Top Ten Pleasures that Got Me Through July! You?

So how did that month of July work out for you?

Woo-wee, we’ve had some kind of month, haven’t we? With the horrific heat wave we’ve experienced, the economy in the cellar, and travel and gas prices so high, I’ve had to take my little pleasures where I could find them. The great thing about little pleasures is you don’t usually feel guilty after partaking, they’re inexpensive, and they take the edge off the sharp points in our lives. Here are my top ten for last month:

10. Slurpees   purplescreme  My faves are Coke and Lemonade flavored.  If you wait and eat a fruit-flavored slurpee in the evening, you can add rum and the slurpee becomes a daiquiri (a slurpee that’ll slap you<G>).

9.  Giving up on styling my hair and letting it air dry after washing.

8.  Getting sprayed by my husband with the water hose. “Do it again, honey!”lol

7.  Taking lessons from my dog on how to conserve energy.   sleepingpom

  1. A battery-operated personal fan                                                       personalfan 

5.  A free outdoor concert where the band, Ron Moody and the Centaurs, featured Motown music, I drank iced water, used my personal fan and watched a cute couple dance the entire time.

003

  1. Daydreams about a boat ride (still waiting for that<g>).
  1. Spotting several hummingbirds by the feeder.  
  1. Eating homegrown tomatoes, squash and corn. hummingbird_feeder

summerveggies

  1. Drumroll… AIR CONDITIONING! (Expensive, but oh, so worth it!)

What have been some of your recent little pleasures? Maybe I can try a few of yours! On your mark, get set, go!

Xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Top Ten Pleasures that Got Me Through July! You?

  1. Kylie Brant says:

    We like to hang out by the water. Boating on the Mississippi, going to the lake. It’s always cooler at the lake, too, for some reason. But I’m not going to lie, when it was so beastly hot I didn’t go outside for days at a time!

  2. Leanne Banks says:

    Same here Kylie! Just sat inside. Might as well have had a blizzard! … Except we didn’t have to shovel. So glad SOMEONE is enjoying some BOATING!:) Thanks for commenting!:) xo, Leanne

  3. Geri Krotow says:

    Pedicures in an air conditioned salon!

    • Leanne Banks says:

      OH, Geri yes! And tell them not to rush.:) Right?:) Wishing you many wonderful pedicures in comfort.:) xo, Leanne

  4. michelehauf says:

    AC is the best summer pleasure, and yep, so worth the expense. Fresh garden tomatoes. Num. Wearing skirts all the time and not worrying that my legs are white. Sitting on the back step, smelling the cocoa mulch fill the air with chocolate.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Me too with the lilly-white legs and skirts! And sundresses too! Cocoa mulch? SOUNDS DELISH! (I need to talk to my husband about cocoa mulch!) Thanks Miss Michele!:) xo, Leanne

  5. loisgreiman says:

    I’m outside about five hours a day lately; I’ve found multiple showers to be really lovely. Just takes a few seconds to remove grit, get cooled off and revived. Oh, and root beer floats. Yummmm.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Lois, I don’t see how you do it, but good for you. Thank goodness for running water! YES!!!:) THANKS for popping in! Now go shower. xo, Leanne

  6. Helen Brenna says:

    Riding my bike! You create your own breeze, so it’s the only exercise you can do outside in the heat. And I’m stealing that adding rum to a slurpee idea! Sounds so nummy!

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Helen, I’m so proud of you for all your bike riding! Just remember to take a break if you have terrible heat. OK? Hey, everyone could use a no-fuss daiquiri sometimes.:) Thanks for popping in!;) xo, Leanne

  7. Kristine says:

    Air conditioning, floating in the Gulf on my preschooler’s innertube, floating in the lazy river at our local water park, frozen yogurt at Bippy’s, ice cream at Baskin Robbin’s, lots of light and super easy dinners (club sandwiches/pastrami sandwiches/chicken salads/hotdogs), knowing we left for our Smoky Mtn. vacation on the 29th, and shopping for the new school year 🙂

    • Kristine says:

      correction *we’d leave* for our Smoky Mtn. vacation

      • Leanne Banks says:

        Kristine, I love your list and I’ve already told you that your vacay sounded FAB! Shopping helps because they stores have AC!:) Like your light easy dinners and wonder what kind of ice cream you get at B&R.:) My top fave is Jamoca Almond Fudge. Thanks for popping in!:) xo, Leanne

  8. Kathleen O says:

    Tim Horton’s Ice Caps, ice Tea, the home made kind. My friends, books, the backyard, The Mall, it’s air conditioned and of course AIR CONTIONING…

  9. Kathleen O says:

    Forgot to mention the pool at my cousins…

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Had to google TH Ice Caps, yummy! I LIVE on homemade iced tea! Oh,man you know someone with a pool? I would love to have my own pool…. if someone else would take care of it.:) THANKS Kathleen!:) xo, Leanne

Leave a Reply

