Thinking Pink

When it comes to grandchildren, I’m not the fussy sort 🙂  I’m all about the babies that I get to fuss over without having to go through nine months of puking, then labor and childbirth.  And yes, after having five of my own, I consider grandbabies my due!

Girls didn’t come along easily when I was having kids.  I had to have four boys first, which was fine.  Turns out I’m partial to slightly naughty little boys 🙂  So I just sort of figured that when it came to grandchildren, the Y chromosome would continue its predominance for, oh, seven grandsons, give or take.

But not so.  Little Miss Kinley Nicole made an appearance New Year’s Day after only three grandsons.  We were a bit perplexed.  (My eldest son even more so.  He’d told his wife that marrying into our family, boys were practically guaranteed.  Back to high school biology for him!)  But it took a matter of seconds before she had us all wrapped around her little baby finger.  And no wonder:

And tomorrow we’re expecting grandchild number five, and grandDAUGHTER number two.  So that’s why we’re thinking pink.

It’s hard to quibble with the reality:  it’s just more fun to shop for little girls.  Although I did recently score points with the boys with the outfits (below) that I brought from Mexico:

It’s pretty hard to pass by a rack of frilly things and not stop to ooh and ah:


 Not to mention the hats and bows they have for baby girls these days!  Who needs hair?

How about you?  Do you stop to look at baby clothes regardless of whether you have a little one to buy for?  Or even worse, see something so cute that you stand in the store and try to think of someone you could buy it for?  Am I the only one thinking pink these days? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Thinking Pink

  1. Susan Wilson says:

    I love PINK! Even though I have two gorgeous boys and I SERIOUSLY wanted a bobble bag. You know what that is right? A bag with matching hair bobbles for every girly outfit.
    I was also the worst health visitor in the world. We always visited on day 10, just when the house was full of presents and I used to love seeing all the little dresses and jackets hanging up around the house (cos lets face it, poor mum just hadn’t anytime to put them away!) I also really loved the new baby smell.
    Sadly, I was probably born to be a health visitor!

    • kylie brant says:

      LOL, Susan. On granddaughter number 1, I hit the mega mall in Minneapolis and after I saw the mound of pink I’d bought, I forced myself to stop! But I could have gone on for hours!

  2. Betina says:

    Kylie! I had two boys myself and always felt a little cheated that I didn’t get to shop of little girl things too, somewhere along the line. So now I have two grandsons and two granddaughters! Hurray! For years I’d stop to “awww” at cute little dresses and all the cute pink frou-frou. Now I get to buy something here and there!

    And you’re so right about the hats and hair bows and headbands. Who needs hair? I love it!

    And can those pictures you posted BE any cuter? I’ve got my baby fix for the week!

  3. kris says:

    great pics, adorable babies. i have one daughter, she’s about to turn 9 and there is nothing finer than a girls day of shopping and mani/pedis. i just don’t see myself playing with action figures. 🙂

    • kylie brant says:

      Oh I don’t know, Kris, as it turns out I am quite imaginative at keeping little boys busy 🙂 I bought them pirate outfits and every time they visit we have a pirate day. And in the pic above I was with the two Spidermen plotting Batman’s demise. Turns out I’m still a child inside

      But having a daughter *is* different. For my daughter’s twenty-first birthday she wanted a spa day with me, where we could get manis and pedis together. And you’re right–it was wonderful! Can’t wait to have shopping outings with my two little girls!

  4. Kathleen says:

    I remember back to when I was first going to be an aunt… and thinking, please just let it be born healthy… but if you could make it a little niece I would be ever so grateful. And I got my prayers answered… After all in those days, we are going back 28 yrs ago, in boys clothes there was not the variety and styles there are today. When I got the phone call at work, on my lunch hour I went right to this Children’s store and bought three of the cutest little frilly dresses they had. Spent a fortune but she was worth it.. The next two were nephews who I adore and I went just as crazy.. Then we were told the last two that were coming into the world were going to be boy twins.. So I bought all these cute outfits for them.. I remember being in the US shopping and buying these cute little sailor outfits for them each… But we got a big surprise, one of the he’s was actually a she… So back to the store to take half of the male and buy the female..The babies keep coming in the extended family.. We are going next week to our little Graces’s christning and I am have fun shopping fo this.. I have spoiled her and her sister Isabella, as have I spoiled the rest of my cousins children and now grandchildren…
    Congrats on your new edition to the family and the many hours of joy they will bring to you…

  5. kylie brant says:

    Betina, no doubt I will have more pictures to share after tomorrow, 🙂

  6. kylie brant says:

    Kathleen, love the names! They have the cutest names these days. And you’re right, it’s so fun to spoil them regardless. My twins got little sailor outfits, back in the day, for a boy and a girl. They will have great fun with their twins!

  7. Helen Brenna says:

    I LOVE looking at baby clothes. It’s impossible for me to walk by that section in Target and not glance at all the fun new styles, both boys and girls!

    So happy for you, Kylie! Congrats!

    • kylie brant says:

      Helen, when my two oldest were little the clothes were gross 😦 Western, cowboy-y. Yech. But then Osh Kosh became popular so my youngest two sons at least got to dress cute! Taking five kids to church used to be quite an ordeal. My philosophy was to dress my kids cute so the people in the pew in back of us would remember how cute they looked instead of how naughty they were 🙂

  8. cindy gerard says:

    So thrilled for you and your impending new arrival! We have 2 grandsons and 2 granddaughters. And while i LOVE LOVE LOVE them all to pieces, I must say, it is more fun shopping for the girls. All that glitter and glam and fake fur and lace. The possibilities are endless.

  9. kylie brant says:

    Glitter and glam. Yep, Cindy that’s what it’s all about!

  10. Ah, granddaughters. I loved dressing my daughter up when she was little, and I’m back at it with her nieces. Do the pink frou-frou as long as you can, ladies. The older grand-d turned 9 (!) yesterday. Early in the school year she informed me that I wasn’t getting her style and we needed to go shopping together so she could educate me. Wanh! It was too soon for this. Turns out the 3d graders’ syle icons are the preteens on the Disney Channel. They layer. They wear cute little skirts over their leggings, a few ruffles, a little sparkle. Okay, I can dig it. Now the older grand-d reminisces about the days when she “used to dress cute,” but she has quietly let some pink seep back into her wardrobe.

    The lesson we learned as moms seems all the more real the second time arouns. They grow up quickly.

    • kylie brant says:

      Kathleen, after four boys I was more than ready for the frou-frou and ruffles 🙂 I loved age 0-4 when my daughter wore whatever I bought without question. Then at age five she became a tomboy 😦 With four brothers, it was inevitable. After that I only got her in dresses on special occasions.

      Love the trip to the mall to ‘educate you’, LOL!

  11. leannebanks says:

    Kylie, the babies are gorgeous and I’m not at all surprised that you can get creative with little boys — Pirate day.:) Too cute! I was blessed to have one of each. I dressed my son in nice stuff until he hit two and began his love affair with dirt! I dressed my daughter in pretty stuff and was honored when she let me go with her to shop for her wedding dress. Looking at the baby pink dresses plucks at my heartstrings these days. I’m hoping for some grandchildren in the future, but only when the parents-to- be are ready! xo, Leanne

    • kylie brant says:

      Leanne, readiness truly is the parental key! My daughter and I have already talked about how things will be when *she* gets married. We’ll invite her future mother-in-law for all the outings. Mothers of the grooms often get left out of preparations.

      • leannebanks says:

        NOT US! My daughter invited her mother-in-law (mother of FOUR boys, NO girls) to shop for the wedding dress and I invited her to the tasting for the reception. Have to say I was very proud of Dear daughter for doing that.<3

  12. Michele says:

    Congrats, Kylie! I love to shop for baby clothes. And my brother recently had his first (I’m an aunt for the first time!) a few months ago, so I’ve been going crazy buying cute girl stuff.

  13. kylie brant says:

    Leanne, that overture will go a long way with future mother-in-law relations!

  14. Amy Conley says:

    I have 4 grandchildren, 1 girl, the oldest. She lives in Alaska so I don’t get to see her.

    I did just have my 3rd grandson! He was born March 17, 2011, so he’s just 6 weeks old! Of course, my daugther already had one son, so I was hoping for a girl this time around, but we got another boy. But that’s ok, we all love him to pieces already.

  15. Kylie Brant says:

    Amy, they are loads of fun, regardless of gender aren’t they?

  16. Pingback: Debra Baby Pink Headband

Leave a Reply

