How does your garden grow?

Isn’t it the quite contrary Mary who got asked that question?  I love peeking at other people’s gardens.  Flowers are gorgeous and they make me smile.  Personally I can’t grow many blooming plants.  I’ve said it here before, I stick to succulents because they need little care (other than remembering which ones DON’T like a lot of sun or water).  But I do have my favorites: peonies.  Oh, how I love those flowers.  Prettier than roses, I think.  Big frothy heads of bright magenta, pink, peach and white.  As you can see, my cat Maxwell rather takes to them too.  My dream is to have a yard full of peony bushes, hundreds of them all spilling over with heavy blossoms that drench the air with delicious fragrance.  That is how I want my garden to grow.

What about you?  What are your favorite flowers and do you grow them or just wander by neighbors’ yards and admire them?

Michele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How does your garden grow?

  1. Helen Brenna says:

    I love peonies, Michele. Keep meaning to plant some, but …

    My all-time favorite garden flowers are Lilies of the Valley. It was the only flower that grew in my yard as a kid. The dirt in our yard was more like sand, so nothing else would grow. The little lilies managed to carve out a little spot for themselves by one of the shaded drainspouts. I have some on the north side of my house now and can’t imagine ever having a yard without them. The only downside is that they flower for only about a week or so each spring. Then it’s an entire year before those uber fragrant little babies come up again. There’s only a couple blossoms left right now.

  2. loisgreiman says:

    Irises! Yummmy. But I love a nice mix. I think we should all post pics of our current blooming favorites.

  3. Michele says:

    Lilies of the valley are so cute! They occasionally pop up in my garden for reasons beyond my knowledge, but I love it when they do!
    Yes, we should all add pics of our favs!

  4. cindy gerard says:

    Iris. I love Irises! And lilies of all varieties. Love love love this time of year as our gardens are just a riot of color!!

  5. Keri Ford says:

    I’m all veggies this year, but I want to learn flowers!

  6. kylie brant says:

    I lurv my flowers 🙂 My problem is so much shade in my yard, it’s hard to grow everything I’d like. I’m especially partial to delphiniums, lupines, pink poppies, false baptista and begonias.

Leave a Reply

