We all love movies

Okay, I confess.  I don’t watch the Oscars.  I usually flip on the TV the day after and watch Entertainment Tonight for the highlights and the dresses.  I can’t sit through 1 hour of awards, and seemingly, 2 hours of commercials.  (So if you all want to comment some highlights, I’m game.)  Instead, last night I hunkered down and watched Mesrine: Killer Instinct (Part one).  Did I mention I’ve seen part two of this movie already last summer when I went to the theatre thinking it was #1 but it was really #2?  Yeah, that’s me.  I like to watch things in reverse because I’m cool like that.  😦  If you love Vincent Cassel, you must see this 2-part flick about the real life Jacques Mesrine, bank robber/public enemy number one.

Anyway, it’s been a while since we’ve chatted about what movies we’ve seen recently or are looking forward to this spring and summer.  With The Social Network and The King’s Speech under my belt I’m ready for some action/adventure.  Seriously, give me some explosions, some bullets and car chases.

In March The Adjustment Bureau with Matt Damon and Emily Blunt is out.  This one looks mysterious enough (and possibly actiony enough) to catch my interest.  Love Damon in most things, and Blunt is one of my new fav actresses after The Young Victoria and The Devil Wears Prada.

Rango, with Johnny Depp voicing the lizard-like critter might be another must-see.  But I’m not sure about that wind-up goldfish in the trailer.  Hmm…

Red Riding Hood intrigues me.  This movie harkens back to the original fairy tales when the princess didn’t always find her prince and nothing ever ended happily ever after.  Could be good.  Jane Eyre is also out in March, and though I’m not a fan of the book (haven’t read it; sorry), I hate to miss a great costume drama.

Just in time for Easter, Hop looks too cute for words.  I need a grandkid.  Seriously.

I admit it, in May, you’ll find me at Hangover II.  I loved the first one.  Must see the second.  Though, can they really top the first?  I doubt it.

In June Ryan Reynolds gives us The Green Lantern.  Even if you don’t like comic book plots, can you really pass up seeing Reynolds on the big screen?  Surely, the man must have to disrobe at some point to put on his superhero costume.  I’ll be watching!

What movies are you looking forward to?  Did your picks win at the Oscars?  Yay, for Christian Bale!  ‘Bout time that amazing actor got the little gold man.

Michele

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to We all love movies

  1. cindy gerard says:

    Thanks for the heads up on these movies, Michele. They all sound like fun. And YES to Ryan Reynolds – in (or out) of anything :o)

    I DVR’d the Oscars last night then watched the parts I wanted to as the show moved on.
    I never get to say this but – I was right on all my picks! And I’m so happy that Christian Bale and Melissa Leo won in the supporting actor roles in The Fighter. It was a really good movie! Now I am looking forward to seeing The King’s Speech and 127 Hours

    I know this post isn’t about the Oscars but I was also pleasantly surprised by how well the hosts did. They were charming and funny and entertaining. And 94 year old Kirk Douglas stole the show! Lots of fun.

  2. michele says:

    I definitely have to see The Fighter. Bale is my fav actor, and I’ve heard so much about Leo’s performance. Must see this week!

  3. Keri Ford says:

    Hadn’t heard of the Easter Bunny story! need to check into that. I do want to see Rango,I think. … It’ll be something for the kid, but I’m not sure of the content. It might be a rent thing.

    Cars2 comes out this summer and I can’t wait. Son will love it. Yes…kid movies that’s the only time we get to the movies anymore it seems!

    Cindy, I thought Anne was fantastic. James…uh, not so much. Every time he came on, he looked like he wanted to leave. LOVED that section with Kirk Douglas

  4. Michele says:

    THe kids’ movies lately are awesome, aren’t they, Keri? I don’t feel too awkward going to them by myself, but I’m thinking having a grandchild to tote along with me would just make the experience much more fun.

    I haven’t seen Cars! Surprising, since I usually catch all those Pixar flicks. But do go and watch the trailer for Hop. It looks like a lot of fun and I love James Marsden when he’s playing funny.

  5. I watched the Oscars last night, and I guessed the winners except for supporting actress. I thought Annette Bening. Haven’t seen The Fighter yet, but yet, but I will. That and The Black Swan, although I can wait for DVD for those. Definitely want to see The King’s Speech before then.

    Kirk Douglas was the highlight of the show for me, too. Wow. A resilient man who’s not going to stop enjoying his life come what may. He was just delightful.

    My favorite “look” of the evening was Hailee Seinfeld (sp?). Clearly enjoys being a 14-year-old. She looked so beautiful!

  6. Helen Brenna says:

    I’ve be so wrapped up in deadlines that I have absolutely no clue what’s coming up, but since we have very similar tastes in movies, Michele, I’ll take your word for all of this!

    I watched some of the Oscars, but got tired and went to bed. Woke up to no real surprises, although I wish Annette Bening had won. Her performance in The Kids are all Right was wonderful.

    Having Kirk Douglas up there was very sweet. It’s so nice to see that kind of respect come from Hollywood!

  7. leannebanks says:

    Michele, I semi-watched the Oscars and found them a bit boring. Really miss Billy Crystal!!! I have only seen The King’s Speech and I loved, loved, loved it. Will try to watch The Fighter and Social Network on dvd. I much prefer watching movies in my cozy little home. Recently watched one of my faves — Over The Hedge. I so identify with Hammy the ADD Squirrel!<3

  8. I saw Liam Neeson’s Unknown weekend before last. You might like it, Michele. Lots of action and mystery.

    My Son2 met Christian Bale last month! He happens to be filming an indie movie next door to my brother-in-law’s house (on cliff overlooking Pacific Ocean in Santa Barbara). Both Son2 and my niece were watching what was going on and they were introduced.

    Okay, you guys, while I love Ryan Reynolds, he just does not strike me as an action hero, even with the abs. He seems more like the cute and a little goofy guy-next-door.

  9. Betina says:

    I’ve seen a number of the Oscar movies– liked all the ones I saw. I thought Colin Firth gave a mind-blowingly moving performance in the King’s Speech. So much pathos and courage in his fabulous face. The way he mimicked the stutter made me feel like I might start stuttering! I couldn’t help wondering if he had lasting effects from getting so convincingly into the role. And to see Helena Bonham Carter play his loving wife. . . and Geoffrey Rush’s masterful turn as a stubborn but compassionate iconoclast of a teacher. . . it’s was just a wonderful treat.

    I also saw The Fighter. It was a fabulous movie, but got me so riled up in places that I was about to burst. Watch that mother and her lazy, manipulative druggie of a son try to make a meal-ticket of the younger son. . . and you want to pull daggers on them! Great performances. Absolutely Oscar worthy. But I HATED those characters. Totally. And I decided there and then that that’s my LAST “fight” movie. Ever. I hate watching men batter and bash each other senseless in the name of “sport.”

    Then there was True Grit– which deserved to win more awards. Wonderful casting and dialogue and cinematography. I’ve been screwing up the nerve to go see Black Swan. It’s such a psychological thing that I’ve been wary. sort of the same for 127 Hours. Pretty intense stuff and I’m not sure I want to go there, knowing the outcome. Watching one man suffer, trapped, for days and then finally saw off his own arm to eacape. . . not my idea of a Friday night jollies. Toy Story 3. . . amazing, how Pixar can make such wonderfully moving and enthralling movies that appeal to adults as well as children. And Hollywood keeps ignoring them because they’re animated. I LOVED this movie. So much to say about growing up and letting go and finding purpose in the barren places of life. yeah, I got all that from a bunch of animated toys.

    I, for one, can’t wait for Aliens andCowboys! A big budget western where DAniel Craig gets to wear leather chaps AND battle aliens with ray weapons! Cool. And the Green Lantern. . . all for that. And the next Harry Potter and another Transformer movie. I hadn’t seen the bunny movie– yikes! I’d better get with it!

    Thanks for the heads-up, Michele!!

    • I’m right there with you on True Grit. SO good. And didn’t Hailee Seinfeld look beautiful at the Oscars?

      I got all teary over Toy Story 3, and for once the girls didn’t have to ask why. They were crying too.

  10. Kylie Brant says:

    I am embarrassed to admit I haven’t seen any of the nominated movies with the exception of Inception, which I despised. Soooo we’ll see when I finally get around to watching the rest! The Matt Damon one looks good. I like him in everything.

  11. michele says:

    Toy Story 3 was awesome! Loved it. The Aliens and Cowboys could be cool, but I have to get over my dislike for the star, Daniel someone.

  12. Kylie Brant says:

    Oh wait, make that 2 movies…I saw Toy Story 3 with the grandkids on Christmas!

Leave a Reply

