BOOK RELEASE!! – With No Remorse

WITH NO REMORSE_NOT_FINAL

Okay.   I’ll admit it.  After 45+ books, I still get excited about a new release.  I’m particularly excited about WITH NO REMORSE (out today!!!), as it’s book 6 in my Black Ops, Inc. series and it’s about Luke – Doc Holliday – Colter who I’ve been dying to write about ever since the former SEAL and current BOI team medic stepped onto the page.

Doc is totally my kind of guy.  He’s sweet and funny and smart and alpha and just can’t help but be heroic – even when he thinks his ‘hero’ gene has taken a hike.

Here’s a little taste of With No Remorse to give you a feel for this particular hero’s crisis of conviction:

Luke Colter’s number one rule of self-preservation: Don’t ignore the itch.

The last time he’d blown off the warning, he’d ended up gut-shot and on life support in a San Salvador hospital. So when he felt that first infinitesimal tickle of unease skitter along the back of his neck, he shot straight to attention.

Nothing looked out of sync inside the gently rocking train as it methodically ate up the miles across the Peruvian Andes in the middle of a very quiet June night. Still, his heart had kicked up like a marathon runner on his last leg so from his seat in the middle of the dimly lit passenger car, he scanned for signs of trouble.

And saw nothing.

God, he was tired. Dog dead tired. He could use another week off but tomorrow it was back to Buenos Aires. Back to the trenches. He swallowed the acid taste of dread.

Suck it up, Nancy boy. It’s not like you’ve got a lot of options.

The military and then Black Ops., Inc. had been his life. The life he’d always wanted. And yet since San Salvador … well. Since San Salvador his backbone seemed to have gone the way of the dodo bird.

Was his mother right? Had he given enough? Had he had enough? Is that what this erosion of his nerve was trying to tell him?

Bleary-eyed, he stared toward the dust and fingerprint smeared windows and pushed back the memory of his mother’s heart-wrenching question and the guilt brought on by her tears.

Outside, the night scrolled by, star-studded and black. Iron wheels on iron rails rumbled and clacked and whined in a rhythmic static of endless white noise.

His hand moved involuntarily to his side. Close to a year later, he still felt the occasional twitch of pain. But it wasn’t the pain that bothered him. More and more lately he woke up in the night tearing at the sheets and drenched in sweat, reliving the shooting one more time.

Enough, all ready. He was so not going there tonight, because damn, it was too easy and too often that he let himself get dragged back into that sucking pit of quicksand. A sure way to get killed in his line of work was to think about dying. About almost dying. About being so scared you’re gonna die that you make promises you know you could never keep. Promises to God. Promises to the devil.

Promises to your mom.

At what point is enough, enough, Luke?

Yeah. Quicksand.

~~~~

So, there you have it.  A hero who thinks he’s lost his nerve – but finds out soon enough that it takes more than a little self-doubt to undercut a hero’s true nature.

Please tell me about some of your favorite real life or novel heroes.  For me, Jesse from LaVryle Spencer’s HUMMINGBIRD will always be at the top of my list – right beside Devon from Tom and Sharon Curtis’s THE WINDFLOWER.  And let’s not forget Rourke from every J.D. Robb book ever written and Ranger from the Stephanie Plum series.  Oh, be still my heart.  Now give, who’s your fav?  Someone who comments will receive an autographed copy of WITH NO REMORSE.

http://www.cindygerard.com

“When it comes to heart-stopping danger laced with passionate romance, no one does it better than Gerard!” Romantic Times 4 ½ stars – HOT!

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

87 Responses to BOOK RELEASE!! – With No Remorse

  1. Jane says:

    Happy Release Day, Cindy. I’ve been waiting a while for Doc’s book. Gabe is definitely one of my all time heroes. I love that he’s such an alpha male, but I love the tender moments he has with Jenna. Another favorite is Aragorn from the LOTR trilogy.

  2. kris says:

    happy release day! so glad the BOI’s are back!!! luke’s story has been long awaited!!!!!

  3. Betina says:

    Oh, I can’t wait for this one! Any guy who listens to his mom is a guy I’ll cheer for. I LOVE that he’s thinking about what she said. Hooked me immediately. And yes, he’s a great character who deserves a happily ever after!

    Cindy, how do you do it? Time and again you bring us heroes who melt our hearts and make us wish. . . well, you know what we wish. All I can say is thanks.

    Sorry for going all fan-girl on you. It’s early.

    • cindygerard says:

      Dear, dear Betina. You make my heart swell. You have always been the gold standard for me when it comes to writing amazing stories and characters. I’m so happy and humbled that YOU have gone fan-girl on ME. Thanks, sweetie.

  4. Sue says:

    I love a strong Alpha male! But I love the strong female characters you write just as much!

    • cindygerard says:

      Me too, Sue. The more Alpha, the better. And I, too, like a strong woman – especially a woman who doesn’t even realize how strong she is until the going gets really rough.

  5. Kathleen O says:

    Happy Release day Cindy.. I will be flying to the bookstore to get this today… Cannot wait to read it..
    I wish you many, many wonderful sales of this book.. I have not doubt it will be another great hit.

  6. Leanne Banks says:

    Congratulations Cindy! People are LOVING this book!!! NO WONDER!!:) You asked about memorable heroes. One of my faves is from the Laura Kinsale book The Prince Of Midnight. S.T. Maitland, a dangerous legendary highwayman is brought to his knees by an explosion. So, yeah, this big bad powerful man now suffers from dizzy spells and is deaf in one ear… but he still helps the heroine seek her revenge. Fascinating guy.:)

    • cindygerard says:

      Thanks, Leanne and yes!! I LOVED that Kinsale book. Oh. My. He overcame so much and suffered so much. No one does suffering heroes like Kinsale!!

  7. Happy Release Day, Cindy!!! I already have this one, and I can’t wait to get into it. Am trying to get the BL for this series…only have some, and then I can start reading from the first one up to this one. I’ve heard some great things, and a lot of my friends, who have read it, LOVE IT!! Very excited for you.

    You’ve already named two of my fave heroes…Roarke and Ranger. I also love Joe Morelli from the Stephanie Plum series, Max Pesaro from Colleen Gleason’s Vampire Gardella Chronicles along with Giordan Cale from her Regency Draculie series. Wrath from J.R. Ward’s BDB series, Dez from Jessica Andersen’s Nightkeeper series, Rochester from Jane Eyre, Zach Angelino from Roxanne St. Claire’s Guardian Angelino series…I could go on and on and on.

    Peace and love,
    Paula R.

    • cindygerard says:

      Thanks Paula and that’s quite a list of heroes. Big sigh.

      As for my series – I can say with all honesty that you can read each book as a stand alone. You don’t have to have read the others to ‘catch up’. I do think that sometimes it’s more fun to read them in order but I wrote them so that you really wouldn’t need to.
      hope you enjoy them!

      • I knew you were going to say that…lol!!! Rationally, I know they are all stand-alones, but when I read books in a series, I like to read in order of publication. It helps to keep me grounded in the story. I know that sometimes I discover things about a character in book 4 that happens in book 2 when I read out of sequence. It messes up my way of thinking. I didn’t read the J.D. Robb books until I had them all, and then once I started I was stuck in that world. Ready for the next book to come along. Learning and growing with every character, and they become family to me. It’s also much easier for me to lose myself in the story, so that when I come up for air, I really need to re-adjust to my real-life surrounding. The same was the case with Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series. It’s a much richer and better experience for me that way. I don’t have to worry about what might have happened to so and so, while I’m learning and growing with the main characters. I hope that makes sense. I’ve ordered what I’m missing, so I should be reading this one as soon as they come in.

        Peace and love,
        Paula R.

  8. Helen Brenna says:

    Congrats, Cindy! Just the snippet alone has me already loving Luke!

    Jesse from Hummingbird is one of my all time favs, too. I also love everyone of SEP’s heroes. The alpha with a sardonic twist makes me swoon!

  9. Pingback: Review: Treachery in Death | A Letter from Hide Tower

  10. Beth Mast says:

    Whew, I finally found where to leave a comment!
    Sounds like an awesome read! I would love to have a copy!
    Congrats Cindy!

  11. Minna says:

    Happy Release day Cindy!
    My all time favorite is Roarke from in Death series.

  12. Cathy Phillips says:

    Congrats on your release Cindy! Sounds like a wonderful book with a hero that would make anyone swoon. Definitely want to read it. I don’t really have a special hero. I love them one and all!

  13. bianca thaci says:

    Happy Release Day Cindy…FINALLY 🙂 I would also have to say ROURKE + RANGER + JOE MORELLI and of course MYRON BOLITAR and Win from Harlan Cobens Series..i LOVE those 2 🙂 have a good day!!!!! bianca

  14. I read this book as an advance copy and love it! You were talking about it’s upcoming release on twitter and I was so excited (and clearly title-challenged) because I thought you had a book coming out that I hadn’t yet read. Oh, that’s right, I thought a moment later (disappointed). I read that a couple months back.

    It’s the “Romance of the Month” in my BookPage column that you can see here: http://bookpage.com/column/love%E2%80%99s-forbidden-fire

    • cindygerard says:

      Wow. THAnks, Christie. So glad you enjoyed it and thanks for the great review!!
      Again – all the authors on this blog are are among my favorite writers and let me tell ya, peer approval totally rocks! so appreciate it!

  15. cindygerard says:

    Hate to admit it, Bianca but I’ve yet to read Coben. I know. What’s wrong with me? Am a die hard Lee Child/Jack Reacher fan as well as a Vince Flynn/Mitch Rapp devote. Must read Coben. It’s on my to do list — as soon as I get this book written ….

  16. lois greiman says:

    Congrats Cindy. Enjoy the day. Sounds great.

    Hey what was the hero’s name from Woodiwiss’s Shana?? Loved him.

  17. Patti W says:

    Congrats on book release! My favorite hero is Declan from On the Edge. He’s has a sense of humor that I love.

  18. sabina edwards says:

    congrats on the book release

  19. Happy Release Day, Cindy. Your Black Ops men are cool under fire and hot with the ladies. What more can a reader ask?

    A few of my favorites…Remington the rake from Betina Krahn’s THE LAST BACHELOR is wonderful. Christian from Laura Kinsale’s FLOWERS FROM THE STORM is about as tortured as they come. Oh, Nicholas Brisbane from Deanna Raybourn’s SILENT IN THE GRAVE is a close second. Love them both. My favorite Connie Brockway is Harry from AS YOU DESIRE. Hmm. These are all historicals, aren’t they? Somebody recommend a wonderful new historical for me. Something to read next to the AC.

    • cindygerard says:

      Thanks, Kathy. I have got to check out Deanna Raybourn. Heard so much about her. And yes to Remmington. What a rake! :o)

  20. Amy-Jo says:

    Happy Release Day, Cindy (again!).
    Hmm..always liked Gabe (for the hero aspect)..everything he went thru..as well as Dallas.
    “Real life”..I’d really have to say all the men/women in the militray that are sacrificing so much over seas..and home really. My boys (I have 3 lil’ boys) and I have ‘adopted’ a few soldiers over the past few years. I send cards (packages when I can) and the boys draw pictures for them. It’s an honor just to be able to express a small piece of gratitude. We are fortunate enough to receive emails from a few of them. But, they are our ‘real life heros’.
    Again…adore you and your work…congrats!

    • cindygerard says:

      Amy you are spot on right. Our military are our heros! Good on you for all you’re doing to help suppor them.

  21. joy says:

    Happy release day, how exciting. I can’t wait til my library gets this….

    as far as fave fictional hero…. i’d have to say Ranger from the stephanie plum series.

  22. cindygerard says:

    Thanks, Joy. And oh, yowser! Ranger trips all the right triggers, doesn’t he?

  23. Susan T. says:

    Congrats on your new release. I’ve been waiting for Doc’s story and I’m running to pick up after work. There are so many to choose from. My fave is Zsadist from BDB series. Thanks for a great series.

    • cindygerard says:

      Thanks, Susan. I hope you can find it. I’ve had several reports from FB friends telling me they took the last one off the shelves. Makes me hope that means they went like hot cakes but makes me wonder if it was just a case of the orders being slim. Guess only time will tell.

  24. Terry Odell says:

    Kind of late to the party, but congrats, and I can’t wait to read it. I’d hoped Doc would have his story after what you did to him!

    Terry

  25. Mady Mitchell says:

    I do love Roarke, all of the BDB (especially Rhage), and Chance Mackenzie of Linda Howard’s “Game of Chance.” But my favorite is probably Acheron of the Dark-Hunter books.

  26. Donnell Bell says:

    Cindy! Happy Release Day… again 🙂 I love your Black Op series — you always put us right there in the action, whether your heroine is sneaking into the antagonist’s office, or whether your heroine’s outside a bank, minding her own business, and all hell breaks loose. You’re a joy to read. Here’s to many, many more!

  27. Karen says:

    Happy release day Cindy!!!

    Now you are making me pick a hero, that is just way to hard to do. I read so many different series, that now just anyone sticks out to me. I love them all! But give me a guy that has a past that he had to overcome and when he falls, he falls hard anytime of the week!

    can’t wait to get my hands on this one.

  28. Amy S. says:

    One of my favorite heroes would have to be Hari, from Marjorie M. Liu’s Tiger Eye. Despite his many years of captivity and the horrible things done to him, he still retained decency and a wonderful heart of gold.

    Happy Book Birthday! I am onto the third of the series, but I’ve wanted Luke’s story from the first time I met him! 🙂

  29. ColleenFL says:

    Roarke from J. D. Robb’s books is a favorite hero of mine because he is always there for Eve.

  30. Deborah R says:

    Congrats on release day! can’t wait to read this one. One of my fav heroes is Trace from Lori Foster’s Trace of Fever book. I just love those alpha heroes, esp. former military, or elite ops types….Adding yours to my TBR list!!

  31. Lisa8108 says:

    I love Johhny Duane Reed. I am also a fan of the Suzanne Brockmann Seal Team 16 men!

  32. Catherine Carriger says:

    So many have been mentioned. I’ll add–Jack Culver from Roxanne St Claire’s–Now You Die, from her Bulletcatcher series, Lori Foster’s 3 new heroes are great too. I’ll also echo–The Angel Boy himself–GABRIEL JONES!!!!
    Chores are done, I’m off to read Doc’s book. Congrats!!

    • cindygerard says:

      Rocki writes a great hero, Catherine. I wholly agree!

      Oh .. and Angel Boy. he still rocks my world :o0

  33. Michele Hauf says:

    Congrats, Cindy! Another fab cover. Do you do anything special to celebrate a new book being out?

    • cindygerard says:

      Hey Michele. I love that cover too. Thanks.
      As for doing something special? i wish. Right now I’m taking a quick break from my current deadline book to respond to these comments. I smell the bbq grill. That means my own hero is taking care of me while I plow through this deadline…. What a guy.

  34. Quilt Lady says:

    Oh wow this sounds like a fabulous read. Happy Release Day. I will be looking for this book for sure.

  35. Deb Nelson says:

    Congratulations, Cindy! Gabe is my fave, but I gotta say, I love them ALL! Keep it up!

  36. sam says:

    Can’t wait to read Doc’s book!

    Johnny Christiano from Roxanne St. Claires Bullet Catchers … He had me at Puttanesca! The man can cook. Ken “Wildcard” Karmody from Suzanne Brockmanns Troubleshooter series (he’s not only a SEAL but a really highly intelligent hero). Vane Kattalakis Night Play by Sherrilyn Kenyon. While this may be a little crazy, the Assassin in Death Angel by Linda Howard.

    • cindygerard says:

      Sam – oh yeah. A man who cooks. Top of the list.
      Mine’s cooking right now … I can smell the smoke from the bbq grill. Yea!!

  37. cindygerard says:
  38. Hey there, Cindy!! Happy release day!! Congrats on another sure fire winner!!! 🙂

  39. Melissa Ward says:

    Cindy;
    I have been waiting for a book about Doc since “Show no Mercy” so I cannot wait to get my hands on a copy of “With No Remorse”! I am so looking forward to learning more Doc and just seeing all the BOI’s and their lovely ladies back again.
    I also want to say a Thank you because I really like how connected you are with your readers. It’s nice to be able to talk to you through FB (just liked your page on there!) or on your website. Thanks for being so kind and thank you for writing these fantastic characters!!

    • cindygerard says:

      Thanks Melissa but you have forgotten something very critical. Without you dear, dear readers, we don’t have an audience or a platform to tell our stories. I know I’m speaking for all authors when I say, we are the ones who need to thank you! And I love connecting with you ( and my other ‘4000+ close friends – LOL ) on FB.
      Seriously – you guys make it fun!

  40. Pat Cochran says:

    Hi, Cindy, can’t select just one so I’m naming all the members of Suzanne Brockmann’s
    Seal Team 16 as being among my heroes. Same goes for your Black Ops fellows, though
    there’s always Gabe Jones! Two new TV heroes have caught my eye on the super show
    Covert Affairs: they are Augie and Annie, love them! Of course, in real life, Honey is my
    A#1 hero!!!!

    Pat Cochran

  41. Sabah says:

    I just finished with no remorse I just love it I can’t wait for mean Joe green story
    My favorite hero would be MENDOZA I just love I also like jack mcalaster from Julie garwood fire and ice also sam donovan from mr perfect by Linda Howard

  42. cindygerard says:

    Sabah. Seriously? You read it already? Amazing. Thanks so much and I’m so glad you enjoyed it!
    And I LOVED Sam Donovan. Such a tough guys with a marshmallow center. yum yum,

  43. kaetrin says:

    Looking forward to this release! 🙂

    My favourite bookish heroes include Jamie Fraser (Outlander), Roarke (In Death series), Curran (Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series), Rothgar from Jo Beverley’s Malloren series and Luke from Mary Balogh’s Heartless.

  44. Nancy Bristow says:

    Cindy…There are just too many heroes to name (I’m lucky to remember my own) without researching an extremely long list but I agree with many of the ones listed including the universally known hero Roarke/35? In Death series now. You can also add me to the Vince Flynn/Mitch list. Don’t you just love a man of action;) Anne Stuart writes awesome heroes and strong heroines (another plus for me). Roxanne St. Claire’s Bullet Catcher heroes another favorite. I have all of your Bodyguard and Black Op books to date so that speaks for itself:) Congrats on the new release and I’ll be going to B&N today. Just keep writing like you do…we readers get attached to our favorite authors.

  45. Tasha Clanton says:

    Hey Cindy! Can’t wait to read Doc’s new book! My two favorite heroes are Christian “Superman” Hawkins from Tara Janzen’s Steele Street series and to be perfectly honest, Ethan from your Bodyguard series. Something about him always appealed to me the way he seemed a little reserved at times but could totally step up and take care of business when it came to the woman he loved. Wishing you continued success always!

    Tasha Clanton

  46. Kerry Carr says:

    I can’t wait. I just read all the Bodyguards books & first 5 Black Ops books right in a row. just finished last week. Perfect timing. Also a big fan of Suzanne Brockmanns SEALs.

  47. Brandy says:

    I got my via my nook on Tuesday morning and couldn’t put it down. I finished it Wednesday evening. It was awesome, electrifying, another great adventure. So ready for the next one. I’m ready for Last Man Standing.

  48. Stephenia says:

    Bought it, read it, loved it! Hard to believe the series is almost over!

  49. Pingback: Review: Treachery in Death Norah Roberts writing as J. D Robb | The Book Shelf, My Book Blog

Leave a Reply

