Not your average royal fam–Amazon gift certificate & free book drawing–oh, and my newest book is out–THE PRINCE’S TEXAS BRIDE

519zzztD-ZL__SS500_

When I received the cover for my newest book, I sighed.  Not with pleasure.  The people look like humans, even attractive humans, and the colors are nice.  It’s just generic and my people and the story are not!  The heroine is Texas born and bred and can’t curtsey to save her life.  The word subservient is not in her vocabulary.  The hero, a crown prince, is accustomed to getting his way (except with his sisters).  He’s doing his best to be a stand-up ruler guy unlike the playboy princes who preceded him.  It’s a fun trip watching these two work things out. 

One of the fun scenes I wrote was set during a family dinner at a table dressed with crisp linens, fine china and sterling silver.  Amazing wine and food were served.  Ahh, the life of privilege.  What could be better?  An enjoyable, peaceful meal.  Yes? 

Not so fast.  This family squabbles.  Particularly the Prince and his sisters.  I realize most of us haven’t dined with royalty, but we’ve eaten with other families, and we’ve sometimes been caught between the devil and the deep blue sea of a “squabble”.  My heroine faced the same quandary.  She handled it quite well and issued a challenge to everyone at the table to play a game of “chicken scratch”.  This is a game my in-laws have passed onto us.  Amazing how a game of “chicken scratch” can make you forget your squabbling.Smile

So when you get caught in the middle of some family squabbling, how do you handle it?  Do you excuse yourself to the powder room and never return?  Try to change the subject … ten times?  Drink more wine?  Tell me, tell me, tell me.  I’m giving away two prizes today.  One book from my backlist and a $15.00 gift certificate to Amazon.com

Squabble on!Smile  (And if you should wish to take pity on me and buy my book so I don’t have to start working at a fast food place, here’s the link to purchase THE PRINCE’S TEXAS BRIDE   http://www.amazon.com/Princes-Texas-Bride-Harlequin-Special/dp/0373655975/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1303269459&sr=1-1

 

xo,

Leanne Banks

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to Not your average royal fam–Amazon gift certificate & free book drawing–oh, and my newest book is out–THE PRINCE’S TEXAS BRIDE

  1. Linda Henderson says:

    Well I usually try to change the subject, and keep trying, and keep trying. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. My family knows I hate squabbling so they don’t do it to me very often.

    • leannebanks says:

      Linda, good plan. If they already KNOW you hate squabbling, then THEY will try to suck it up so they don’t bother you with it! I like that! THANKS for joining in!;) xo, Leanne

  2. Minna says:

    It depends on the situation what I’ll do. Or what I can do.

    • leannebanks says:

      So true, Minna — Operative phrase being “what I can do”. Sometimes you just have to sit tight and wait until the tornado passes!

  3. Jane says:

    If I can’t change the subject, then I probably excuse myself from the room or table. These situations make me uncomfortable.

  4. Mariska says:

    Usually i try to change the subject, if this can’t help. I leave the room 🙂

  5. kris says:

    I live hundreds of miles from family, pretty much so I don’t have to deal with the constant squabbling. So, for the annual sojourn I just suck it up and hope it goes by quickly. Closer to home, the squabbling is usally me and my daughter, my husband will just shake his head and say “women” and go back to his ball game!

    • leannebanks says:

      Ha Ha with your husband, so his “coping technique” is to focus on the ball game? I wonder what would happen if women did that?:)

  6. Margay says:

    I try to stay out of it, either by going into the next room or out for some air. Fortunately, it hasn’t come up very often.

    • leannebanks says:

      Margay, a physical escape can be a good thing especially if it means you can’t hear the screaming. I wonder if we she carry ear plugs in those situations.:)

  7. Betina says:

    We don’t squabble, really. We’re more the stiff-upper-lip kind. So we strive to be NICE if it kills us. But if there’s a major disagreement, I’m a change-the-subject advocate. I hate hearing people argue– it spoils my digestion. And believe me, I take “digestion” very seriously! Peace at the dinner table ( or at least a truce) should be the rule in every household.

    • leannebanks says:

      lol! LOVE it that you take digestion very seriously! I envision you with a gavel, saying “Next subject. Isn’t this salad delicious?” Thanks Betina!:)

  8. Laney4 says:

    I usually try to change the subject by infusing humour. I often make (generalized) sexual innuendos, and these can make people groan enough that they forget what the hullaballoo was about in the first place.

    • leannebanks says:

      Laney4, lol. Good for you! Diversion. I think jokes can be a great diversion — gallows humor. It appeals to me. BTW, you were one of the winners with my eharlequin launch party drawing, so send me your snail mail addy, woman! Thanks for popping in!

  9. Kristine says:

    If it’s my family, I put in my two cents. If it’s his, it’s all avoidance. 🙂

    • leannebanks says:

      Kristine, LOVE THAT! Avoidance is key. Sometimes it’s just so hard to pull it off, though!lol Thanks for popping in!:)

  10. carole says:

    In my family there’s been alot of family drama and some stuff I try so hard not to get involved so I try to change the subject. If that doesn’t work then I listen with a deaf ear and just let my brother’s ramble on. Its the same old stuff thats happened a long time ago, and I’ve gotten over it. I live in fla. so I’m glad I don’t live near my brothers anymore, its sad but i hate drama and I stay far away as possible. Even in my own life my husband keeps bringing things up that happened years ago and i hate it so I keep telling toijust give it to God, he’s forgiven me so you can do the same, were seperated now(living in the same house) and its funny were better off being friends than being married. At least I’m getting treated better- I love your books and read them all the time.

    • leannebanks says:

      Carole, thanks for the story! Sometimes people really have a hard time letting go with stuff that bothers them. I’ve had to ask myself the question “Does it make me feel better to bring this up AGAIN?” Love your solution! Thanks for your kind words and for joining in! xo, Leanne

  11. Felicia Ciaudelli says:

    Diversion can be the key!

    Leanne – regarding your frustration over the cover to your book – I always wondered what the authors thought about the covers – LOL – there are times when I am reading a book and I will be confused because the people on the cover don’t resemble the characters at all!

    • leannebanks says:

      Felicia, diversion! I’ll remember that!:) My heroine did a good job with it. Maybe I can learn from her. Regarding covers, Felicia, you have no idea what we go through with our covers! We give info to the art department, but they do what they want. At least in this case, the hair color is right for both characters and they’re somewhat attractive.:) It’s especially exciting when we get a cover that really reflects the “personality” of the book!:) Thanks for adding your thoughts!:) xo, Leanne

  12. Leanna Morris says:

    Oh, my, I dislike confrontations so much! Thank goodness that doesn’t happen among my family. But when it does, I sometimes, oh so nicely, say my piece, than I’m over it. But more often than not, I just say nothing or leave the room!

    • leannebanks says:

      Leanna, I can tell by your message that you would say your piece oh so nicely! You seem like a sweetheart. Good for you knowing how to get over it! Thanks for popping in! xo, Leanne

  13. Leanna Morris says:

    I meant to say, it doesn’t happen OFTEN among my family.

  14. LeeAnn says:

    it’s hard to do but sometimes you have to distance yourself from those causing the problems. It is amazing how quickly things change for the better when you do that.

    • leannebanks says:

      LeeAnn, SO TRUE! I’ve had to do that on occasion and you’re right. It’s amazing how much more peaceful things can be! Thanks for joining in!:) xo, Leanne

  15. Maureen says:

    When there is a squabble I try to make a joke usually. Being the oldest in my family I think it gives you the feeling that you should diffuse the situation even at the point in my life where I have adult children of my own. Congratulations Leanne on the new book!

    • leannebanks says:

      Maureen, I bet your jokes work! Have you noticed that sometimes even we’re grown up, we defer to the eldest.:) Thanks for the congrats and commenting!

  16. ellie says:

    I think that this is hard to avoid. Normally we shy away from topics which would be difficult to handle. Otherwise is is unpleasant.

  17. leannebanks says:

    Ellie, too true. Although some people don’t shy away from unpleasant topics. The trick is how to get through a meal with them! Especially when you’re related to them!lol

  18. Cindy McCann says:

    I absolutely abhor arguments. I won’t even watch the reality shows or talk shows because I don’t want to hear people yelling. We all pretty much have senses of humor, so don’t argue that much. My own little family gets along well with most disagreements revolving around homework! As for family gatherings, we generally make a joke of something we don’t agree on and then change the subject.

    • leannebanks says:

      Cindy, I like your style. A joke can really ease the tension and make everyone feel better! Good luck with that homework!:) Thanks for popping in!:)

  19. Susan R says:

    There are usually so many people at the table that I just start another conversation with someone else trying to ignore the drama also!

    Susanmik AT gmail DOT com

    • leannebanks says:

      Susan, ooh, I like that divide and conquer. Or stick with your allies! Good choice either way! Thanks for commenting!

  20. Jennifer D. says:

    Confrontation is not one of my strong suits. So, I will try to change the subject, while I pour myself some wine in anticipation that my subject change will not work. After that, the next step is to stay out of the way. I have to admit my family gets along pretty well, so these occasions are few and far between.

    • leannebanks says:

      I must agree. The combination of a change of subject with a large glass of wine sounds great! If one doesn’t help, perhaps the other will!lol Thanks Jennifer!:)

  21. Sheila Schwartz says:

    I try to change the subject with my squabbling sisters and if that doesn’t work I start crying (since I am the middle sister they think I am already unstable) and everyone focus’ on trying to get their 56 year old sniveling sister to stop crying and ah ha the squabbling is over!!

    • leannebanks says:

      Sheila! What a clever girl you are! Crying! lolol I love it! There you go. We should all use our instability when we can!!! LOVE IT! Thanks for commenting! xo, Leanne

  22. Leanne: I’m with the avoiders! I try not to bring up subjects that might cause controversy, but if controversy ensues, I head for the kitchen and do the dishes. Congrats on the new release. I loooove a prince!

    • leannebanks says:

      Christie! DISHES! Perfect! You have a PURPOSE for leaving the table. Might be tough to pull off at the beginning of the meal, but hey, if you eat fast!!!lol Thanks for the congrats! I loved this prince too! xo, Leanne

  23. loisgreiman says:

    I don’t like squabbles. They make me uncomfortable. I tend to leave, unless it’s really personal. Then I have to make it stop.

    Best of luck with your latest and greatest, Leanne.

  24. leannebanks says:

    Thanks Lois. I think squabbles make most of us uncomfortable. It’s interesting to see how far some of us will go to avoid them!!! xo, Leanne

  25. Sue Farrell says:

    It’s usually my husbands family that squables—so I just try to ignore it or plead ignorance—then if they keep it up I just leave the area.

  26. Charlene says:

    Hi Leanne,
    Great blog!! I guess I try not to bring up anything I know will upset someone. I also don’t bicker. If I have to, I tell the person straight up, that they are being defiant, belligerant or rude and in the nicest way possible. Or I’ll say, let’s not ruin dinner. Let’s change the subject. One time, when politics was brought up, I did have to leave the table and walk away, because my head was ready to explode. Politics and friends/family don’t mix.

  27. Oh, that was me in the last post. My last name didn’t register the first time. How many Charlene’s do you know?

    • leannebanks says:

      None like you!:) And I like “Let’s not ruin our dinner”. Can even add something about getting indigestion!:) Thanks for coming over, sweetie! xo, Leanne

  28. ClaudiaGC says:

    I hate it when my familie squabbles! I try very hard to change the subject and change the subject and so on. And I try not to bring up any topics where I know someone will start an argument.

    • leannebanks says:

      Claudia, I understand the avoidance factor. Sometimes I feel like I’m walking on eggs. And sometimes it’s hard to completely avoid the sensitive subject. Thanks for your comment!:)

  29. Janet Pepsin says:

    Oh, Leanne, dinner-table squabbling is a contact sport in my family, lol! We’ve all honed our “pithy-comeback” skills at the dinner table. If I could figure out how to turn this into a board game, I’d be rich!

    But seriously, as long as it doesn’t get personal, I say, squabble on! Hearing others’ differences of opinion may just open your eyes to something new…as long as the squabbling doesn’t result in an Emergency Room visit on Christmas Eve.

    Janet

    • leannebanks says:

      Haha Janet! A dinner squabbling board game. How fun would that be!:) Keeping score presents another controversy and sticking to the rules. Oh, man, if you slide with the rules, my family can get very testy! Good for you being tough enough to handle the disagreements! GREAT post! THANKS!

  30. Cathy Phillips says:

    Growing up, I had to sit at the table and listen to my parents squabble. Needless to say, I was skinny and didn’t eat much. When I got married, my husband’s family was much bigger, and the squabbles were more intense. I always tried to make a joke to lighten them and things up. Now there is just my husband and me, and we never squabble at dinner. Bad for the indigestion.

    Congrats on your release, The Prince’s Texas Bride. You are an automatic buy for me (at the bookstore when I go). I would love to win this book.

    • leannebanks says:

      OOg on the squabbling parents. No wonder you didn’t eat much! So nice that you are and your husband agree. No dinner time squabbles. Thanks you for the congrats!!! You are in the drawing!:)

  31. catslady says:

    Oh, I so want to know what is the chicken scratch game ?? And I vote for more wine 🙂

  32. cindygerard says:

    Congrats on your new release, Leanne! Woo Woo! Let’s hear it for the Prince :o0

    I’m a peace keeper by nature but sometimes lately I find myself walking away and just letting things reach their natural conclusion. Fortunately, most squabbles at our table are good-natured ones with no malice intended. But if the conversation turns to religion or politics I am VERY quick to offer up a change of topics :o)

    • leannebanks says:

      Cindy, I’ve seen you at work during our NZ/Aussie trip. I can tell it bothers you to see people at odds, and you are tooooo funny the way you change conversation topics when it comes to religion or politics! haha Thanks for popping in, Sweetie. I know you’re slammed right now! xo, Leanne

  33. chey says:

    I try to change the subject.

  34. Barbara Elness says:

    When squabbles start, I try to change the subject, and if that doesn’t work, I usually duck out early, or go in another room for a while to get away from it all. Eventually it all dies down and I can start having fun again.

  35. Quilt Lady says:

    Well I just put my two cents worth in and drink more rum in mixed drinks. Enough of that stuff then nothing bothers you anymore

    • leannebanks says:

      Quilt Lady, I love your attitude!lol Rum can improve your sense of humor. THANKS for your words of wisdom! xo, Leanne

  36. Wilma Frana says:

    Depends on who is doing the arguing.

  37. Kelly says:

    my sisters and i will try to keep changing the subject so that the argument will stop and we will usually end up joking about it later on

    • leannebanks says:

      Kelly, good for you. Always great to have some comrades in crime. And joking about it later just makes you ready to handle the next time. Thanks!:) xo, Leanne

  38. Mariee says:

    I hate bickering, so I’m usually the one trying to change the subject. Or I’ll go to the powder room and never return 🙂

  39. Kathleen says:

    I come from a family of four boys and me and there has always been some kind of drama at some of our dinners… I can remember a Christmas dinner when my mother, kept digging at me about something, that I just banged my untensils on the table and left…Ah family dinners, they are so much fun.

    • leannebanks says:

      Kathleen, good for you. And banging utensils makes an unmistakbly LOUD statement. Haha. Hope you hurt their ears and gave them a little indigestion. Sounds like they deserved it!:) Thanks for coming, darlin’.:)

  40. Kaetrin says:

    With family I KEEP MY MOUTH SHUT (or at least, that’s my new resolution and I’ve been really good since last Christmas!).

    When I was in Grade 4, we had a school sleepover and a group of us bright sparks decided to do a seance. (*face palm*) My friend who had changed her mind about whether or not it was a good idea decided to interrupt the request of “are there any spirits in the room” by passing the dip everytime someone asked the question and breaking up the interlinking of hands with carrot sticks and dip – it ended up cracking everyone up and we never did get to see the ghosts. I guess that might work for family squabbles too! 🙂

    • leannebanks says:

      Oh, Kaetrin, I hear you, I hear you. lol We SHALL keep our mouths shut, yes? Because when we open them, we get in trouble even if we have good intentions. OMIGOODNESS! LOVE the seance story. I think you’re right. Interrupt with food or drink. And look, she included CARROTS! We call that health food! THANKS Sweetie! GREAT story! xo, Leanne

  41. Pamk says:

    If its my family I usually finish it rofl but if it’s his and doesn’t concern my children then I try and stay out of it. Unless they gang up on hubby then I right there in it.

  42. CrystalGB says:

    I usually don’t say anything and head for the exit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

