Debra – Mantras

A mantra can be a phrase you use to visualize and encourage certain behaviors or thinking.  “I do not need a pool boy to be happy.”  See how that would refocus your thinking and remind you that pool boys are accessories and not the foundation of all happiness?

At some point in the last ten years I decided to adopt a number of mantras to help me focus, manage my life, manage my guilt and generally manage any situation in which I found myself letting guilt, pride or resistance drive my decisions.

Some of my favorite mantras are ones stolen from brilliant people who shared their secrets with me.

1)  Just because you’ve always done it that way doesn’t mean it‘s not stupid.

2)  A failure to plan on your part does not constitute a crisis on my part.

3)  Fix the problem not the blame.

4)  Your issues are not my issues.

5)  I am comfortable with your discomfort.

6)  “No” is a complete sentence.

7)  Change brings opportunity.

8)  Life is pretty damn good, all things considered.

Do you have reminders you repeat to yourself?

Like:  “I must buy BLOOD ROCK as soon as I can.”  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Debra – Mantras

  1. Kathleen O says:

    I have a couple..
    Life is tough, just suck it up!!
    I am a leader, not a follower, so either fall in behind me or get of my way…

  2. Stephenia says:

    After looking at the picture of the guy with the stomach lickable abs, I think I DO need a pool boy!

    Age is just a number
    Life is as good as you think it is
    I control my thoughts and emotions

  3. debradixon says:

    Kathleen– “Life is tough, just suck it up!!”

    Yes! I like it. Very positive in a “take no prisoners” kind of way!

  4. debradixon says:

    Stephenia– “stomach lickable abs” Oh my! So true!!

    “I control my thoughts and emotions” would be great for times when you know you’re about to face a number of stressors. Excellent!

  5. Deb, I’m coming late to the party, but here’s a few I use:

    I refuse to grow old, but growing older is a privilege.
    There’s no expiration date on dreams.
    Forgive your enemies; it messes up their heads.
    Life is simpler when you plow around the stump.
    To my loved ones having tough times: Let me be your GPS through the valley of the shadows.

Leave a Reply

