What’s Your Indulgence?

We all have ’em.  That one category of items we have a weakness for.  The one department/store our spouse has to drag us by to avoid spending endless hours poring over the inventory.

Shoes used to be my indulgence.  The higher the heel the better.  I used to put them in clear plastic shoe boxes that could be stacked to the ceiling in my closet.  This was, obviously before I *ruined* my feet wearing ridiculously high heeled uncomfortable footwear.  I wore high heels to school for 20+ years.  Suffice it to say, I can no longer wear pretty, whimsical spike heels.

My love affair with shoes died a slow mournful death as a result.

I have a friend who buys belts by the dozens.  Seriously, she has a closet full of them.  I can’t understand that indulgence since I can’t stand wearing anything that constricts in any way.  But to each their own.  At least I’ve never known a belt to cripple their owner so they could barely walk.

Winter coats are another weakness of mine.  Maybe it’s the amount of time we spend in them in Iowa but I have at least a dozen.  That can’t really be labeled an indulgence, I don’t think, because they’re so dang useful in Iowa winters.  If you have to freeze, look good doing it, right?

Books have been a lifelong indulgence and will always continue to be.  There’s something so gratifying about buying reading material that I know is going to give me hours of pleasure.  It’s also something my family has never quite understood.  I’ve actually had my kids try to distract me in a mall when we’re walking by a bookstore so I won’t linger inside it for hours.

But my biggest guilty weakness has always been jewelry.  The real stuff 🙂  I’m like a homing pigeon.  I can walk into a jewelry store and walk directly to the most expensive item in the place.  It’s a gift 🙂  And I absolutely can’t walk past the stores without going inside.  I’ve got the ‘walk’ perfected…I’m able to enter the store, peruse every single case and head out again in under two minutes.  Unless of course, something catches my eye!

Something caught my eye, and my wallet when we were in NYC.  But I really needed that diamond bangle bracelet.  Really!  My wrist was so…naked without it!

What’s your indulgence?  Do you feel guilty buying it?  What’s the one item you can’t seem to resist?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to What’s Your Indulgence?

  1. Heather says:

    My biggest indulgences? Craft and book stores. I feel more guilty over the first than the latter. You can never have too many books. Designer scrapbook paper and stamps on the other hand, tend to breed and take up space that could be used for books.

  2. Kylie Brant says:

    Heather, I know quilters who say the same thing. They have boxes and boxes of material! With the advent of ebooks I suppose we now have a way to organize our books but I can’t bear to give my paper books up.

  3. Good morning, Kylie. The breeze feels good today…great day for a ride in the convertible.

    BOOKS BOOKS BOOKS BOOKS BOOKS!!! Books are my weakness, drug of choice, habit, vice…whatever you wanna call it. I can’t go near a bookstore or a drugstore, Walmart, Target, Kmart without checking out the books. It’s usually my first stop when I go grocery shopping…the book aisle. Who needs food when you can have books? I never feel guilty about buying them either. My apartment is like a library. One day, I hope to own a house that could house all my books a la Professor Higgins’ study in My Fair Lady. Floor to ceiling, wall to wall books. I just love them. And I would get one of those cool ladders he owned so I could just roll around the room checking out the top shelves….lol!!!

    Peace and love,
    Paula R.

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Paula, I agree–books can’t be considered a vice 🙂 when they educate, entertain and bring lasting enjoyment. There’s nothing else like them.

      I’d love to have a library like Professor Higgin’s too. Someday…!

  4. Leanne Banks says:

    Kiddie notesbooks for me, yes I have Wonderwoman notebooks, Johnny Depp notebooks and Disney Princess notebooks. I make a lot of notes to myself about books and things I need to do and I find it’s more fun putting those notes in a whimsical notebook.:)

    But I also have a weakness for dresses, especially in the summertime.

    And my sexiest indulgence of all? Knee socks! I wear them 9-10months out of the year!lol

    Great blog, Kylie!:) xo, Leanne

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Leanne, I have just recently overcome my knee sock addiction 🙂 I blame it on 12 years of Catholic schools. Socks were something we had a little more control over with those uniforms!

  5. Michele says:

    Wow, pretty bracelet! You go, girl!

    I stopped in Swarovski while in NY and fell in love with a necklace, but, alas. Came home with just a sparkly NY t-shirt. I guess that’s my indulgence–sparkly things. But cheap sparkly things. If I can get it on clearance at Target then even better. Oh, and tea. I have far too much tea, but it’s always nice to have the variety on hand.

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Michele, I think you’re absolved when it comes to tea. If you can eat or drink it, you don’t have to feel guilty, right? Sparkly things…that’s what it comes down to for me. My hubby is even starting to buy my sweats with sparkles on it 🙂 He’s learning!

  6. Helen Brenna says:

    Love those shoes you have pictured, Kylie. I’m not sure I have an indulgence. Yes, I’m that boring!

  7. catslady says:

    Books for me too. I’m surrounded by them. My husband says one day he is going to come home and find me buried under one of my collasped shelves lol.

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Catslady, my husband did use to try and make me feel guilty about buying books. I told him I didn’t smoke and rarely shopped…he should feel lucky I only spent on books! Since I started my, ah, jewelry collection, I think he wishes I’d stuck only with books!

  8. I’ve gone through a number of indulgences over the years, but shoes have never been among them. I hate shopping for shoes, and my aversion goes way back to when my feet were growing so fast that Mama couldn’t hide her frustration. I was a child in a woman’s feet. That registered with me as Big Feet Are Unattractive. I hated bowling because you had to wear your shoe size on your heel. (Also, I was terrible at it.) I fell in love with flip-flops when I was about 9, and that relationship abides. I just cought a terrific pair of Crocs sandals.

    Back later with confessions of indulgence. Gotta take the grandkids to a library program. Oh, yeah, that’s 2 of my indulgences–grandkids and books.

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Grandkids are the best indulgence, Kathleen! Just returned from several hours at Chuck E Cheese with the three boys. Gamma always wears out long before they do!

  9. Ha! That’s *bought*. Although you could say I caught the Crocs. Great buy at Famous Footwear.

  10. lois greiman says:

    Horses. Can’t help it. I have one in every color. 🙂

  11. Anything having to do with patterned paper and scrapbooking supplies is very difficult to resist. I have gobs and gobs or paper, more than I will ever use, and not enough time to scrapbook or make cards or crafts. But just the other day I was at JoAnn’s for something completely unrelated and HAD to pick up some papers I found in the clearance area because they are SO. Darned. CUTE.

    I also have a bag/purse fetish. I hate shoes, I’m barefoot 99% of the time, so bags are it for me. When my husband shoved my Liz Claiborne into a locker at Universal Studios and accidentally triggered an entire bottle of sunscreen, coating the contents and bag, I was more mad that my bag might be harmed than that my favorite camera was destroyed.

    Heather
    Decadent Publishing

  12. I love old stuff. I went nuts for a while on e-bay. Primarily old dolls, but I have lots of stuff nobody uses anymore, like washboards, buttonhooks, hankies, horse brasses and the like. I look at them, hold them in my hand and try to imagine the people who used them. But if one is a curiosity, two are really interesting, three informative, four fascinating…pretty soon it’s a collection. Now it becomes an indulgence. When Clyde says, “What the hell are you gonna do with all these inkwells?” I know I have to go cold turkey.

  13. Kylie Brant says:

    Inkwells, Kathleen? I’d actually love to see that collection! I love old things, too. Live in a 100+ year old house, which I’m still filling with antiques. I love to browse antique stores and think about the people who might have used each of the items in the past. I’m currently enamored with ornate gesso and oak picture frames. Love to wonder about the people pictured in them…that was quite a deal to have a picture like that taken all those years ago!

Leave a Reply

