Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Sorry, I’m late here.  I lost days this week traveling out of town for a workshop and am still catching up.  Anyway …

I’m a quarter Irish, so St. Patrick’s Day has always been a fun day for me.  When I was a kid, we always wore green to school and “Kiss me I’m Irish” buttons.  Loved those things.

Back when I was a kid, St. Patrick’s Day didn’t seem to be such a big deal to the rest of the world.  These days, though, Irish things seemed to have picked up in popularity.

I saw Irish T-shirts in Target.  Irish pubs have popped up in Minneapolis like no body’s business in the last several years.  And the number of Irish movies popular here in the U.S. is amazing.  Is it my imagination or has being Irish become trendy?  I like being trendy!

In any case, here are a few of my favorite Irish things.

Band – U2, although Van Morrison is a close second.

Drink – Beer, of course.

Food – Keep the corned beef and cabbage.  I’ll take Irish Stew any day.

Movie – It’s impossible for me to pick a favorite Irish movie because there are so many I love that were either Irish made or made in Ireland.  The Commitments, The Crying Game, Waking Ned Devine, Once, The Boondock Saints, In Bruges, Ondine, The Secret of Roan Inish.  I’m sure I’m missing some.

Are you Irish?  Do you do anything special for St. Pat’s day?  Do you have favorite Irish things?  Do you have a favorite Irish romance novel?

Helen

About Helen Brenna

Helen Brenna is the RITA award winning author of romances for Harlequin's Superromance line. Three more books in her popular Mirabelle Island series will be release in July, August and September of 2011. For more information, check out her website at www.helenbrenna.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  1. michele says:

    Love Waking Ned Devine! And the Dropkick Murphys. Used to really get into St. Patrick’s day when I was a kid, wearing green (I’m not Irish), but now? DIdn’t even remember the day until I read your post, Helen.

    Happy SP day to everyone!

  2. Helen Brenna says:

    Haven’t seen the Dropkick Murphys, so I’m going to look for it now!

  3. Pingback: St. Patricks Day, My Irish Grandma, Oh and The Empty Nest Situation. | Taking On A Cause byPatsy McCaw-Yager,Englewood, Fl.

  4. DebraDixon says:

    I am wearing green today! And I do have Irish in my background. I love Celtic music.

    Don’t really have a favorite Irish movie. I’d have to think on it a bit.

  5. Betina says:

    For most of my life I have LOVED the John Wayne/Maureen O’Hara movie set in the Irish countryside. It was early in their careers. . . The Quiet Man or something like that. Very 40’s sensibility, but very charming. Quintessential ROMANCE. And who can forget “Brigadoon?” Great Musical. And I’m a huge fan of the Celtic Women singers and several hunky Irish actors: Liam Neeson, Colin Ferrell, Brendan Gleeson, Jonathan Rhys Meyers(The Tudors’s Henry VIII), Pierce Brosnan, Gabriel Byrne, Bradley Cooper, and not to forget, Ryan Reynolds! Sean Connery, it pays to remind everyone, is Scottish.

    Sigh. I have a few drops of Irish blood. Great, great, great grandfather John Queen was from Ireland. So I can claim the blarney with confidence. And can eat corned beef and cabbage wi’ the best of ye!

  6. Helen Brenna says:

    Well, the corned beef and cabbage I made for dinner last night turned out pretty nummy, but my son said the house stunk! lol

Leave a Reply

