The “P” Word! And THE DOCTOR TAKES A PRINCESS IS OUT!

And now for the “P” word. Is your mind wandering toward Anthony Weiner… or something else? Get your mind out of the gutter! I’m talking about the writer’s enemy, but I think we all battle it. Procrastination.

Yeah, baby. That “P” word can be a career killer, yet we writers can win procrastination contests. When it comes to procrastination, WE RULE.  

I have successful writer friends who can play computer solitaire like nobody’s business because? They’re procrastinating. 

Other writer friends clean – as in toilets. I do that in rare, desperate circumstances. I have another BRILLIANT, MENSA-type writer friend who irons. Okay…. That’s going a little too far. I only iron when it’s absolutely necessary.  

My preferred route of procrastination is reading news online, followed by GOOGLE.        I HEART GOOGLE. With GOOGLE, I can get immediate gratification. I can answer all my stupid, inane questions with GOOGLE. I won’t have to stay awake wondering about the true history of the Doobie brothers. I can KNOW it because of GOOGLE. With GOOGLE (images), I can research the exact redesign of my engagement ring. With GOOGLE (images), I can research photos for my next hero and heroine. With GOOGLE, I can learn new recipes in hopes of adding lower-fat dishes to my diet. With GOOGLE, I can find that missing quote from the quote-a-day calendar (dang! I keep losing it!). Yes, I found it and it’s one of the new best quotes to me in the world as a writer.

If there is no dull and determined effort, there will be no brilliant achievement. — Hsun Tzu

Why do I love this quote? We writers have to write with dull, determined effort to get to the end. And that may be why we do the “P” word. Procrastinate.  But I suspect we aren’t the only ones…

The good news is when we overcome procrastination and get the work done.  I’m happy todoctortakesaprincess say I finished THE DOCTOR TAKES A PRINCESS  and it is out! I love the way the hero   and heroine are forced to change and grow in this book. I hope you’ll give it a look.  You can find out more about it here  http://tinyurl.com/3rkd4ty

So I’m all excited about my book release and want to celebrate.  I am giving PRIZES. I will give a rhinestone hair band, aka as the modern girl’s tiara, and a book to a lucky responder. Bring it on!.

What are your best procrastination methods?  How do you overcome procrastination?

xo,

Leanne

www.leannebanks.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to The “P” Word! And THE DOCTOR TAKES A PRINCESS IS OUT!

  1. I am a champion procrastinator by thinking of everything that needs to be done for my daughter’s different activities and planning and re-planning and re-planning those things I neatly avoid my own issues. I usually stop the cycle by waiting until the last minute pressure is on and then I am in my element and get things accomplished.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Rebecca you sound like a deadline girl. It’s so much easier to take care of somebody else’s stuff that it is for me to take care of mine! Good for you getting it done.:) Thanks for joining in.:)

  2. Deborah R says:

    First off let me say I love your books. I can procrastinate for days, best ways are reading, quilting, and playing on the computer….love Google too and blogs…
    I think I overcome it with shear willpower ..to force myself to do what ever I’ve been putting off
    Have a great day~

  3. Kylie Brant says:

    Congrats on your new release, Leanne! I happen to be the Queen of Procrastination. Really, I have elevated it to an art form 🙂 My time wasters include online Sudoku puzzles and online bridge. My favorite quote: Perseverance pays off in the long run, but procrastination pays off now!

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Haha Kylie!:) At least your time wasters are good for your brain! LOVE your quote!!!!:) xo, Leanne

  4. Leanne Banks says:

    Deborah! Thanks so much! You made my day. Good to know I’m not alone in Google-land, but I must say that I consider quilting very productive! I admire your ability. I think I’m going to have to develop stronger willpower muscles. THANKS for popping in! xo, Leanne

  5. Helen Brenna says:

    Never used to be a procrastinator until I started writing full-time. Now I can Spider Solitaire with the best!

    I tell myself I’m working through plot point issues as I click on the cards. If you can make SS work, you can make a book work, right? lol

    Congrats, Leanne, on the new release!

  6. Kristine says:

    I don’t think I was born with the procrastinator bone in my body. In fact, I suffer from the opposite. When something arises, if I don’t jump right on it I can’t rest. It truly is a sickness. Ask my husband. When we moved into our new home, I literally helped moved everything in with him and had it all unpacked and put in place within two days. I literally didn’t sleep or eat much until it was done. That quote “Go big or go home”… it was made for me 😉 And don’t even get me started on my boy’s birthday parties or Christmas! I have stuffed wrapped and done so far in advance, that I have to dust it off when the big day finally gets here. Crazy? I fully concur!

  7. anne says:

    An easy and appealing thing to do is procrastinate. I can read all day long, surf the web and then start all over the next day.

  8. Yes I’m the queen of Procrastination always have been. I search the internet, I read, I go on FB I’ve used google and look things up I sit and think of things to google. Why to I do this not sure I remeber in school if I had a project or a speech due I did it the night before.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Michele, we have another deadline girl. Some people just really thrive under the pressure of a deadline! xo, Leanne

  9. carole says:

    Hi! I like to say that I like your books alot! I rather read a book instead of getting my work done,so I can get into the story and dream that my work is getting done by it self.

  10. TrishJ says:

    Procrastination is my middle name. My Blackberry is attached to my hand! I’m always surfin the web, on FB or reading blogs (grin) and of course read!! The hours will just melt away!! Then of course I’ rushin around like a maniac tryin to clean, cook, or whatever. Isn’t this normal??

    Congrats on the new book!

  11. Keri Ford says:

    Congrats on the release! my P word is Laundry. It’s doing SOMETHING productive. and it needs to be done. Yes, even all the sheets on all the beds Must. Come. Off. Now. Rugs on the floor? Well yeah…look at those things!? When was the last time I washed that rug? Must be done NOW.

    Laundry, it is my P-word.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      I actually get this. My problem is I don’t always complete the job. I wash and dry… and put the clean laundry on the guest bed. Shhhh. Don’t tell anyone.lol Thanks Keri!:) xo, Leanne

  12. PatriciaW says:

    Reading. I call it research. But at some point, it definitely begins to look more like a “P” word.

    TV, especially cooking reality shows.

    Then of course, there’s email, FB, Twitter…blogs! 🙂

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Patricia, I love cooking reality shows too! Just recently watched TWO hours of Cupcake Wars!:) Thanks for popping in! xo, Leanne

  13. Kathleen says:

    What can I say.. I “P” word comes into focus with me on many occasions. Espcially when it comes ot housework.. I mean, I tidy and do the dishes everyday.. but sometimes the bed doesn’t get made or the dust bunnies start to multiply. But really I mean I have to read books and go on-line everyday… Sheesh…they’ll get done…. honest.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Kathleen, I think you have your priorities straight. After all, when it’s said and done, will we wish we had done MORE housework!!!!:) xo, Leanne

  14. Michele says:

    There’s a game on the iPad called Pocket Frogs. I play that game every freakin’ day. I never used to procrastinate so much, but I blame it on the frogs.
    Sometimes I hop in the car and drive to a store half an hour away, thinking I need groceries when I don’t, but that’s a form of procrastination that sometimes brings up story ideas as I’m cruising. So that counts as work, I guess. (I’m going to call it that.) 🙂

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Michele, I actually do get ideas while driving too! I know other people who get creative when they take showers. I unfortunately tend to make to-do lists in the shower. Love your frog story, though and so appropriate for romance. xo, Leanne

  15. It seems like the more gadgets we have in our lives, the more the procrastination options. I’m with you on the Google searching, Leanne. I can lose myself in that for hours. And just allowing myself to check e-mail and Facebook first thing is a big danger. And all that is available at my work station. I haven’t gotten to my book shelves and TV and newspaper and venturing out in the car or the garden or…funny how the old temptations like the phone are way down the list now. But there’s still the kitchen. And once I start cleaning I can’t stop. And then there’s that wildlife in the woods or that spider building that beautiful web.

    My wakeup call? The bill folder. I keep it close at hand. Tools for coping? Music, earplugs, blinders, Superglue on seat of pants. (Some of those are imaginary.) Oh, and activating mean voice, putting on monster face. APPROACH THIS WOMAN AT YOUR PERIL.

  16. kym amaral says:

    Ohhh the ‘P’ word ! It is so easy to succomb to the ‘P’ word…I just have to hit the ON button on the computer.and I get sucked in ! How does answering emails and checking Fb, take me all morning ? I have the best intentions of coming to the computer to WRITE and I find myself HERE, reading all the great blog posts from my fav authors…ohhh, how will I ever be ONE, if I dont stop the ‘P’ word ?!?!

    any cures for the ‘P’ word, Id be happy to hear ….cause I have a very bad case right now with the sun being outside, I just want to be out, and yes, sadly the laptop goes too 😉

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Kym! I feel your pain! There’s actually a good book about how bad the P word is for writers. The War of Art. I personally feel a little spanked when I read it, but maybe that’s what I need. Ack! xo, Leanne

  17. Cindy Gerard says:

    Congrats on the new release Leanne! And wow, do you have us writer types nailed. I’ve finally accepted that procrastination is an important part of my writing process (That’s my story and I’m sticking to it). It’s think time when I’m playing on line Hearts or Spidey … or -and thanks a LOT kim :o( – Spades on Pogo.

    Okay. I’ve got a killer deadline calling … but first … Spidey awaits

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Cindy, I like your attitude. Procrastination is an important part of your writing. It would be for me too, if I went ahead and got something done!!!! Thanks for the congrats and go go go with your deadline!:) xo, Leanne

  18. Terry Odell says:

    Sometimes I don’t even realize I’m procrastinating until I look at the date on my manuscript and see that I haven’t done anything for days–or weeks. I tell myself I must have done other Very Important Stuff, but that doesn’t add words to the WIP.

    Terry
    Terry’s Place

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Terry, I know what you mean. When that deadline date starts coming toward you like a freight train, it’s a frightening experience. At the end of the day or week, it really does come down to words. Thanks, Sweetie. xo, Leanne

  19. Janet says:

    I am not only thinking the P word, I am practicing it now! I said I would give myself until 9 am and then I’d get busy. Well, it’s now 9:47 and here I sit at my computer. Bad me. I hope I get a book out of this, though. LOL 🙂
    I am enjoying this series of yours, though. I don’t usually go for prince or princess romances, but I’m liking yours.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Thanks so much Janet. I’m glad you’re enjoying my Devereaux! But I know what you mean about how the time FLIES!!!!:) xo, Leanne

  20. CrystalGB says:

    Facebook, twitter and surfing blogs are my favorite ways to procrastinate. 🙂 Congratulations on your new book.

  21. Kelli Jo Calvert says:

    Ooh! I procrastinate by reading or shopping on ebay or other on-line stores. I read Facebook or Twitter. There also Mah Jong! I am the Queen of Procrastination!! Beating it? Yeah, I haven’t exactly found a way to do that yet… 😀

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Kelli, I’m an ebay girl too! Forgot to mention that one. I look far more than I buy, thank goodness!n xo, Leanne

  22. Minna says:

    Blogs. The good thing about them is that there are only so many blogs I actually read. But then there are solitaire and tetris. I try to avoid those all together when I’m doing something I should get done sooner rather than later.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Minna, so it’s cold turkey on the games, right? I’m curious. Which blogs do you especially love to read? xo, Leanne

  23. wyndwhisper says:

    congratulations on the release! i am great at putting things off, i will wait until i have no choice to make a dr.’s appointment just because i don’t want to have to go across town to see him. i find all kinds of excuses for delaying it. LOL!
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

    • Leanne Banks says:

      wynd, isn’t it amazing the things we will come up with to keep from doing something we don’t want to do! I know exactly what you’re talking about!!! xo, Leanne

  24. Carol Woodruff says:

    I am always putting things off. I read, a favorite, but I also play solitaire on my computer, I cheat if I use cards, and enter contest on my computer. Before I realize it, the whole day is gone.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Carol, I know what you mean about how quickly time passes…. when we’re procrastinating!!!! xo, Leanne

  25. MJ Heather says:

    I procrastinate by picking up a knitting project. I mean really, that’s constructive, right? I’m doing *something*. I may not be folding laundry, cleaning dishes, cooking, making important phone calls or answering important emails, but when I’m done with my knitting I have something to show for it! Of course then I have those knitting projects that take a little bit of motivation to finish and then I procrastinate by starting a completely different – hopefully more interesting – project.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Heather, haha! Good for you! You obviously are very talented and capable. That other stuff just isn’t nearly as much fun, is it? And finishing can REALLY be tough! xo, Leanne

  26. Cathy Phillips says:

    I have always been a procrastinator. I read books online and off, go into facebook, write letters, talk to friends and relatives, and surf the net. I also run errands. It drives my poor hubby bananas. I eventually do get the things done in my own time and usually at the last minute. I guess I am just a hopeless case.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Cathy, hey at least you get your stuff done! GOOD for you on that!:) And I bet your friends and relatives LOVE hearing from you!<3 xo, Leanne

  27. brendabh says:

    When I was younger I very seldom procrastinated. But now that I am older and Retired, I am a very bad procrastinater. Since I am retired I can always do it tomorrow.. I can Dust, clean out fridge, vacuum or mop tomorrow. Now I have more time to work with my flowers and in my yard, read, ck on my fav blogs and comment, the list is endless. misskallie2000

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Brenda, I think you’re doing what you’re supposed to do when you retire. WHAT YOU WANT TO DO! You can squeeze in the other stuff as necessary. Enjoy your flowers. xo, Leanne

  28. Kim says:

    Congratultions on the new release. When I have to begin a new project, I always procrastinate. However, I also don’t like to do things at the last minute, so I give myself a few days, then jump right in.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Kim, thanks and thanks. I like that you give yourself a few days, but then you really commit yourself. Good for you! xo, Leanne

  29. PhyllisC says:

    Unfortunately, I can be a champion procrastinator. Facebook – specifically Frontierville – is my choice to help me with that. ;D I do eventually get around to whatever I should be doing thought sometimes with much reluctance. The book sounds wonderful – I would love to read it and who wouldn’t want something sparkly for their hair. Thanks for sharing.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Phyllis, good luck with Fronteirville. I hear a lot of people let off steam from some of those games and that’s a lot better than some of the more dangerous alternatives. Thanks!!!:) xo ,Leanne

  30. Betina says:

    Okay, at least you’re doing something that may allow you to learn something or come up with new ideas for wonderful new books. NOT like, say, ironing. Ugh. Who would use that as procrastination?

    Me? I’m a reader. I LOVE to procrastinate by reading. . . even if it is going over and over the first 60 pages of a book I’m writing. Of course, it’s all the beter if it’s a FINISHED BOOK. . . like–say– one of yours, Leanne.

    Thanks so much for the new excuse to. . . . P.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Reading is such a gift. And it’s so tempting to reread our work a gajillion times over trying to make it better. But plowing new ground is the challenge for me. It’s like learning a new piano piece. It’s so much easier to play the one I already know that to learn the new one.

      Thanks so much Betina for the compliment! You’re a gem! xo, Leanne

  31. Congratulations on the book. I usually keep my procrastination under control during the school year (teaching is my day job), but once the term ends. . . I inadvertantly discovered this summer, however, that if my choice is between writing and clearing out the junk room in the basement, writing looks awfully good. Ironing is another matter — it’s calming, you can listen to music (or watch TV), and your clothes look so lovely when you’re done.

  32. Jen B. says:

    I procrastinate by CHECKING BLOGS! HAHA!
    jepebATverizonDOTnet

  33. Beth Warren says:

    My best procrastination methods are reading…I take a “break” and start reading for fun, and end up getting too involved in the book to stop…or else keep taking such frequent breaks, I don’t get much accomplished. (even knowing this, I still do it). Usually deadlines force me to overcome procrastination.

  34. Kirsten says:

    My best way is reading books or cooking. Love both and even learned to combine them by reading cookbooks 😉

  35. Mary Preston says:

    I like lists. So, it seems that when I have tasks to do I actually put them off by writing a list of what I should be doing. However, once the list is done & put up on the fridge, I have run out of excuses.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

Leave a Reply

