Guilty Pleasures

I have a few guilty pleasures. Movies like Hall Pass is one of them. We saw it last night. I feel the need to apologize immediately for enjoying it as much as I did. It was brainless, often disgusting, usually immoral, and I couldn’t help but laugh like a palsied hyena. It was one of the most demoralizing moments in my life when I told my editor I had seen Wedding Crashers on the big screen twice. Yes twice. I did penance by watching Dr. Zhivago.

Another little guilt trip I like to entertain is cookie dough. Schwans chocolate chip, straight out of the freezer. Why fire up the oven? You can’t improve on perfection.

Naps. I can’t tell you how many times people have awakened me by saying, “I know you’re awake cuz you’re smiling.” Of course I was smiling-I was sleeping in the middle of the day!

Long bubble baths with Roarke. You know Roarke…he’s J.D. Robb’s male protagonist. Her Eve Dallas is an interesting, multi-faceted character, of course, but she doesn’t inspire bubble baths and conversations spoken long afterward using a bad Irish accent. Roarke on the other hand… (This is how I picture him. Don’t ask me why he can’t keep his shirt on in my fantasies.)

Boots. I have a boot fetish. I’m not sure when this started, but I drool over all things leather. Stiletto heels, Uggs, flats, corks, pointy toes, open toes. Don’t even get me started on thigh highs. I love them all. Although if you can strap spurs on them they get extra points.

Oh, spurs! This one might go past fetish and into super weird fetish, but I LOVE spurs. Here’s the kind Hubby Man got me for my birthday. They’re called jingle bob spurs. They make the coolest sound when you walk. Note: These spurs have never actually shared space with a horse. They like to just hang out by my pc with a couple belt buckles and my barrel racing hat. If I could wear them in the bathtub while reading Robb, eating cookie dough and falling asleep in the bubbles I could probably forego movies like for quite some time.

So that’s my list. How about you? What are the six socially unredeemable things you enjoy the most?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Guilty Pleasures

  1. Helen Brenna says:

    All I know is I want a bigger picture of Roarke! Email me that baby and I’ll blow it up. lol And I am not kidding.

  2. lois greiman says:

    Get your own fantasies, Helen.
    Ok, I can share. The pic is actually of Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Yum.

  3. Marilyn says:

    Some folks would call reading romance novels socially unredeemable, but not me! They’d say the same about Facebook, but not me! A friend and I decided FB was where we sit down at night and share the minutiae of the day like we used to do across the dinner table with our husbands who are now ex-husbands. I also watch “Toddlers & Tiaras.” I know, I know. It’s disgusting, but it makes my crazy turned-upside-down world seem pretty darned normal in comparison. So does watching those shows about hoarders and the crazy coupon people. My apartment tub is too shallow to take a decent bubble bath, darnit, but I’ll take a hot shower til the tank empties and the water starts running cool. That’s four things, I think. I just got up twenty minutes ago, something else many would consider socially unredeemable). Must go Google Jonathan Rhys Meyers (more socially unredeemable behavior ~grin~).

  4. michele says:

    I love your guilty habits. Don’t ever stop doing things that make you happy. 🙂

    My guilty pleasures? I’m addicted to tea lately and buy a new kind once a week. Sometimes it’s gross and I toss the whole bag out, but that’s okay. I have a fetish for decorative office supplies. If it’s got arabesques or curliques on it, I’ll buy it. I also like small kitchen things, like tiny pans and glass pots that are only one serving, and yet, I’ll never use them to cook one serving. Go figure. And sparkly rings! If I can blind you with a flash of my hand, I’m happy.

  5. lois greiman says:

    Marilyn, I think anything we can do with Meyers is time well spent. 🙂

  6. lois greiman says:

    Michele, you are my people…a bunch of weird obsessions. Love you.

  7. Hellion says:

    Hall Pass isn’t on my list to watch–but I did love Wedding Crashers.

    Six Socially Unredeemable Things About Me

    1.) I have a crush on Taylor Lautner; and I’m a complete Team Jacob Black fan.
    2.) I would wear flip flops anywhere if I could. ANYWHERE. I would wear them to a business interview with Donald Trump. And I’d probably wear them with my lounge wear “sweat” pants I have for yoga. I find the months of November to February repressive because it’s usually too cold to wear flip flops. As soon as the weather hits 50 during the day, I have sandals on.
    3.) Camisole tops. This goes with my flip flop fashion problems. It’s because they have the “built in” bras–and they’re more comfortable to wear. Do they look better? I’m sure not. Do I care? No.
    4.) Sleeping all hours of the day. Friends know not to call me before noon on a weekend, or a day off; however, they are frequently baffled if they call in “permissive” hours to find I sound like I just woke up. I probably did. If sleeping were an Olympic sport, I’d be a gold medalist.
    5.) Buying stuff at Joann’s (or other crafts stores). This is not exactly a crime or even something I necessarily need to be medicated for, but I do have a large box of nothing but patterns that I bought for a $1 each. Costumes or clothes that I dream I’ll sew up for myself one day. I probably use 1 out of every 20. I also have scrapbooking materials, paints and canvases, quilting and sewing supplies, and God knows what else.
    6.) An inability to read quietly. I seem to be reading quietly, but then I’ll start giggling or outright laughing like that palsied hyena you referenced. I do this in public, private, and anywhere in between. If people are forced to hear me laughing, they will likely also be forced to listen to the passage that made me laugh. It rarely inspires them to pick up the book for some reason.

    • Betina says:

      I adore your list, Hellion! I’m proud to have you in the convertible! Yes, I’m a laugher as I read, too. Have even been scolded by it by a TV reporter while sitting in an airport. I think he was jealous of my good time!

  8. lois greiman says:

    🙂 Hellion! Love it!! You’re a unredeemable QUEEN.

  9. Six? 1st, the boots. Lois, if you watch The Good Wife, (or even if you don’t) you have to check out the boots that the character Kalinda wears. Fab.

    Marilyn: I’m with you on Toddlers & Tiaras. If I find it’s on, it’s hard to click off. (I blame this on the fact that I have two sons and always loved dress-up dolls).

    1. More than once I’ve watched Toddlers & Tiaras (see above).
    2. Same with “I Didn’t Know I was Pregnant.”
    3. Same with “Teen Mom.” (Those toddlers grown up, I’m afraid.)
    4. There’s some show about weird diagnoses that if I find I cannot turn off.
    5. I like snack cakes (Hostess cupcakes in particular, though do not like Twinkies). This comes from a childhood where I was deprived of store-bought goodies. And yes, felt deprived even though Mom, then me, baked cookies and cupcakes.
    6. I loved “The Hangover” which astonished the guys in my family because I am known for despising guy-type movies (like “Hall Pass” which I haven’t seen, so who knows, I might like it too, Lois!).

  10. leannebanks says:

    I try to eat chocolate every day, not a lot, but every day.:)
    I like to watch Kathie Lee and Hoda, but I don’t turn on the tv during the day, so unless I DVR it, I abstain.:)
    I enjoyed the Jerseylicious show I watched two or three times.:) I think my husband may be allergic to the Bravo Channel.:)
    I’ve been known to wear pjs 24 hours straight and they don’t always match. I’m currently wearing cookie monster capri bottoms with argyle knee socks and a black tank. Yeah, I’m rockin’ it.:)

  11. Mary Louise says:

    Gosh, where do I start? Bookstores! I love bookstores. Right up there with reading everything I buy in bookstores. Lois’s Chrissy and Jack! Harlan Coben’s Myron Bolitar. I love Myron!! Warm bread out of the oven smoothered in butter; Castle every Monday night; Kill Bill I and II; the first Transformers movie; red Twizzlers; Ben & Jerry’s anything. Why does it always come around to food!

  12. I am so with Hellion on the flip-flops. Best I’ve found are made by Crocs. You know it’s not not a status thing when strangers approach you, point to you feet and say, “Don’t you just love them?” And they’re wearing them, too.

    My brother-in-law had jingle-bobs. He was quite the jingle-bobber. You don’t wanna know what Clyde had to say on that score.

    Ahh, cc cookie dough. Mmmm. Remember when Nestle recalled a batch of the big tubs? They said it was okay to use as long as you didn’t eat it raw. Too late. I had gotten one at Costco. I had already eaten more dough than cookies. No ill effects other than chocolate chipmunk cheeks.

  13. cindy gerard says:

    Oh I love your list, Lois and you always make me smile.
    Since you fessed up to Hall Pass, I’ll fess up to seeing The Hangover – twice! and laughing like a loon both times! i can’t wait for the sequel.
    I’m an American Idol fanatic and will be DVRing the episodes to watch when I get back from the Aussie trip – so don’t anyone tell me who got voted off.
    And yes … I’m still a Survivor junkie too.
    I agree – I have reason to feel guilty :o(

  14. Betina says:

    I came to this blog, late, sorry– but I LOVE you people!!! You’re warped and a little glitchy, just like me! I Didn’t Know I Was Pregnant– LOVE that show. A woman in my church when I was groing up had one of those babies and it was the talk of the congregation for months afterward. I was fascinated by the gossip. Mystery Diagnosis– also a fave. Ancient Aliens, ditto. Have watched The Hangover three times. Still disturbed by certain references to the baby, but I laugh wildly at the rest.

    LOVE The Tudors with Jonathan Rhys-Davies. Though, as the story progresses, I’m more than a little disturbed by how SLIM Davies is. Henry Tudor was FAT. And obnoxious and he smelled like a bad infection (which he had) most of the time in his later life. I feel guilty for enjoying the sight of Rhys Davies in the role so much.

    Also love the cookie dough straight from the freezer! Lois, I swear we were twins in another life. I also have a fetish for fabrics with texture. . . slubby silks, taffetas, satin, velvety fleeces. . . I love just holding and stroking. . . OK confession time is over. My excuse for this one is my ruined a sense of smell makes me crave other sensory input. Yeah. I know it’s thin, but it gives me license to explore the world more with my hands, so I’m stickin’ to it.

    Thanks, Lois– great post!

Leave a Reply

