Most Beautiful Scenes

I recently returned from Cozumel. It was a wonderful trip and very relaxing. The sunsets were not to be missed, especially when watched from hot tubs on top of the hotel.

It’s hard to imagine people having this sort of view every day of their lives. Does it get old? Do they cease to ‘see’ it? Right now, looking out at my yard of brown grass, gross and dirty leftover snow piles and mud, I have to wonder what living in beauty would be like. Especially when I gaze out the back door at the patch of lawn our dog has used all winter 🙂

Here’s the other side of Cozumel, where the water is clearer and the waves are high:

As gorgeous as the island was, it wasn’t the prettiest place I’ve ever seen. How about Hanama Bay, on Oahu in Hawaii, pictured below? I remember the first time I saw it. It’s absolutely breath taking.

Our favorite vacation spot is Punta Cana in the Dominican (below). The white powdery sand and the aqua water heals the soul. I always prefer to believe places like this cease to exist once I leave them. It’s easier that way!


My favorite scene from my neck of the woods are the frequent hoar frosts that gild everything with a glistening coat of ice. I always stop and look for a few minutes. The world looks a little magical draped in frost.

(James De Vile photography)

What’s the most beautiful place you’ve ever been? Do you have a sight that never gets old?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Most Beautiful Scenes

  1. Betina says:

    Oklahoma had the most beautiful sunsets I had ever seen– or still have ever seen. Florida has some, but it’s not a given. Wild weather and gorgeous sky seem to go together.

    Meanwhile, the white sand beaches of the gulf coast and that gorgeous aqua-blue water… I don’t know about life-long residents, but nearly ten years here haven’t dimmed the awe for me.

    But one of my favorite sights of all times is a fast flowing river, running out of the mountains over rocks and making fabulous sounds. Lush greenery all around, flowing water. . . small waterfalls. . . to me they say “peace.” West Virginia of my childhood. Thanks, Kylie for helping me remember!

  2. Kylie Brant says:

    I didn’t know you were from WV, Betina. Your words make me remember my last trip to Oregon. I was researching a book and my outdoorsy sister and her husband took me hiking in the Willamette Forest, and around the McKenzie River, and the beautiful waterfalls. It was amazing. And how cool is it that there are so many breathtaking places in our world, even if none of them are near me, LOL!

  3. Michele says:

    Oh, Kylie, I needed those pictures this morning. thx! I too, am looking at dirty snow, brown grass (and a new covering of snow from the storm) and wondering why I still live in MN. I think I could be very happy in a place with a beach and water. Sigh…

    But true, the winter can be pretty when hoar frost coats everything in sight and it all glitters under the cruel winter sun.

  4. Helen Brenna says:

    Oh, that’s a tough question, Kylie. I saw so many pretty places in England and I wish I could say I’ve been to Italy and seen a few, but I guess I’d have to go with the US Virgin Islands, St Thomas. We went last Christmas and from out beach you could see the British islands and St John. Absolutely gorgeous!

    Glad you had a relaxing vacation!

  5. kylie brant says:

    Michele, I swear if snow wasn’t so pretty some of the time I’d move for sure! I do like the seasons changing. I just want winter to last only two months!

  6. kylie brant says:

    Helen, those are beaches I haven’t seen yet. Must. Go. Soon!

  7. Oh, most beautiful I’ve seen is hard. I love any tropical setting that includes a warm ocean. But I have to say my breath was taken away last summer when we were eating lunch on the Santa Barbara pier in California. Ocean around us and then the mountains are just =right there=. Lovely. Also helps that I went to college there so it’s got the gloss of good memories, too.

  8. Keri Ford says:

    those are such beautiful beaches! Loved the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone. GREAT just wildlife areas.

    Have enjoyed Hawaii beaches and cruises in the bahamas. All very beautiful. But the one I’m waiting for? An Alaskan Cruise. I think that will be breath taking for me 🙂

  9. Willa says:

    I see you have been taking pictures of hoar frosts in my garden again 😉

    I love Cornwall – the ruggedness of it . . the gorgeous coastline with the waves crashing and all the relics from the Cornish tin mines . . .

    Soooo looking forward to Deadly Dreams 😀

    • kylie brant says:

      Willa, that sounds amazing. I’ve only made one trip to Europe…not nearly enough! I have a husband who doesn’t like to ‘look at things’, LOL. So I’ll have to go over with friends…which is probably all right!

      1 1/2 weeks until release day 🙂

      • Willa says:

        Leave him at home and come on over!!! Don’t forget an ARC of Raiker’s book – lol! 😀

  10. kylie brant says:

    Christie, Santa Barbara…I’ll definitely have to remember to visit! Sounds lovely!

  11. kylie brant says:

    Keri, my dad and brothers did the Alaska cruise and still rave about it. It’s definitely on my list. I do enjoy mountains, too…have a special place in my heart for the Rockies in Colorado.

  12. Stephenia says:

    Birch Trees in winter dusted in snow in the state college PA area
    Okinawa Japan beaches on the east china sea with lovely blue-green water
    Okinawa again during the season when the cherry blossoms are all blooming
    Sunsets over the ocean viewed from the beaches in San Diego
    The craggy looking coastline in Monterey/San Simeon area Hwy 1/California
    Sunsets over the ocean viewed from a ship in the middle of the ocean!
    Paris at night!

    The sight of American soil after living overseas for 3 years (x2), on the military flights back we also sang ‘God Bless America” when the plane crossed into American air space, with lots of cheering by all.

  13. Kylie Brant says:

    Stephenia, I can imagine that sight of American soil would be deeply moving as well as beautiful in the most heartfelt way. As much as I love my tropical vacations, getting back to the States is equally nice!

Leave a Reply

