Debra – What are you doing up?

I am here today to represent for the “night owls.”  Night is good.  it’s quiet.  No texts. Almost no email.  No phones.

Even though Bell Bridge Books has exploded in the last few years, I’m still a very hands-on kind of Publisher.  I rarely have any of the folks here screen my email.  That means I’m sometimes answering email in those wee, quiet hours of the night if I haven’t had a chance to keep up with it during the day.  I like hitting “send/receive” with very little chance of increasing the emails waiting for answers.  (Don’t you hate it when you send email only to see 40 emails slam your inbox and none of them are spam?)

But the night owl habit isn’t caused by email or workload.  Night just happens to be better for me.  It’s simply the way my circadian rhythm rolls.  I’ve been lucky enough in my life to have had control over my schedule in a way that not everyone has.  When I wrote for Bantam for a living, I tried every trick in the book to make myself a “daytime” writer.  But the reality was I could write more pages between 3 a.m. and 5 a.m. than I could all day.

I’ve also been one of the fortunate (?) people who can run on less sleep.  Give me 5 hours and I’m good to go.

I’ve been this way since I was a teen.  My parents gave up.  My grades were good.  You can’t fight city hall, and you can’t fight circadian rhythm.  Well, you can, but it’s really hard and really irritating to run on someone else’s clock.

Our office hours are not crack-of-freakin’-dawn.  An 8 a.m. start time only contributes to traffic congestion.  We’ve taken a page out of LA’s playbook and delay our start time.

If you ran the world, how would you arrange the schedule?  Would we work mornings, take a siesta and then work the afternoon?  Would we all work nights?  Are you an early riser who jumps into the day?  Everyone has a personal clock and writers tend to be very aware of theirs.

QUICK NEWS FLASH BEFORE WE FOUND OUT IF WE ARE ALL NIGHT OWLS OR MORNING GLORIES:  For readers who loved my category romances, they are going to be reissued by Random House!  I’m one of the launch books for the new Loveswept line.  In addition to the classic reissues, they will be doing original ebook only titles in the line.  Sue Grimshaw is at the helm.  I’ve seen the cover and all I can say is, “Yummy!”  So, for those of you who’ve been asking, “Yes, those books are finally going to be available.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Debra – What are you doing up?

  1. First, yay, Debra! on the reissue of your Loveswepts as ebooks! Love my Kindle. As to what category I fall into, night owl or morning glory, I’m not sure since I go to bed at 10:30 and am up around 3:30-4 a.m. , my very own quiet time before the hubby wanders in for breakfast around 8:30. Creativity gets a jump start with coffee and I’m good to go. Is there a name for that category? Golden Oldie Time?

    • debradixon says:

      A lot of Southern girls are early risers. I think it’s all that gardening the make us do. You carried the habit North! (They gave up on me.)

      Yep, the reissues are making a lot of people happy! I’m delighted to have been included in the launch.

  2. TrishJ says:

    I am definitely a morning gal! Each day is a new beginning and I don’t want to sleep through it! I’m bubbling over with enthusiasm and my hubby won’t even talk until his 2nd cup of coffee! But that’s okay, I sit on the porch with the birds chirping and watch the sunrise!

    • debradixon says:

      Awwww…Trish! Bubbling? You’re one of those! Okay, so is my husband. He doesn’t actually bubble but he likes to have his coffee and watch the sunrise or the birds. When we did a kitchen remodel awhile back, we did one of the corners so it’s glass and you can sit at the breakfast table and it’s kind of like being outside.

  3. Leanne Banks says:

    I can just imagine your mom asking you that question — Debra, what are you doing up? I think you were born to accomplish a lot.:) Me? I LOVE a nice LONG night of rest!:) Congrats on being a Loveswept Launch! xo, Leanne

  4. cindygerard says:

    Woo Woo on the release of the Loveswepts, Deb! There is life after death LOL So excited to be seeing some of those books brought back to life.

    As for schedule – I have tried to write at night and unless I’m on a drop dead deadline, it just doesn’t happen for me. My most productive times are early to mid afternoon. It takes the mornings (and I’m up fairly early and at it) to get the juices working and by mid day, things start firing in the creativity department.

    • debradixon says:

      I is born again!! LOL!

      I knew you’d know when your best writing time is. Writers are so tuned to their rhythm.

  5. Kathleen O'Donnell says:

    I am a bit of both… I usually have a very interupted night of sleep. Never sleep more than two hours at a time… Some night I wake up and can’t get back to sleep and like this monring was up early….So what can I say.. I have never followed the norm of anything… Always been a leader, not a follower…
    Congrats on those reissues…

    • debradixon says:

      Kathleen– I have a friend who has trouble getting back to sleep too. She does the same thing. No use fighting it, she gets up and goes about her business. I really do think our bodies are in control. We just think our mind is. (g)

  6. catslady says:

    Oh I am so a nightowl too but darn if it doesn’t seem like the whole rest of the world is the opposite. Bedtime for me is usually 2:30 to 3:00. My husband is up at 4:30 AM so there are times we hardly see each other lol. He needs tons of sleep and like you I need less. I have neighbors that like to cut their grass, weedwack, blow leaves (snow), cut hedges at 7AM. Morning people think the whole world should be up but if we dared bothered them late at night…and then there are the phone calls arghh.
    Yeah I’m a nightowl lol.

    • debradixon says:

      Yay! One of my tribe. (g) And yes, I hate hate hate hate the 7am lawn people. Which includes us because someone does our lawn and he always does us at the crack of dawn. Arrgh!

  7. Michele says:

    Yeah on the Loveswept reissues!

    I’m not a morning person, nor am I a night person. I’m a mid-afternoon sort of gal. Best writing time for me is mid morning to noon. Used to like to take naps in afternoon, but since I’ve started eating healthy I have so much energy naps sound ridiculous to me. But the RWA conf will be the ultimate test of my endurance. I suspect I’ll putter out around 8 pm most nights. 🙂

    • debradixon says:

      Ah, Michele at RWA. That will be the Iron Test for you, girlie. 🙂 Most of the parties don’t get started until 8pm. LOL!

  8. Keri Ford says:

    Congrats on the loveswepts! I saw one of your books in the listing 🙂

    I have become a nightowl by force. I just can’t get as much done during the day when the kid is talking, the tv is going. in the evening, the husband in there. Then the dog. It’s always something.

    • debradixon says:

      Keri– Yes, I’d say that when kids are young-ish the writer is forced to adapt or die. Otherwise you’d never get any writing done. So, yes, it can be done–changing your rhythm. I wonder what you’ll be when the kiddo hits high school.

  9. loisgreiman says:

    I’m all morning. Problem is I like to get everythinnnnnng done by then and that never happens.

    Yay for Loveswepts!

  10. Helen Brenna says:

    Morning here, too, and I’m an 8 hour a night sleeper. Have always been so envious of people who can get by on less on a regular basis. So much more time to get things done!! Or not. lol

    Very cool news on the Loveswepts, too, btw. Maybe it’ll kick off some new releases, too. Never know!

  11. debradixon says:

    Lois– Getting everything on my list done by noon is an impossible goal with which I begin my day with every single morning. Never happens.

    Helen– New releases for me? ::snort:: It took the Mossy Creek folks 6 months to get a short story out of me. But Loveswept is going to be releasing originals again. That’s some good news for writers.

  12. I’ve read that, in addition to the larks (morning people) and owls (night people), there are also “hummingbirds” — please who are very productive in the middle of the day. Bingo. Sounds like some of the others here are hummingbirds, too.

Leave a Reply

