Silly fun with frogs!

Ok, I admit it.  I’m addicted to an electronic game.  Yes, for years I’ve been pointing my finger at my mother, kids, and friends who play Angry Birds.  But now, I have succumbed. No, I don’t have time for any pissed-off birds fighting pigs (or whatever it is, they do). I much prefer the sweet, gentle frogs in Pocket Frogs.
I love my frogs.  I play them in the morning, during lunch break, and at night (sometimes on my afternoon break, too).

What’s the game about? Well, there’s no skill required. You’re basically jumping a frog from lily pad to lily pad, and collecting frogs (there’s over 50K to collect) and breeding them, and racing them.  I take a huge thrill in collecting color-coordinated sets. You can pick the habitat they live in and fill it with leaves and rocks to keep them happy.  What makes me happy is a Cocoa Ceres Geminus (breed and color of frog).  Last week they updated the game with 10 new frogs! Such joy.

All right, I know.  Frogs? No birds? And why waste time on a silly game?  Well, it’s fun, and yes, a little exciting, and—I just like it.  Is that a good enough reason? I’m not sure.  But yes, I think it’s okay to have a silly little passion that makes you smile.  And now my kids can point their fingers at me.  And if you play the game, let me know. We can trade frogs.  😉

And I should mention my latest, ASHES OF ANGELS is in stores now (for a very short time) so if you’re into angels, demons, vampires (and there’s a nephilim lumbering around in there, too) pick up a copy!  Or better yet, comment today, for a chance to win a copy.

So tell me, do you have a favorite electronic game you play?  Are you addicted to it? Or some other fun, silly little game/hobby you might enjoy?

Michele, who also just opened a Tumblr account, where I’m posting pics/words that inspire my BEAUTIFUL CREATURES world. Visit it at:  http://haufsbeautifulcreatures.tumblr.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Silly fun with frogs!

  1. Pingback: WebasiFun « WebAsif

  2. Minna says:

    Favorite electronic game? Well, it’s a good thing I don’t have it on my computer, otherwise I’d waste my time playing Tetris. It’s simple, yet very addictive.
    Did you know Angry Birds is a Finnish game? I haven’t played it myself, but I’ve crocheted some of the Angry Birds characters, because evidently some people just can’t get enough of Angry Birds and even want to have some of them sitting on their desks (or where ever)! I’ve gotten more yarn and books and stuff by swapping those Angry Birds characters I’ve made. Here’s one of them:
    http://www.titletrader.com/invinfo/TT_1005087_1311538893.html
    Isn’t he cute?

  3. Theresa N says:

    I’m subject to becoming addicted to any electronic game I play ( I first noticed this problem when Pac Man came out) so I try really hard to stay away from them. 🙂 Your game sounds really fun, but if I fall off the wagon now I’ll be doomed.
    Theresa N
    weceno(at)yahoo(dot)com

    • michelehauf says:

      Oh, Theresa, nope, not trying to get anyone off the wagon. I was so good for years. I just don’t put the game on my computer, then I’m fine. But Pocket Frogs was free, and well, it’s just so cute! 🙂

  4. cindygerard says:

    Michele – covering my ears and closing my eyes here. lalalalalalalalala I didn’t see this. No nothing about no frogs…
    i can’t. i repeat, can not check out your frogs. it has addiction written all over it and knowing me i could EASILY get hooked.
    I have a hard enough time just staying away from spider solitaire so the froggies would probably put me over the top. LOL
    But you have fun. You who have restraint.
    And congrat on the new release. Nephilim, Hum? Do I even want to know??? ;o)

    • michelehauf says:

      Spiders? I’ll stick with my frogs. And I wasn’t trying to lure anyone into a new addiction with this post, but hmm… Maybe?

      The nephilim are a result of a fallen angel mating with his mortal muse. Nasty creatures, those nephilim. You certainly don’t want to run into one of those things anytime soon, trust me on that one.

  5. leannebanks says:

    Those frogs look so cute!:) I don’t play internet or computer games. Never have. If I played anything online, it would be scrabble or find the differences between these two pics. HUGE congrats on your new release! It looks fab! xoxo, Leanne

    • michelehauf says:

      Scrabble! Ok, I might have one other small addiction. My son introduced me to Words With Friends, which is scrabble you play back and forth. So we’ll play a game over days, just checking in every so often to see if the other has put up a new word. Fun. And man, I’m learning a lot of new words.

  6. Nicky says:

    I love that game! It’s oddly addictive

  7. Hey Michele, DON’T COUNT ME IN FOR THE CONTEST PLEASE. I got your book at Nationals. Just wanted to chime in…I actually don’t play many electronic games on phone of computer. If I do succumb it’s to play scrabble, maybe chess, and poppit, which is very addictive. Am not that interested in playing bird games, angry or otherwise, but once I get my iPAD2 I will be all over words with friends. Can’t wait for it to come in.

    Congrats on your book birthday. Have shared the links…so will pop back in later to see what people have to say.

    Peace and love,
    Paula R.

  8. Helen Brenna says:

    Having once suffered a repetitive motion injury in my right shoulder from too much joy stick time – yes, I’m dating myself – I stay away from addictive games with a twenty foot pole. Love the wings on this cover, Michele!

    • michelehauf says:

      I was pretty happy with those wings, too. THey’re supposed to be made of silver, and they look pretty close. But who really notices beyond those abs? And I was super pleased they didn’t show his belly button, because the dude doesn’t have one. Angel, you know.

  9. Kathleen O says:

    I get on my pc and my cell and play all kinds of card games, or word games.But I could play cards the old fashion way too.. you know with actally playing cards one hold in theri hands..LOL!!!

    • michelehauf says:

      Used to love playing solitaire with REAL cards. I think I’d prefer the hands-on version to the electronic version of that game. Some things you just have to go old-school. 🙂

  10. Kylie Brant says:

    Michele, I recently downloaded Angry Birds just so I could see what all the fuss was about. What a *stupid* game! I have Scrabble and Solitaire downloaded on my phone right now. It does help to pass the time in Airports, doctor offices, etc. And I’m addicted to Sudoku puzzles and online bridge on the computer!

    • michelehauf says:

      I’m glad to hear someone else doesn’t like the angry birds. Well, I suppose if you play it for a while, you become addicted, no matter what. Never even tried Sudoku, but perhaps it best I just stick to the frogs for now. 🙂

  11. catslady says:

    Oh I love games!!! Any kind. I would play 24 hrs. a day if I could lol. I don’t have one of the new phones with game capability and that’s probably a very good thing lol. I do play computer games because I can do that myself. At the moment Bejeweled on Facebook has me totally hooked. It’s a one minute game and I’ve probably played it thousands of time lol.

  12. michelehauf says:

    Catslady, I always think, if I was sick in bed, I could probably play frogs all day. And I wouldn’t feel guilty about the wasted day at all. So I’m glad I’m never sick. 😉

  13. lois greiman says:

    Okay, I’m feeling weird and lonely cuz I play no games on my pc. And I’m a really addiction prone personality. Hmmm. What does this tell us.

    Best of luck with your beautiful new book.

  14. We try to avoid angry birds in our house.

    I don’t do electronic games. When Elizabeth told me about a year ago that everybody at work was farming, I told her we could use some sweet corn. The girls are still doing Pixie Hollow, which is cute as can be. I wonder if they’ve seen the frogs. Can you use it on an iPod or just the computer? I do limit their game time. For every minute they spend on that stuff they have to spend equal time with nose in book. Even in the summer? Especially in the summer.

    • michelehauf says:

      Kathy, the frogs would be perfect for kids. No violence, just happily jumping from lily pad to lily pad. It’s an app, so I know it works on iPads and phones, but not sure about the iPod.

Leave a Reply

