How Natural Do You Want To Be?

So I made an appointment for a makeover at one of my most favorite stores in the world – Sephora – the mecca of cosmetics. 1282664494spehora  Sephora offers the hope that a new eye shadow or lip gloss can make a wonderful difference in life.  It may not be true, but it’s fun.  The customer service person asked me if my skin was dry or combination, then asked “Do you want a natural look?”  I paused and said, “Not really.  If I wanted to look natural, I wouldn’t put on any make-up at all.”  I don’t want to look like Lady GaGa (even though she just topped Forbes Celebrity 100 list), but I want to look better than I look naturally. 

That led me to think about the whole concept of natural vs. not natural.  Exactly WHAT IS natural these days?  When I was pregnant with my two children, I took natural childbirth classes, which meant no meds for pain and lots of breathing lessons. truth_abt_labour_and_delivery_pm-thumb-270x270 My doctor still induced labor (which is unnatural) and they still put a fetal monitor on me which meant I could not walk around.  Trust me, that was very unnatural.  It occurs to me that many more women died in “natural childbirth” than do now, so where does truly natural childbirth get us?  I hemorrhaged with my first child and was given transfusions… which isn’t really natural, right?  But it saved my life….  Hmmm, so maybe natural isn’t always better?

Lots of not-so-great things are natural, such as cancer, death, mold, etc…  Putting fluoride in our tap water isn’t really natural.  Cavities are natural.  Fillings are not. I can’t believe chemotherapy is natural, and taking it is tough because it can cause damage at the same time it can cure.  And there’s the whole hormone replacement therapy thing; it can help with bone loss and tame hot flashes… and increase risk of cancer.  

I’m pretty sure cell phones are not natural, and I think we should play hooky from them sometimes.Smile  I have a bad feeling that onion ring loaves are not natural.  In that case, I don’t want to be natural.  And Little Debbie Swiss Cake Rolls? swiss1  Ooog.  I’m in trouble…  This is not to say that I don’t like a lot of natural things besides potato chips and Heluvagood French Onion dip, because I do.  I loooooooove homegrown tomatoes and will eat them until I turn red.Smile  I looooooove fresh vegetables and wish they were available year round.

But I think I may not be a very natural girl because I like having my air conditioner and gas fireplace and flatscreen tv and car and triple chocolate mousse cake.  And Sephora.  I really like Sephora.Smile

What about you?  How are you “natural”?  How are you NOT “natural”?

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to How Natural Do You Want To Be?

  1. kris says:

    i’m natural in that i wash off all the make-up and put on my comfy sweats the second i get home from work. i’m unnatural in that i really, really like all my creature comforts. 🙂

    • Leanne Banks says:

      kris, I love your version of natural.lol Thanks!:)

      • kris says:

        and now i can’t get swiss rolls outta my head. thanks a bunch!!! 🙂

      • Leanne Banks says:

        Kris, my mother used to put Little Debbie Swiss Cake Rolls in my packed lunch everyday.:) I usually only ate one because I was a picky eater with a small stomach. I wish I was just as picky these days and I wish my stomach was smaller too!!!! But I buy Little Debbie Swiss Cake Rolls about twice a year and rarely finish the box, but gosh, what a fond memory and chocolate cake and vanilla creme… it’s worth the splurge every now and then.xo

  2. Michele says:

    The natural side of me doesn’t do makeup, chemicals on my body and buys natural fiber clothing when I can. The unnatural side of me clings to my iPad, iMac and cute little car with white knuckles. There’s just some guilty pleasures in life one must never forego. 🙂

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Michele, your little car is SO cool! I can see why you’d want to keep it!:) And hey, it gets good gas mileage!:)

  3. carole says:

    I’m pretty natural I hardly wear any make-up and I have a job that I can wear jeans and a t-shirt everyday. I alos eat pretty natural too but I do enjoy good chocolate and a good cup of coffee, just in moderation. i don’t have a cell of Ipad do want a kindle but don’t know when I’ll be able to afford it. I liked your story on being natural,it was funny!

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Thanks Carole, and you sound pretty natural to me if you don’t have a cell! I’m impressed!!!!:) THanks for popping in! xo

  4. Leanne —

    Only my hairstylist knows for sure these days and I’m pretty sure she’s forgotten!

    Terri

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Terri, I’ve highlighted my hair since I was sixteen, so I don’t KNOW what my real color is anymore!lol Thanks for popping in!;) xo, Leanne

  5. Helen Brenna says:

    Fun post, Leanne. I always think of myself as pretty natural, but you’re so right. Much of what we take for granted is incredibly unnatural. I’ve gone to mostly natural facial cleansers and moisturizers. Go a lot of days without make-up. Try to buy a lot of organic foods. But I don’t know what I’d do without my computer, my car, my hot shower!! hehehe

    Btw, you first birthing experience and mine sound nearly exact! Do I get points for having had a midwife? lol

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Helen, good for you on the no-makeup routine. I don’t wear makeup on days I stay at home, but I’m a big fan of putting some paint on the barn (my face) before I go out in public.lol Yes, you get mega-points for having had a midwife! I’m impressed! But I’m also impressed with moms who get epidurals… I was not given that option!!!

  6. debradixon says:

    I am so not a natural girl ! Part of that is impulse control. “Ooh, shiny! Must have. Must use. Must try.”

    Hubby is a cook and shops just about every day for dinner so we do eat more natural and less processed than most. So that’s a plus, right?

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Debra, very handy that your hubby does the cooking. If my husband did the cooking, ooog, not good. Plus he eats leftovers far longer than I would. Sometimes I think he must have an iron gut! Thanks for popping in!:)

  7. lois greiman says:

    Hmmmm, that’s a tough one. I mean, we live in such an unnatural world. But I guess I’m pretty out in nature. Lately I’ve been spending 6-8 hours a day with the wild beasts outside and they don’t really care about makeup. Hell, they don’t care if I shower. Sometimes when I get inside at night I think we should all be super grateful just because we don’t have to sleep out in the elements. Turns out we take a boat load of stuff for granted. Who knew huh?

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Lois, I think of you as one of our most “natural” riders. I mean, you’re on dial-up.:) OKAY, JUST KIDDING! But you’re so good about steering away from plastic and such. I like your choice of exercise too. I just don’t like the miles of walking in my neighborhood with my particular weather. Whiney, aren’t I? Must ask. Do you wear sunscreen when you’re outside? I have crap skin and have already gotten a couple squamous spots on my legs and trust me, I don’t tan and never really have. Take care of you and enjoy those indoor sleeps.:) xo

  8. catslady says:

    My hair. I had long dark brown hair (but not straight – sigh) and then in my early 30’s developed a white streak about 2 or 3 inches. Everyone wanted to know how I did it lol. then I had I had children and my hair at first turned darker, thicker and finally started turning grey. Only once I tried coloring it and I hated it – the dark looked fake and the roots came in immediately. I’ve decided this is me. Recently I let it go longer (lost my hair stylist) but soon I’ll probably give in and go short again (sigh).

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Catslady, I know what you mean. There are some things you can’t fight. I continue to fight color and probably will for a LONG time. My texture has been a big challenge. I used to get body waves… and color. FRIED my hair. So now, I’m just doing color and am embracing my fine texture. I still don’t like hairspray and have learned I don’t like an overly stylized do. I like my hair to MOVE!:) Thanks for commenting, darlin!:) xo

  9. cindygerard says:

    Sorry to be so late chiming in. I love this post. I’m a mix of both. At home – it’s natural, baby! No make up. No bra. No hair spray.
    But – if I go out – So sorry — gotta have my face paint (thought I don’t wear lots) and there is no way I can be seen in public without hair products. urg.

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Cindy, I need hair products when I go out in public too… unless I put my hair in a pony tail.:) I still really hate hairspray, though, so I’m all about the styling products.:)

  10. Kylie Brant says:

    Convenience trumps natural for me, every time. Natural=gray hair, sparse lashes, brittle short nails, wrinkles and sags. I embrace every new product that comes along that makes me look better, unnatural or not!

    • Leanne Banks says:

      Kylie, I think I’m riding the same train you are!:) The only exception I’ll make is if the product overly roughs up my sensitive skin!:)

  11. Like it or not, you’re a natural. Nothing fake or forced about you.

    My motto is moderation, but I have to say, I’m worried about our food supply. I know what happens when pest and diseases get out of control, so I’m not opposed to using reasonable control measures, but the more natural the better. The problem comes in when profit drives every decision an industry makes. Consumers aren’t people, they’re purchasers. Whatever brings in the bucks. Family farmers take some pride in their product. Corporate farming, not so much.

Leave a Reply

