Guest Author: Beth Andrews

Please welcome RITA award winning fellow Superromance author Beth Andrews to the convertible today!  Here’s Beth …

Crimes of Fashion

I really enjoyed writing FEELS LIKE HOME, my August release for Superromance, mainly because the heroine, Yvonne Delisle, is so different from any other heroine I’ve written. She’s all about presenting a perfect facade to the world and, in the entire book, there are only two scenes where she’s less than perfectly made up or fashionably dressed. Now, for someone who pretty much lives in yoga pants and t-shirts, writing about someone so fashionable was a lot of fun.

Despite my own questionable working attire, I really do love clothes and fashion. I love reading fashion magazines and watching Project Runway and What Not To Wear. I even love to sew. While I don’t consider myself particularly fashionable or stylish, I have learned over the years what looks good on me (straight leg jeans) and what to avoid at all costs (pencil skirts and wide leg capris).

However, when I came across this list of The Best of the Worst Fashion Fads, I realized how far astray my fashion sense has roamed over my lifetime. So, in an effort to clear my conscience, I give you the list of The Best of the Worst Fashion Fads along with my declaration of guilt (or innocence) about each offense.

1. Mega Shoulder Pads – Innocent! Thank goodness I never aspired to look like an NFL linebacker (although, as a teenager in the 80’s, I did own quite a few sweaters with not-so-mega shoulder pads).

2. Ponchos – Guilty. The first time (or at least, the first time I remember) ponchos were popular was the mid 70’s and I happily wore the colorful knit poncho my mom had made me. The second coming of ponchos was when my own daughters were in children and while my older daughter avoided them like the plague, my younger one (then in preschool) had one. Even though I know ponchos are just plain wrong, she looked darn cute in hers 🙂

3. Spandex Pants – Innocent. Me + Spandex = Scary. ‘Nough said.

4. Midi Skirts – Innocent. Partly because these were before my time *g* but mainly because I’m too short to wear them.

5. Big Hair – *sigh* Guilty. Then again, I can’t think of anyone (other than my mother) who didn’t have big hair in the 80’s. My own Big Hair was curly and reached the middle of my back. My sister’s was shoulder-length but still seemed to take up more space overall. That girl had big hair. BIG HAIR.

6. Stirrup Pants – Guilty. Yes, I owned stirrup pants. Worse than that, I wore them. If memory serves, I may have even owned a pair of stirrup jeans that I wore with flats. For those poor pants that didn’t have stirrups sewn onto them, I had elastic clips that attached to the hem to keep my pants inside my boots (Oh, man, I had some really great boots in the 80’s!)
7. Visible Thong- Innocent. And really, REALLY glad of it (as is the world, I’m sure *g*)

8. Mullet – Uh…guilty (wincing). I had one for about a year while I waited for the sides of my hair to grow out.

9. Shrugs – Innocent. Although I have to admit, I thought some shrugs were sort of cute.

10. Harem Pants – Guilty. I actually had a jumpsuit type/harem pants…thing…I wore on my honeymoon. Hey, I was young and blinded by love. I couldn’t see what a hot mess I was! I also had a pair of high-waist, acid washed jeans with pleats (pleats!!) and tapered ankles. Good gravy, they were nothing BUT wrong.

(Helen here, after the fact. Ask and ye shall receive, Ellen. Here’s Beth in her harem pants!)

11. Acid Wash Jeans – Guilty (as noted above). And once again I’m forced to admit I was a teen in the 80’s and therefore deserve a pass on this one J

12. Low Rise Jeans – Innocent. I do wear low rise jeans but I think the list is referring to those super low rise jeans. You know, the ones that are really, really, oh-good-lord-you-can-see-lady-bits low.

As you can see, I’ve had my share of fashion failings, but they say confession is good for the soul *g* Are you guilty of any of the aforementioned Fashion Flubs? Any Fashion Flubs they missed? (I can think of a few *g*)

Beth is giving away a copy of FEELS LIKE HOME today, so please join in the conversation!

About Helen Brenna

Helen Brenna is the RITA award winning author of romances for Harlequin's Superromance line. Three more books in her popular Mirabelle Island series will be release in July, August and September of 2011. For more information, check out her website at www.helenbrenna.com.
This entry was posted in Guest Authors, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Guest Author: Beth Andrews

  1. Susan Wilson says:

    What about a Rah-rah skirt? Did you have one of those?
    I had many, all equally hideous in various colours!
    I also owned a gold satin suit that I used to wear to the disco!!!
    YUCK!!!!

  2. Beth Andrews says:

    Good morning! Thanks to Helen for inviting me to blog and to all the RWTTD ladies for having me *g*

    I forgot to mention in my post that I’m giving away a copy of Feels Like Home today (I’m scatter-brained due to an impending deadline – that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it!) Looking forward to hearing about everyone’s fashion ‘crimes’ 🙂

  3. Beth Andrews says:

    Hey, Susan! I was going to say no, that I’d never had a rah rah skirt…but then I realized I DID have one *g* I believe it was gold with a super wide black band at the waist. Ah…the memories that are coming back 😉

    The gold satin suit sounds groovy *ggg* And I’m envious because I never went to a disco, but man, how I loved watching Solid Gold and Dance Fever!

  4. I was going to confess my fashion sins and was dutifully keeping a mental list of guilty and innocent, but then I got to your honeymoon fashion bonanza harem-pants-jumpsuit combo and all coherent thought was sucked from my brain.

    I don’t suppose you’d care to add a photo to the post?

    Okay, I went back through. I’m guilty of only 4, but my big hair guilt is massive so I probably get extra un-credit for that. I also inflicted a baby mullet on my younger son who had lovely blond curls (in the back). I suppose that one’s on my list as well.

    Very fun blog, Beth! Can’t wait to read the book!

  5. Good morning, Beth. Congratulations on FEELS LIKE HOME and thanks for the great blog!

    I have to agree with Ellen. We definitely need a picture of that honeymoon outfit! Although, I’m sure you looked adorable. As for me, I was all about wearing the HUGE hair and the MONSTER shoulder pads…together. I was a force to be reckoned with…or made fun of. I’m not sure which.

    Best of luck with your new release and your deadline! I have to go clean out my closet now.

  6. Leanne Banks says:

    Yes to everything except harem pants, spandex pants, visible thongs and lowlowlow jeans. I frankly don’t think most of the best of the worst fashion fads were THAT awful. I think little girls look adorable in ponchos. A few people looked good with big hair (not me). Even with linebacker shoulder pads, my shoulders still looked puny. Funny, though, I pulled some shoulder pads out of a dress I recently bought.:)

    Congratulations on FEELS LIKE HOME! Your shero sounds interesting. I enjoy reading about fashion stuff too and am trying to remember to watch Project Runway every Thursday night this season…. my husband keeps hoping I’ll forget!lol

    Fun blog!:)
    xo,
    Leanne

  7. Helen Brenna says:

    Welcome Beth and congrats on your newest release! Thanks for coming to visit today.

    Oh, heck, I think I’m guilty of 10 out of the 12. I can think of a couple more fashion trends I could live without ever seeing again – elephant pants and overalls. Ick.

  8. Helen Jones says:

    I’m guilty of many of those fashion disasters. I remember standing up for my sister’s wedding with hair so big I couldn’t get in my car! And shoulder pads! I have a picture where i do indeed look like a linebacker. Makes sense since I had a blouse with shoulder pads, under a blazer with shoulder pads and since it was winter I had my coat on with-you guessed it. that picture is hidden away forever!

  9. michelehauf says:

    Welcome, Beth!

    Stirrup pants. Guilty. Neon. Remember Neon in the early 80s? I so remember my bright green pants (probably stirrup pants). I also did elephant pants, like Helen mentioned. Ugg. Glad I’m not trendy anymore. I think it’s safer just being unfashionable, yes?

  10. Rula Sinara says:

    Hey Beth! I’m soooo guilty of mega shoulder pads and stirrup pants…oh, and big hair. Of course, I was in TX at the time and I don’t think big hair ever goes out of style there ;). I had a pink poncho with pom pom ties as a kid. They do look cute on kids. If I tried to wear one now, I’d probably look pregnant LOL.

  11. Cindy Gerard says:

    Welcome Beth and congrats on the new release! Great cover.
    How about adding Hot pants and bell bottoms to the list? OMG. Can’t believe I wore them both. Fun post!

  12. Beth Andrews says:

    I don’t suppose you’d care to add a photo to the post?

    Ellen! How did you know I have a picture? Hmm…not sure I can add it to the post but just for you and Kath, I’ll post it on my facebook page *g* I think if you click on my name it’ll take you there. If not, here’s a link:http://www.facebook.com/bethandrewsauthor

    I also inflicted a baby mullet on my younger son who had lovely blond curls (in the back). I suppose that one’s on my list as well.

    LOL! It’s tough to cut those baby curls, isn’t it? I don’t think you’ll get on the list for it but I would’ve marked you down twice if he’d had a rat tail at any point after 1989 😉

  13. Beth Andrews says:

    Although, I’m sure you looked adorable.

    Not that you’re biased or anything *g*

    I would love to have seen you with huge hair! I bet you OWNED that look 😉

  14. Beth Andrews says:

    I frankly don’t think most of the best of the worst fashion fads were THAT awful. I think little girls look adorable in ponchos.

    Hi, Leanne! I agree. I didn’t see anything wrong with acid washed jeans or big hair – I kept the hair until after I’d had my first child *g* And my daughter looked adorable in her poncho!

    I enjoy reading about fashion stuff too and am trying to remember to watch Project Runway every Thursday night this season…. my husband keeps hoping I’ll forget!lol

    LOL! My husband will watch for a few minutes, ask me WHY I’m watching it then find something else to do *g* I’m enjoying this season, though. Love Anthony Ryan and Anya!

  15. Beth Andrews says:

    Thanks so much for the invite, Helen!

    I can think of a couple more fashion trends I could live without ever seeing again – elephant pants and overalls. Ick.

    Yes! I had overalls – pants and shorts versions, I believe *g*

    Oh, and what about those loud, crazy sweaters from the 80’s? I had an entire collection, each one more colorful and with weirder patterns than the last 🙂 Bill Cosby had nothing on my sweater collection!

  16. Beth Andrews says:

    Hey, Helen!

    I remember standing up for my sister’s wedding with hair so big I couldn’t get in my car!

    LOL!! Oh, I’d love to see a picture of that! And the one of you with your three sets of shoulder pads 😉

    The worst part about big hair to me was the amount of hairspray it took! I used to spray it, use a curling iron, spray it while it was on the curling iron then give it another dousing after. Ugh.

  17. Beth Andrews says:

    Hi, Michele!
    Remember Neon in the early 80s? I so remember my bright green pants (probably stirrup pants).

    Yep, I had a pair of bright pink jeans that I thought were the coolest things ever *g* I agree with you on it being safer to be unfashionable! We probably look much better, too 😉

  18. Beth Andrews says:

    Hey, Rula!

    I had a pink poncho with pom pom ties as a kid. They do look cute on kids. If I tried to wear one now, I’d probably look pregnant LOL.

    The ponchos my mom made had pom pom ties, too! I think I have them tucked away in a closet *g* I’m sure I’d look pregnant if I wore one nowadays. But at least we’d be warm – and we wouldn’t have to deal with sleeves 😉

  19. Beth Andrews says:

    Thanks so much, Cindy!

    How about adding Hot pants and bell bottoms to the list? OMG. Can’t believe I wore them both.

    LOL! My first thought (and this is me – I’m weird) was, “hey, go you, for having the nerve and the body to wear hot pants!”

    My husband was a teen in the 70’s, came from a big family and money was tight so his mom MADE him bell bottoms by adding material to the bottoms of his jeans! He said they looked terrible but he wore them anyway 🙂 And talk about hot pants. That man wore some short shorts. SHORT shorts. And that was just for the high school basketball team!

  20. Helen Brenna says:

    You can send me the honeymoon harem pants picture, Beth. I’ll post it for you. LOL!

  21. Kathleen O says:

    I must fess up too. I owned Stirrup pants and Harem pants.. I loved my self in the Stirrup pants.. With a long shirt..
    I have my own style and I know what looks good an me.. But I love to sit around in my stretch pants and a tshirt…

    Oh I had the shoulder pads, but not big ones.. lol

  22. Quilt Lady says:

    I am guilty of about three or your items, like the big hair, acid wash jeans, and maybe a few small shoulder pads because I didn’t have a choice because everything came with them and believer me I didn’t need them because my shoulders are big anyway. I have been known to cut them out of the clothes.

  23. Beth Andrews says:

    You can send me the honeymoon harem pants picture, Beth. I’ll post it for you. LOL!

    Thanks, Helen! I’ll send it along *g*

  24. Helen Brenna says:

    Beth, you’re such a good sport! Harem pants picture posted!

  25. Keri Ford says:

    I really really expected Ugg boots to be on here. (whispers, I love mine!).
    I had a poncho, I think. I’m trying to remember if that’s what it was. It was very thin, white knit or something. I only wore it maybe once or twice. was either poncho or a big wide scarf.
    Big Hair, sort of. My hair is thin and was good at laying flat. However, give my mom a thin curling iron, comb and a can of aqua net and I could have some MEGA bangs.
    And my other–low rise jeans. yes, the REALLY low ones where momma took a second look and made mom faces. I admit, I love those low rise jeans and missed them until I had a baby. I believe it was Leanne on twitter this morning who said it…overstretched rubber band never goes all the way back. 🙂

    fun post and congrats on the release Beth!

  26. chey says:

    I’m guilty of acid wash jeans, ponchos, big hair, shoulder pads, and stirrup pants.

  27. Beth Andrews says:

    Kathleen, I used to love to wear long shirts (with or without a cool belt) over stirrup pants, too *g* I love to dress up but can usually be found in yoga pants. Once the kids go back to school (Monday! Yay!!) I’m going to try and get ‘done up’ every day. My husband will, I’m sure, be grateful 😉

  28. Beth Andrews says:

    I have been known to cut them out of the clothes.

    Me, too, Quilt Lady! I don’t like how they look when they’re in something that doesn’t have a lot of structure so out they go *g*

  29. Beth Andrews says:

    Beth, you’re such a good sport! Harem pants picture posted!

    LOL! Thanks, Helen. Not sure it’s something I should put out there for the world to see but hey, we’ve all had bad fashion days 😉 What really gets me are those red, dagger nails! They were real! Ugh.

  30. Laney4 says:

    OMG, this is hilarious! Okay. I was in high school and college in the seventies, so these styles have been around, but I haven’t worn a lot of them (thankfully).
    I wore (and still do on occasion) tiny shoulder pads. Basically they cover my bra indentations. Never wore mega ones.
    My mom crocheted a brown poncho for me in the sixties. I hated it with a passion and finally sold it in my yard sale after my mom died (around 2005).
    Spandex? Yick. Don’t go there.
    Yes, I wore midi skirts to work. Then again, I’m 5’10” and could get away with them.
    I’ve never had big hair. I get headaches when my short short hair is 6 weeks old, so that’s not a concern for me.
    The only time I’ve worn hair spray was on my wedding day (by MY big sister). When we walked out of the church and confetti was thrown (back when that was allowed), I shook my head and all the hair spray came out. Made me VERY happy.
    Never wore stirrup or harem pants, most likely because I couldn’t find pants long enough back in those days.
    No thongs of any type. Would rather go without than feel that. (TMI?)
    No mullet. No weird hair styles. B-O-R-I-N-G-L-Y short, ready-to-go-out-the-door hair cuts.
    Shrugs? No idea what you mean, other than moving my shoulders up and down.
    Never heard of a rah-rah skirt either.
    Wasn’t allowed to wear jeans until I moved out after college. Wore my brother’s hand-me-down hipster cords throughout high school/college because only boys’ pants were long enough for me.
    Wore hot pants (in various styles) and my brother’s bell bottoms in high school.
    Also wore a lot of baby doll pajamas back in those days. I was all leg….

  31. Hi, Beth!
    Oh my oh my. Since I’ve spanned quite a few trends and fads, I guess I’ve had most of that stuff hanging in my closet. I don’t think I wore a midi. Minis and maxis, but no midis. No shrugs. Yes to shoulder pads, but not THAT big. No harem pants, but I did experiment with jump suits once or twice. Too inconvenient, if you know what I mean. My hair won’t go big. Clyde did the mullet, but not me. I mean *I* didn’t do the mullet, not…
    Hey, what’s wrong with a nice poncho?

  32. Beth Andrews says:

    I believe it was Leanne on twitter this morning who said it…overstretched rubber band never goes all the way back.

    LOL! That’s true for most people I know *g* My daughters love their Ugg boots, too! Speaking of boots, my younger daughter bought a pair of dressier boots for back-to-school but won’t wear them outside! Not sure if she’s going to carry them to school or if she just doesn’t want them to get dirty before the first day 🙂

    Thanks for the congrats, Keri, and for hanging out with us today!

  33. Beth Andrews says:

    Hi, Chey! I’m impressed you’ve had so few ‘best of the worst’ fashion moments *g* Thanks for stopping by!

  34. Beth Andrews says:

    Hi, Laney!

    Shrugs? No idea what you mean, other than moving my shoulders up and down.

    Shrugs were little, lightweight sweaters (I think they were all sweaters, or most of them) that were super short. Like a cut off cardigan that only covered the shoulder blades in the back *g*

    I can’t imagine how difficult it must have been to find pants that were long enough for you. My younger daughter is all legs, too and is hoping to reach 5’10” when she’s done growing 🙂

  35. Beth Andrews says:

    Clyde did the mullet, but not me. I mean *I* didn’t do the mullet, not…

    ROFL, Kathleen! I don’t think there’s anything necessarily wrong about a poncho – especially a rain poncho. Love how you can hide under one of those and keep completely dry *g* I just don’t think one would be very flattering on me 🙂

    I’m with you on the jumpsuits. I had one when I was a bank teller and it really was inconvenient!

  36. Beth Andrews says:

    Thanks again for having me over to hang out with you all! And thanks for the fun conversation 🙂

  37. SEO Services says:

    04018816863455836095406102 84147221812676226 seo 702241280861222844107 company 8715156387273227. 8022222 seo agency 6395110317412244 extra 48 856221638091404538164229110225 seo company 933169 74190622210389982546 2222904.94306 🙂

Leave a Reply

