Catch a Fallen hero…

I’m celebrating the release of my 10th Nocturne today!  FALLEN is in bookstores now, but only for that sweet little month the category books are allowed.  This is the second in my Of Angels & Demons series, and you know, it’s fun to do something a little different from vamps once in a while.  Oh, there are vamps in the story, but they’re mean and can’t walk in the sunlight.

My angels are not your classic good guys, either.  In fact in the first book, ANGEL SLAYER, the angel was bad.  The demons are neither good nor bad, as well.  Got a demon heroine in this current story, and she thinks she’s bad, but well…she’s just trying to function in a world that is new to her, and maybe she isn’t quite as bad after all.

That’s the fun and challenging part about writing this series.  My angels and demons have no history, no baggage.  They’ve been floating about for thousands of years in a literal blackness, just waiting for release.  So when they arrive on earth, everything is new and wondrous to them.  I love working with characters who would much rather gaze at the sunset than rip off a vampire’s head—but if the vamp is interrupting their enjoyment of the view?  Let the ripping begin!  🙂

So I have a few copies of FALLEN to give away.  Tell me if you prefer a character, hero or heroine, with a lot of baggage to sort out during the course of the story, or maybe you don’t mind the kind that feel like they’re charting a new course with every step they take?

Michele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Catch a Fallen hero…

  1. Helen Brenna says:

    Congrats on the new release, Michele! Amazing cover. Both characters are gorgeous and I love the wings.

    Baggage or not? Depends on my mood. There’s a time and place for it, and I totally get wanting to take a break from writing it.

  2. Oh baggage. Without it I feel like the story is a little one-dimensional. Like “hello hunky man but I am sure you didn’t just pop up out of the ground fully-grown like a alpha male cabbage patch kid”….though the image is a little hott. But at the same time, I can’t stand it when the emotional baggage gets in the way of the romance. The whole “I cannot be with you because my parents once yelled at each other” road block. It gets annoying.

    That said–I like a little baggage. And if I remember “Angel Slayer” correctly–your demon hero Ashur had the whole new experiences thing and some backstory to give him depth. Hope this next one balances that same tricky line!

  3. Minna says:

    Congrats on the new release!
    Hmm. Depends on the baggage. If it seems too heavy or very recently accumulated baggage, happily ever after might not be very believable, especially if everything (falling in love etc.) happens very fast in the book.

  4. michelehauf says:

    Yes, the distant ‘parental’ baggage always kills me in stories. BUt on the other hand, I’m sure many authors do it very well.
    Yes, it is true that being new to the world could be a sort of baggage in and of itself, and I do think I did the balance act in this story, as I did in the last. Fingers crossed! 😉

  5. CrystalGB says:

    Hi Michele. Congrats on your new release. I like a hero who has a little baggage.

  6. catslady says:

    Congratulations on your new release. I too love the cover. I also love reading about angels – good or bad or a bit of both lol. I enjoy variety so as long as you make me care for the characters, they can be as varied as you want to make them. I guess I really don’t have favorites.

  7. Jessie P. says:

    I definitely prefer the ones with baggage. It makes them easier to relate to.

  8. kylie brant says:

    The series sounds fabulous, Michelle! And you always get the best covers! I like baggage, LOL. Not for me, just the characters!

  9. elaing8 says:

    Congrats on the new release.
    I like a character with some baggage that gets resolved throughout the book.

  10. chey says:

    Congrats on the new release!
    Baggage or not? For me it totally depends on the story.

  11. Betina says:

    Michele, I loved “Slayer” and I’ll devour this one! I do like your way of springing the characters on the world– new, fresh stuff. Must be fun to write.
    Meanwhile– I thought I’d be a non-baggage person, but then I realized all the backstory and stuff is really “baggage.” I like characters who who have some substance and have had to deal with stuff in their lives, yet have managed not to let it crush or ruin them irretrievably.

  12. Jacinta says:

    I prefer a character with no baggage. I know its hard to find but i perfer a person who is sure of them selves and what they are doing.

  13. Pamk says:

    give me baggage. Love the tortured hero or heroine and can’t have those without baggage of some form or fashion.
    scrtsbpal at yahoo dot com

  14. Barbara Elness says:

    I like lots of sorting through baggage, as long as they get through it and move on. I don’t mind any premise really, as long as it’s a great story with interesting characters, I’m happy.

  15. Mariee says:

    Congrats on the new release!
    I prefer that both the hero and heroine has some baggage.

  16. kris says:

    congrats on the release. i love the broken hero carrying those heavy bags!

  17. Kirsten says:

    In many stories characters that have some baggage go through a lot. They learn a good deal about themselves and it makes them a sort of threedimentional being. If you know what I mean. Touchable, accesable.

    I’ve never read a book about an angel without it. But that doesn’t mean he or she can’t be real to me. I guess that through their actions and observations they can be just as formed and grow as much as anyone else. So I’d be iterested to see how their lovestory goes.

  18. Teresa W. says:

    I prefer baggage as it always makes for an interesting read, congrats on the release!

  19. Stephenia says:

    I like characters with issues – not too many, but at least a few. I think it makes them more realistic.

Leave a Reply

