big, beautiful, great eyesight. Then I remembered hearing from a naturalist that most juvenile hawks starve to death due to the steep hunting learning curve and that killed that.  Bald eagles, though majestic looking, are actually scavengers. A diet of dead fish doesn’t sound appealing.

Skip turkey buzzards, penguins and geese, for obvious reasons. An owl.  Hmm.  That’s it.  They’re beautiful, are graceful fliers, make great hooting noises and are generally the hunters not the hunted.  Except that they’re night creatures.  I’d miss the sunshine.

So, in the end, I can’t think of a species of bird that fits. Maybe I’d enjoy being something like a … moose instead? Living up north, swimming under the big clear sky. Mosquitoes, ticks, ridiculously big ears.  Guess not.  Maybe I’d better stick with human.

What kind of animal might you choose to be and why?

HER SURE THING is in stores for just another week, so if you missed it, please run out and get your copy now!

Helen

About Helen Brenna

Helen Brenna is the RITA award winning author of romances for Harlequin's Superromance line. Three more books in her popular Mirabelle Island series will be release in July, August and September of 2011. For more information, check out her website at www.helenbrenna.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ooops!

  1. Cindy Gerard says:

    Wow. I’d never thought about this, Helen. Sometimes I think I’d like to be my dog or one of my cats. they are so spoiled. When I see them napping in the sun while I’m working I can’t help but feel a twinge of envy.

  2. Helen, I’ve watched eagles fish. They catch and eat. (Have you ever driven along the river–WI-MN state line–during spring migration? Incredible!) We’re the ones who eat the dead fish. A diet of live and kicking fish? No thanks. But then I’m thinking like a human Eagle. If you were an owl you wouldn’t miss the sunshine. If you were a deer or a horse, you wouldn’t worry too much. You’d act on instinct, but that would be natural for you.

    I think domesticated animals have it the worst. Zoo animals maybe second worst. If I were an animal, I wouldn’t be either of those. I’d live in my natural habitat. Let me live the way I’m made to be–don’t fence me in. If I’m an animal, let me get as far away from humans as it’s possible to be these days. Humans–even the well-meaning ones–will only try to use me. I’ll take my chances with nature.

    Granted, domesticated animals don’t have that choice. They have vestiges of their natural instincts, but half the time they don’t know why.

    I’ll be an eagle. Imagine being able to ride the wind!

  3. michelehauf says:

    I would be a soft gray cat. I would be spoiled by my owner and never go outside. I would command attention with a flip of my tail, and show you my displeasure with a claw. I’d lay in the sun all day and play with my massive collection of kitty toys all night. I’d have one of those fancy cat climber things that looks like a small apartment. I’d chase laser beams on the walls, and sneer at the crunchy dry cat food. Yes, I do believe I would be a cat.

  4. Helen Brenna says:

    Yes, the naps would be heavenly, Cindy.

    Kathy, you raise some excellent points. We do eat dead fish don’t we? lol Will have to reconsider the eagle.

    Michele, your comments sounds like a very lovely children’s book! So sweet.

  5. Kathleen says:

    ..I think i would love to be a horse. They are such regal animals and I think theyy are strong and noble. And some have a gentle spirt, while others have a fiesty spirt. Of couse reading Her Sure Thing, which I just loved. and also The Pursuitt of Jesse and now Redemption at Mirabelle Island. I think a horse would be the perfect animal for me to be..

  6. infinitieh says:

    Looking at the suburban “wild”life in my neighborhood, I would have to say wild turkeys. There are lots of food in the suburbs and there’s no hunting season for them. They get to poop everywhere, including the roofs of said suburban houses. I’ve seen flocks of 20+ of these annoying things. Sure, some of the neighborhood dogs would chase a flock up onto the roofs but the cats would leave them alone. Yep, lots of food, not many predators (because coyotes find it easier to eat the neighborhood cats), and fresh air.

Leave a Reply

