Cruising past #30

Hope everyone had a great Easter and didn’t eat too many Cadbury Eggs!  🙂

I started to count how many books I’ve had out since my first, Dark Rapture, was released in 1997, and I gave up at thirty-two, wasn’t sure if I should count novellas, too?  But FOREVER VAMPIRE is around thirty, give or take one or two, I’d say.  Doesn’t feel like I’ve written that many books over the past twenty years, and then it does.  Some days it feels like I’ve written hundreds, or at least, hundreds of thousands of words.  I love it.  And I hope to continue writing for as long as my fingers will hold out and my imagination will provide me new characters.

Vail, the hero of Forever Vampire, is one of my favs so far.  He’s a vampire who has lived in Faery all his life, and at the beginning of the story has only been in the mortal realm a short time, so he’s adjusting to that life, and he’s never had mortal blood (he’s addicted to faery ichor, but don’t tell him I told you that; he’ll deny it).  He cruises onto the scene in a Maserati with a green mamba snake riding in the backseat, and hundred dollar euros fluttering out of the glove compartment, with Johnny Cash blaring over the radio.  Man, I do love that vampire.

You can read the first two chapters at my website!  And below is a trailer I put together to (hopefully) entice readers.

Now here’s what I want to know: What do you enjoy doing, a hobby or job, or whatever, that you hope to do forever?

Michele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cruising past #30

  1. Jacinta says:

    Writing! I have been writing since i was in primary school and still love it. I hope that i am a little better at it now 🙂 But i know i will continue writing even if i never get published, I hope that it do of course, but for me its a way of dreaming during the day and actually controling what happens. I get to do what ever i want to my characters and they usually dont complain 🙂

  2. Betina says:

    Congratulations, Michele! Wow– you’re really productive– not to mention imaginative and creative to the max! I’m in awe of your talent. I just finished FALLEN and LOVED it!! I adored the way you set up the tension and the dialogue between Pix and Cooper. (Chuckled at the way he got his name!) This series is one of your best!

    And now another camp with style. . . hmmm. . . I’m going to be busy reading for a while.

    And as for things I coud do. . . forever. . . READING is certainly right up there. Writing, too, but not necessarily for publication.

  3. leannebanks says:

    Michele, another one! YOU ARE AMAZING!!! Please share your secret for how you write so quickly. LOVE what you’ve done with this hero! WHAT a character! Congratulations and yes, I do think you should count novellas! xo, Leanne

  4. MIchele says:

    Ah, thanks, Betina! I couldn’t NOT name my hero Cooper when I have a little red Mini Cooper parked in my garage. 🙂
    Leanne, I don’t think there’s a secret for writing quickly. Some stories come so slowly. I just don’t have a day job or other commitment that distracts me from writing, so it’s in front of the computer all day. 🙂

    Yes, writing and Reading are definitely things I want to do forever.

  5. cindy gerard says:

    Congrats, Michele. You truly are amazing! And I loved the trailer :o)

    Hobbies – i love to throw pots. No, not break them. Make them. unfortunately, it’s been too long since I’ve had a go at a potter’s wheel but hope to get back into the swing of things again soon. messing with clay is good for the soul.

  6. Helen Brenna says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of books in a darned short period of time! Congrats, Michele!

    Reading here, too. There doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day for any other hobbies, but like Cindy I’ve loved throwing pots when I’ve had the opportunity. I can definitely see getting into that if I could ever find the time.

    The trailer isn’t working for me. What am I doing wrong?

  7. lois greiman says:

    That is a boat load of books, Hauf. Congrats!

    And what to do forever?? Well…I really like to eat.

  8. kylie brant says:

    Congrats, Michele. As usual, the cover is fab! I hope to be writing forever. I’d hate to think of a time when I have nothing to do with those stories that insist on unfolding in my head!

  9. Girl, you are a wonder. And a worker! Congratulations, m’dear.

    I want to be able to read forever. I figure if I can read, that means I can do most of the other important things because my mind is in tact.

  10. Congrats on all the books, Michele!

    Things I’d like to do forever:

    Read (and I’m a little worried cuz my mom, a voracious reader, says she’s fallen off lately).

    Exercise (just heard again on NPR this morning how important it is for our health).

    Write (so have to keep the fingers limber too!).

  11. MIchele says:

    Pot throwers! Whoda thought? Wow. I just gotta think about that one a while. Maybe we should all get together and throw some pots? 🙂

    Oh and exercise. Much as I hate it, I probably should add that to my forever list.

Leave a Reply

