DEADLY SINS

I was flipping through a Redbook yesterday waiting for my nail appointment and came across a top ten list. What is it about these lists? They exist on every subject known to mankind, yet I find them irresistible.  So of course I had to read it. And it was pretty cute. See for yourself:

Ten Things Never to Say to the Man You Love

1–I can’t wait to see what you’re doing for my birthday.
2–Are you…crying?
3–If we leave right now, we’ll have time to go to Bed, Bath and Beyond
4–Do you need help lighting the grill?
5–I’m putting this whole conversation on my blog.
6–You had so much hair back then!
7–I don’t care how big and drunk he is. He shouldn’t be talking through the movie. I’m going to say something.
8–Actually, it doesn’t happen to every guy.
9–We’re vegetarians now.
10–You should call my dad. I’m sure he’ll know how to fix it.

Supposedly this list came from men. Frankly I’m shocked that “Does this make me look fat?” and “Shouldn’t we stop and ask for directions?” didn’t make an appearance.

I have a new book coming out today. DEADLY SINS is the sixth book in The Mindhunters series and it’s Adam Raiker’s story. He’s the head of the private forensics agency that all the characters in the preceding books work for. I hadn’t intended to tell his story but readers and my editor insisted. I think this is the most exciting one yet. Check out more information at my website here:  http://www.kyliebrant.com/coming.html

In honor of the book release, I thought maybe I should make a top ten list of things never to say to an author :

1–How much did you have to pay to get your book published?
2–When I have time I’m going to write a book.
3–I rarely read trashy books so yours was a guilty pleasure.
4–It actually had a plot!
5–I don’t read. When will it come out on audio or as a movie?
6–I hope your next book is more interesting.
7–I wanted to slap your hero/heroine/insert word of choice here.
8–When are you going to write a real book?
9–I read your books on the subway ride to work. Of course I put a different cover on them so people won’t know I read those books.
10–(upon meeting the author) OMG!!!! You’re like…a real person!

Do you like top ten lists? Have anything you’d like to add to either list? I’m giving away a copy of DEADLY SINS to one commenter today!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to DEADLY SINS

  1. Willa says:

    Oooh congratulations on Deadly Sins – have been looking forward to Raiker’s story so much. Just a little sad that it is the last one in the Mindhunters series.

    Things never to say to an author.

    #11. Where do you get your ideas from?
    #12. I could write something like this – it can’t be hard.
    #13. When are you going to write a real book.
    #14. Do you do research for your sex scenes?

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Ooh, Willa, the cherished question about the love scenes!!! The old–do you need some help researching them? Blech. Like I don’t get enough of that from my husband, LOL!

  2. TrishJ says:

    I am so glad Adam is getting his own story. I want a HEA for him so much!

    Never say to an author:
    11. I’ve just written a wonderful book, would you read it for me and tell me what you think?

    Never say to a man:
    11. What do you think?

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Lol, Trish, asking a man what he’s thinking is just asking for trouble! Because when he says nothing…and you realize that is exactly what’s going through his mind–it can make us reconsider our marital choices 🙂 How can something think nothing????

  3. leannebanks says:

    Great blog!lol I have actually said to my husband “I can’t wait to see what you do for my birthday!” — followed by an evil laugh. Never say to an author: I have a great idea for a book. How about if I give you the idea, you write the book and we’ll split the money?

    I’m so glad we’re getting another Mindhunters! Congrats on the release!:)

    xo,
    Leanne

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Thanks Leanne. I’ve had a few of the split the money questions. It’s amazing to discover that most of these people believe their ideas are worth about 98% of the profits!

  4. cindygerard says:

    Congrats on the new release, Kylie! Can’t wait to get my hands on Raiker’s story! Have a week at the cabin coming up soon and guess what I’ll be reading. :o)
    Thanks for including #3 on your list – I know you did that just for me after i shared a love you/hate you fan(??) letter last week. LOL
    Add to your list, “How much money do you make?” and “How long does it take you to crank out a book?” – like I have a machine at home with all kinds of gears and pulleys and all I have to do is stuff a story idea into it and run it through the cycle. :o)
    Great post

  5. AlisonP says:

    Congratulations on Deadly Sins! I LOVE the MindHunters series! LOL! Love the blog…what a great start to my Tuesday!

    Never say to an Author…They paid you for this!?!
    Never say to a man…Aww look how cute “it” is!

  6. Jennifer Lowery~Writer says:

    What a fun post! I needed a good laugh this morning-thank you. My favorite is OMG!!! You’re like…a real person. That one is great. I have just started to read this series so I can’t wait to read this one too. Great post!

  7. Kylie Brant says:

    Thanks so much, Jennifer! Seriously the woman was quite sweet…but I did wonder about medication issues 🙂

  8. LSUReader says:

    Congrats on the release. Looks like another great read.

    I’m with you on that Redbook list. How in the world is the list complete without “Should we stop and ask directions?” And how about, “Did you read the instructions first?” Thanks for a fun post.

  9. Helen Brenna says:

    Kylie, congrats on your new release!!!

    I love Top Ten lists. They’re usually at once hilarious and curiously insightful. I’m surprised, “We need to talk” wasn’t on the Redbook list.

    I’ve actually had several people ask me, “Have I read any of your books?”

  10. Mary M. says:

    Actually, my hubby loves Bed Bath and Beyond! lol

    Bad question for husband…. When ar you going to stop and ask for directions?

    Bad question for author…(when meeting in person) Wow, when did you have that picture taken that is on your book cover , you look much older in person!

  11. Lynn Kirk says:

    Cannot wait to pick up your latest to take on my weekend trip..woo hoo. I love your top ten list…lol…

    never say to a author : I think you should have……. (insert your own scenario) with this or that character

  12. Kylie Brant says:

    Thanks, Lynn, hope you enjoy it! Sometimes those suggestions from readers just get politely listened to. But occasionally they are curiously insightful. Not often but sometimes.

  13. Deborah R says:

    Congrats on the new release! Can’t wait to read it…
    add to the never say to men…. “My ex …(insert anything here)”
    and to the author… “I’ve never heard of you are you new?”

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Ah yes, Deborah, there’s nothing like the knifewound to the heart that comes from telling an author with a two decade career “I’ve never heard of you!” All you can do is smile and think well, honey, you’ve heard of me now!

  14. Joyce Lamb says:

    Hi, Kylie!
    Congrats on release day! I can’t wait to get my hands on Deadly Sins. 🙂
    Never say to an author: “I want to read your book, but I’d have to skip the dirty parts.”
    Sigh.

  15. Kylie Brant says:

    Thanks Joyce! Eek, that’s a new one albeit a variation on the theme! I was a bit bemused that my 95 year old great-aunt always read my books and bragged them up. Of course she always went on to assure people, “I just skip those parts. You know the publisher makes her put them in there.” Ooookay 🙂

  16. catslady says:

    I can only think of naughty comments such as “ummm, well, maybe size does matter” or “you already did what?” – sorry, my mind in in the gutter today lol.
    Could I start out reading this book or should it be read in order?

    • kylie brant says:

      Catslady, I actually thought of the size comment, as well I’m told this book stands well alone. Certainly I had a lot of reviewers who were new to the series who have said so.

  17. loisgreiman says:

    Congrats Kylie. Looks fannnntastic!

    One of my favorites when I’m at a booksigning is: “Where’s the bathroom?”

  18. michelehauf says:

    Here’s one that always gets me: How do you know what it’s like to drink blood?
    Or the other: I can help you with your research because I am a vampire.

    Er. Okaaaaaay.

  19. MaryC says:

    Congratulations on Deadly Sins, Kylie! Looking forward to reading Adam’s story – my copy should arrive by the end of the week.
    Loved the Top Ten lists.

  20. Kylie Brant says:

    Hope you enjoy DS, Mary!

  21. chey says:

    Congrats on Deadly Sins!
    I like to read (and laugh at) top 10 lists.

  22. Keri Ford says:

    Congrats on the release!

    #11. you only worked on 5pgs all day? that’s it? did you nap too?

  23. Kylie Brant says:

    OMG, Keri, did you happen to follow my husband in to the house tonight? Verbatim!

  24. I’m asked all the time:
    “Can I buy your book in a bookstore?”

    That’s a funny one. Don’t know where they think the =would= buy it! Happy Release Day!

  25. Kylie Brant says:

    You’re right, Christie they always ask where they can buy it. Ummm, a bookstore???

    BTW, over at jaunty quills we’re talking about favorite series and you are mentioned *several* times!

Leave a Reply

